We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
179
55
11
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
55
11
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle club restaurantdeluxe condobeach boxvanderbilt beachfull kitchenpaddle boardsstove topbeautiful beachsmall hotelfront rowbeach chairsthe ritzlonger staywatching the sunsetflorida vacationsmall kitchenliving room
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 262 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed for family reunion weekend of June 17-19,2011. Some of stayed in the efficiencies at the main hotel on th beach while others stayed in the larger two bedroom condos across the street on the bay side. We had a great time and have all decided to make this our annual location for our reunion. The beach is great, rooms have full refrigerators even in the efficiencies. Plenty of room and staff that are very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friends and I have been going to the Vanderbilt Beach Resort in Naples for the past 6 years. They offer a great weekend package deal and we usually end of making reservations for one weekend in July and one weekend in August. The resort is small but has everything you could want in a place to get away from it all. It is conveniently located to stores and the trolley stops right out front so you can leave your car behind. The beach is beautiful and the restaurant offers delicious lunches and dinners. The staff has always been very helpful and pleaant and George the manager is a great asset.
I would recommend the Vanderbilt Beach Resort to anyone who wants a slow paced, relaxing get-a-way at a great price!!!

Room Tip: Book early !!
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunsetBeachComber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The small hotel is nice, surrounding a fabulous beachfront restaurant. Russ, the beach attendant, brings you water and pretzels to keep you hydrated. We miss you Russ! Raise up your beachchair flag for bar service. Going to dinner and then watching the sunset just steps from the room every night was fantastic. A few times dolphins swam by. We would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jathamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We booked a 1 BR gulfside apartment here a couple months in advance for the Memorial Day holiday weekend. We traveled as a couple with a toddler and were accompanied by friends who had a similar unit with two toddlers. Our apartment was well furnished, cozy, and comfortable, although the carpet was a bit dingy and stained. This is likely to be resolved soon though since it seems they are replacing carpets with tiles- we saw construction work beginning to this effect in the unit next to ours the day we left. The bedroom was tiny- barely bigger than the queen bed, no tv, but adequate for our needs. The apartment was otherwise cozy, comfy and well furnished. The separation between rooms is achieved with a "wall" with plantation shutters, which allows sound to travel completely between the rooms. This could be a good or a bad thing depending on your outlook. For example, If you plan to go to sleep later than your kids or traveling companions, there isn't really any place to sit and watch tv or relax once they go to sleep in the living area, unless you go outside to sit on the "balcony", which comprises two chairs and two lounges set up in the common corridor area. In our case, it meant we were able to put our toddler on an air mattress in the living room area, and didn't need a baby monitor of any kind. We took the opportunity to call it a night early, and catch up on some sleep.

On the Saturday we were there, the hotel hosted a women's pro beach volleyball tournament, which made for a very noisy day. Apart from the crowds it drew, there was no way to access the beach other than to traverse the volleyball court, or to wind your way with belongings and kids in tow, amongst the multitude of tents set up directly in front of the hotel. The constant announcements and microphone commentary prevented any amount of relaxation or sleep either on the beach or in your room and went the entire day until almost sundown. Definitely not conducive to kids (or adults) trying to nap. Had we known this was going to be held at the hotel this weekend, we would not have booked here so we would have appreciated the reservation desk informing us of this fact at the time of booking. Once the tournament was done, the beach was noticeably quieter although the pool area was always very noisy (not the hotel's fault since that's the behavior of the guests who checked in) and since our unit was on the pool side, this again detracted a bit from our experience. In future, I would request a unit away from the pool side for more privacy and peace.

We, ourselves, had no problems with staff while we were there. The front desk was courteous to us, our maid was quite nice, and we found the restaurant valet staff to be pleasant as well although we did not utilize their services. The hotel's restaurant operates as an independent entity, but incidentally, we found their food to be good, fresh, and service though a bit slow, personable. Our only concern with staff was that our friends who traveled with us were a bit tardy (about 20 minutes) in checking out due to unforseen delays with packing up two toddlers, and they received two phone calls in that time threatening to charge them for an extra night's stay due to the "extra charges" they would have to pay the cleaning staff. Whist they and we acknowledge that it was their "fault" they didn't check out promptly at 11.00, the rude tone of the phone calls certainly left an unpleasant last impression of the hotel and perhaps the message could have been conveyed more diplomatically.

All in all, this was a convenient place to spend a weekend, with a few caveats. Request a room away from the pool, make sure they aren't hosting some event on the beach during your stay, and check out PROMPTLY or beware the wrath of the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FLTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

From their webpage I could tell they were different, in a good way. Upon arriving I was immediately glad I had chosen the Vanderbilt Beach Resort and by the end of the second day I was really glad. Great location, very nice on the property restauarant and pleasant, attentive staff. Our room was steps from the beach and we had the option every evening of watching the sun set over the Gulf of Mexico from our own balcony area or merely walking about fifty feet to the white sand beach. Very pleasant.
The efficiency/apartment we stayed in was old but rennovated nicely, newly painted with nice tray ceiling, plantation shutters, clean, efficient to use and seemed a nice fit.
The rate we paid was one third of what one would pay at the Ritz Carlton down the beach (okay, it's not the Ritz) and everyone at the Ritz is on the same sand. The beach service is fine and provides everything you might need. For those of you who like to partake in adult, holiday beverages it's simple; either walk to the Turtle Club bar (maybe 20 or 30 seconds to get there) or have the Turtle Club wait staff come to you by merely raising the turtle flag on the pole they placed next to your lounge chair after you initialy requested a drink flag. Good stuff. If you are open minded and flexible, try this place and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the pool side.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonwalker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews