We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not pleased with my experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not pleased with my experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

Spent four nights to Naples this summer and I did select the Ritz beach based to the overall experiences and posts about this hotel. I was absolutely not impressed , the hotel is old , the rooms just average ( nothing special ) the service so-so... Best new addition for the rooms are the Tv Flat screen while I found the bathroom very very small .. The breakfast at the Terrace restaurant was just mediocre and the service there not polite..
Not bad the Limbo restaurant in front of the beach with a good and smiling service.
We alwas decided to eat for Dinner in some local restaurants so did not try the Artisans resturaurant and the Grill.
The plus for tis hotel are the beach ( very nice) and the spa , absolutely lovely.
In reason of that we left the hotel early , two nights before our expected check out..
It seems to me the RC Golf is a much better hotel and the service much more friendly. While play the Tiburon Gold Course was a big disappointment !!

  • Liked — Tv Flat Screen
  • Disliked — Size and bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    354
    135
    47
    24
See reviews for
486
610
33
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs, Il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

Our family went to Naples early August for vacation. We went to Naples specifically to visit this "famous" hotel. We have stayed at Ritz Carlton hotels 4 to 5 times over the past year. The resort without a doubt is beautiful. The newly redone rooms are beautiful with upgraded bath products. Despite this beautiful location the service was lackluster at best. The pool and beach staff made no extra effort in anyway. The lobby lounge was under staffed and dirty glasses and plates just sat. Housekeeping was sporadic. Rates at this resort merit better service. We will not return.

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boeckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Naples and had stayed here 2 different summers way back when the resort first opened. The resort is beautiful. Although there were many pleasant staff members we encountered, there were too many not trained to the Ritz Carlton standard. I agree that I began noticing it with the valet attendees, and the housekeeper appointed to our room was terrible. She left our coffee cups in the bathroom and the coffee station in the foyer completely unreplenished. We had left the room late that morning closer to noon ( and had even left a tip with a note which she took...) but it seems to me that she was trying to make some point of her annoyance at having to service our room late(??) Not Ritz Carlton quality! Another housekeeper in the hallway who we asked something for simply told us she didn't have it with no offer to get it for us. The level of education and training of their staff seems to have declined from when we were last there. We made our feelings known as I hope others will. It would be a shame for The Ritz Carlton not to maintain their reputation for excellent service above and beyond at their Naples resort.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smileeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York - San Francisco - Dallas - Chicago - Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

We were planning to stay for three nights but we checked out early and went to the Ritz Carlton Golf Resort instead. The difference was night and day!

We drove up and sat in our car, waiting for a valet or a bellman to acknowledge our arrival, nobody came while we sat there in silence, so I ended up having to get out and start unloading bags myself. It was only then a bellmen finally came to assist.

After checking in at the desk, I looked for the luggage cart to get my computer - I asked the person at the bell desk who simply pointed off in the general direction I should go to find my luggage. I finally found the luggage cart unattended and sitting outside in direct sunlight, we had a small bag there with chocolate that was melting away as a result.

After arriving to our room, we waited at least 25 minutes for our luggage to arrive, and after hanging our clothes - we found water dripping from the closet ceiling. Generator noises were coming from above the room at irregular intervals.

Staff seemed indifferent to our complaints, and twice the privacy sign on our door was completely ignored.

Room service took nearly an hour to deliver a salad and everytime we ordered any food the server ignored attention to detail - leaving glasses covered with wrapping and not offering to take away other trays. When we finally called to remove the tray, nobody came until we called again 2 hours later.

You get the idea, there are too many other good places out there, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SaavyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

There is always someone who has something to say bad about a good hotel. I am the one for the Ritz Carlton in Naples. We stayed there for four days. The hotel is definatley beautiful. The room we had was better than average with an excellent view.
The desk staff, bell staff and car staff are very friendly.
Now for the problems we incurred. When we got there, we called up housekeeping for supplies. We went down for lunch. My wife has food allergies-there is very little choice for people with problems-everything is preseasoned. We went back to the room-housekeeping had never showed up after two hours. We called again, went for a ride to check out the city (just for your info-there is nothing to do in Naples). We came back to the hotel-still no housekeeping, after 4 hours-we raided the trolleys that were in the hall and helped ourselves. The bed we had was very uncomfortable to sleep in. Dinner selections in the restaurants are very expensive, as to be expected. There were a lot of kids running around, more than you would see at a Holiday Inn, pardon the name drop. You come to a hotel like this, that is rated way at the top of every poll, and expect better. We went to the better restaurant for dinner the next day-of course very expensive-
service was good but not excellent, as you would expect. The food was very good, but way overpriced. My wife had an "accompaniment" as they call it, which was supposed to be a 1 1/2 "pound" lobster-must have been a misprint, they probably should have said 1 1/2 "ounce" lobster, so help me it was two bites for $42.00.
Maybe we are just one of the few unfortunates, that are spoiled, and expect more, but that is the way it was. We have stayed at the one in Amaila Island, Florida-better food, service, and accommodations. And just so you know, we have gone to Europe numerous times and have stayed at the "American" chains and rate them better.
Take this review for what it is worth, we have travelled quite a bit all over, and would not stay here again, unless things changed or if the price was more in line with other hotels.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel
  • Disliked — Types of food selections available
  • Tips/Secrets — Go knowing that the selection of food is not for everyone.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank swarttz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

My daughter and I just returned from a five-night stay at the Ritz Carlton, Naples. We are making plans to return next summer for our vacation.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The hotel definitely lives up to its five star rating. If you like impeccable service, large well-appointed rooms, with comfortable beds and linens, marbled bathrooms, beautiful chandeliers throughout the hotel, (even in the elevators), antiques, oil paintings, and oriental rugs, then this is the place for you. The view of the gulf is incredible. Don't miss the sunset over the gulf.

The ladies and gentlemen of the Ritz Carlton go out of their way to please and to make sure you are well-satisfied with the service. We had a wonderful stay and very relaxing vacation. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the Naples area for a very memorable vacation.

We can't wait to return, and we loved every minute of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank beachgoer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2006

Upon pulling up at the Ritz we were greeted by very friendly gentlemen who were already managing our luggage before I had exited the vehicle. We were again greeted very warmly at the front desk and by Debbie Russ, Leisure Reservations Manager who later sent her card with a very nice note to the room so as to be sure we could contact her if the need arose. Another note and cookies was sent by Corinne Garnier-Chan, Director of Guest Relations telling us to have a delightful time during our stay. The bellhop who delivered our luggage moments after we arrived in the room was helpful with our questions and also very friendly. Everyone we met along the way during our stay was ever so delighted to answer a question or make our stay as wonderful as possible. We enjoyed our days at the adult pool which was quiet and restful. We even enjoyed a taste of some Kiwi smoothie the waiter passed out one afternoon! The room was clean, but bathroom lighting was awful. I would have liked to have had stronger wattage in the bulbs there. Too dim for putting on makeup. My teenager even complained. The bathroom scale weighed all three of us in at 80 pounds, which we loved.......but upon mentioning it to the front desk was immediately changed, and we found a new one in our room at the end of the afternoon. The coffee shop was a daily morning stop and it also sold gelato which was pretty good. The concierge suggested Truluck's for dinner one evening and even sent an appetizer to our table from the Ritz Carlton. (Dinner was excellent) We used the Fitness Center as weather threatened our daily walk and enjoyed the treadmills with attached tv viewing screens. The grounds are just gorgeous and there is constant manicuring of the plants and flowers. All in all, great service and an excellent hotel choice.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CTEACHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Inn at Pelican Bay
#3 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108-2371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#4 Family Hotel in Naples
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing