We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ritz was just "OK."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The Ritz was just "OK."”
Reviewed August 30, 2005

I ventured to the Ritz Carlton for a three night get away. I have to admit, the special price was quite an incentive. The service was inconsistent. The doormen, front desk, room service and spa was out of this world. However, it was next to impossible to get service at the beach, pool and lounge. Although drinks were eventually delivered with an apology, which is nice, but I came for the service that the Ritz is well known for. The pool and beach were both clean and well kept. As a matter of fact, this was one of the nicest beaches I have ever been to in Florida. The room was also clean and quite comfortable. Balconies did intrude on one another's privacy. It was very disturbing when people sreamed to their friends on the balconies below and beside them especially at 7:30am. In preparing for the hurricane many restaurants had to close and a movie screen was set up in the bar for the children to watch "Disney" movies. Being a teacher and trying to enjoy my last few days of freedom I was disturbed by the fact that I could not go to a bar lounge without children being present. Lastly, the concerige was quite rude and would not help me with getting transportation to Old Naples.
That being said, the Ritz could be a fantastic hotel. They just need to iron out some of their policies and hire more reliable staff.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    379
    148
    53
    26
See reviews for
523
659
35
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2005

My wife and I just returned from the Ritz Carlton, Naples and as always it was a pleasure. Reading the reviews most are positive and that is FACT. With any negative reviews some are warranted and we can only assume extreme circumstances with those reviews in regards to this hotel. We have stayed here over 20 nights in the last 2 years. Staff is always quick to assist, rooms clean, club level great, all positives. It is true that the hotel is getting older, but one must remember it is on the beach and salt water has a time with hardware and such. But, it is the best I have ever seen with a staff always working to counter act the salt water damage to the property. Also, the spa is fabulous. If you mention you dont want to pay they might try to make you still for the day of use. Just call the front desk and ask for the manager on duty. Remember each Ritz Carlton staff person has the ability to make your 100% happy. Perhaps that is why we all stay there for the quickness and excellant service. We will continue to go back to this property

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RussianRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 13, 2005

We decided to marry here after getting engaged at Gumbo Limbo in 2002. The reason we chose to marry abroad was firstly financial and secondly for personal reasons. As it happens it turned out to be financially better to marry here than in the UK. The weather was great, the service was excellent and in the end we had 35 guests!!
Nothing was too much trouble on the day with all aspects catered for, even down to the last minute pressing of the dress. The spa also assisted in helping everyone get ready led to a calm atmoshere just before the ceremony.
The evening reception was held outside by the pools having been cleared of all guests. The food was fantastic as was the arranged jazz trio.
I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone who wants their wedding day to be special and completely unforgettable.
We liked it so much we're going back for our 1st wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

We (myself, wife, and 11 month old baby) just returned from a 5 night trip to the Ritz. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

Positives:

Fantastic customer service. Everyone was very professional and kind. By the time we left, we were on a first name basis.

Everyone took great notice and paid attention (this was not needed) to our baby. The staff would bring her fruit and anything else she wanted.

Gulf view rooms - the sunsets are amazing.

Negatives:

The turn down service and overall housekeeping service was terrible. If we were staying at a second rate hotel, this would not have been an issue but considering the $$ you are paying, you should not have issues with this. For example, we requested turn down service at a specific time and never received it. The housekeeping staff did not replace towels, did not take out the trash twice, ect.

Even though we have a small child, the kid's pool is a little out of control. There are children, in many cases, recklessly jumping into the water without paying attention to others. Now, this should be the parent's responsibilty to take care of their kids but the hotel can also try to reinforce this policy. it clearly states, no diving.

There seems to be some sort of construction going on so the constant hammering and drilling with construction equipment is annoying. Check on the status of this before you book your trip.

Overall, we really enjoyed our trip - if not for the poor housekeeping services, we would have rated this excellent.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2005

I agree totally with the previous TripAdvisor member from Maryland. My wife and I just had the most magnificent time at the Ritz-Carlton in Naples! We arrived early to play golf and the staff had our room ready when we arrived. We had a wonderful room with a view of the Gulf. Not only did the Ritz honor the reservations we made, they exceeded our expectations. We stayed at Club level, which was just wonderful -- well worth the extra charge. Although we only stayed a few days, we were greeted by name by the staff and everyone went out of their way to do whatever they could to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. Whenever you thank a staff member, they respond with "A pleasure" -- elegance to match the ambience of the hotel.

We had a great experience at the pool. Make sure to note that there are two pools and one is reserved for adults. So if you are spending your time at the hotel for some relaxation, quiet and/or romance, opt for the adult pool. It was wonderful.

Dinner at "The Grill" was first-rate. There is also a five-star diamond restaurant, "Artisans in the Dining Room."

Although we have been to some of the best hotels in the world, our stay at the Ritz in Naples was distinctly memorable and we plan on returning there often.

We discovered during our visit that the hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation and upgrade, so we will look forward to seeing a great hotel become even better!

Congratulations to the staff and management for upholding their motto: "Legacy of Excellence."

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2005

I just returned from a three night stay at the Ritz. This was one of the most relaxing vacations I've had in a long time. The rooms and hotel were very nice and well kept. The restaurant, The Grill, served an amazing dinner as well. The only complaint comes with the number of children that were at the pool. We opted to rent chairs and an umbrella on the beach and found that to be much calmer. Overall, a fantastic trip. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gowithmeandsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 23, 2005

We recently spent a week at the Ritz in Naples. The property itself is beautiful. The pool is very nice and the beach is lovely. The problem is that the hotel is overbooked with conventions and the staff seems unable to accomodate the crowds. Many guests were openly complaining about the rudeness of the staff and lack of attentiveness that is the norm at Ritz Carltons. The pool area was a zoo and kids were running wild all over the place. One guest complained about a boy with bare feet sliding down the banister from the mezzanine level to the main lobby while his friends were riding a luggage cart through the main lobby. Hotel employees did nothing to stop this. Guests of the beach property are welcome to use the facilities at the Ritz Carlton Golf Resort. I highly recommend this, as the pool is empty and the service at the Golf Resort is out of this world.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
895 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on Fifth
#2 of 59 in Naples
2,557 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
1,461 reviews
Inn at Pelican Bay
#4 of 59 in Naples
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108-2371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#4 Family Hotel in Naples
#5 Spa Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, TravelUp, Prestigia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing