We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The property and hotel are stunning and worth visiting. The staff was friendly and the rooms a little larger than normal although, the beds were full size & not queen which was disappointing. The food was good, service ok because they were crowded with the winter break and I don't think the staff could keep up, but you could tell they tried very hard to accommodate everyone.

The one thing that I really did NOT like was the charge for umbrellas at the beach. When you are paying over $1,000 a night you should not have to pay $25 for an umbrella at the beach. We needed 2 umbrellas & they asked me to pay $53. We thought that was ridiculous! In all the other Ritz properties we've stayed at we never had to pay for an umbrella at the beach. So this was very disappointing.

Aside from that, we had a great time!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank BellaBella30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have reviewed this hotel twice before and were not planning on a third one, but we could not help ourselves, wanting to express our views about the big renovation that closed the hotel down for many months last year.

On this visit, we stayed in a large beach front room which does not seem as large as listed on the hotel website room description page. The extra space was basically just space with no extra furniture compared to a standard room. There was an alcove area with a chest of drawers which was nice to have, but that was it. The furniture was attractive and the lounge chair comfortable, but the bedding was just okay and lacked any kind of spread or covering. The beds just had white sheets and a white duvet with just one throw pillow. The look was very basic and a little sloppy. The walls were painted a soft blue, the carpet medium blue, and the paintings uninteresting and sparse. There was no pop of color to jazz up the room a little. The bathroom was pretty much the same except for attractive new tiling around a new large mirror. However, the original doors and even the same old tissue boxes are in place. It was all perfectly nice, but kind of bland and did not read ultra-luxurious. However, the hotel gets major points for a very nice mini bar refrigerator that had a separate empty compartment that could be used to store your own personal cold items. It was greatly appreciated and used.

With the renovation there seems to be higher room rates. This in turn has raised our own level of expectation. At the price point this hotel is somehow achieving, we wanted a wow factor in the room and it was not there. The old rooms while aging still had charm, character, and a nice color mix.

On the positive side, we liked most of the other improvements the hotel has made. The dark paneled elevators have been updated with a bright more modern look. The drab hallways are now light and more cheerful. Most of the restaurants have been redone in stylish contemporary designs. It all looks good, but the hotel is a little unbalanced now with modern and old Ritz elegance areas that clash a little.

The rest of the hotel remains the same. The spa is opulent, the gym really good, the pools pretty good, plus a beautiful beach, and wonderful sunsets that still impress after many visits. As a bonus, the golf resort is an easy five minute hotel shuttle ride away and can provide you with a nice change of pace. The staff as always is nice and ready to help.

Overall, this hotel is still a great place to stay but your ultimate enjoyment might depend on what your expectation are when a standard non ocean view room can cost over $800 a night at certain times of the year. For us the room is an important part of our hotel stay, and this room while nice, was just not worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

It's the Ritz and so it's going to be expensive! We had the most wonderful time having drinks and appetizers in their beach bar. What a view. Watching the sunset is the most wonderful feeling on the west coast of Florida. It's a site to behold! The Ritz gives you an excellent view while giving you pretty darn good drinks (strong!!) and good food.

If you're on Vanderbilt Beach, you have to watch this sunset and you have to spend some time at the Ritz!

Room Tip: Go around 530pm and watch the beautiful sunset that you can only see from a white sand beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2hotheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We came back to the Ritz Carlton Naples after having had a wonderful experience here two years ago, and while its still a very nice resort, we found ourselves a little disappointed this time around, stemming from a lot of little things that add up when you're paying up for a resort.

First, the property has been fully renovated. Truthfully, we hadn't noticed a particular need for a renovation when we had previously stayed here, but certainly the restaurants are nicer. The rooms have been redone in a slightly more contemporary style. However, some things that could have used a touch up, like the walkway to the beach, and the poolside men's room (with a rusty door next to trash bins) have not been redone, at least as of our stay.

The service, while overall good, hid areas that seemed understaffed. The evening housekeeping, for example, was desultory at best..

It seemed that every time we went by the front entrance, the auto valets were racing around, and cars were backed up down the drive. At breakfast, the service was friendly but a little slow. Both felt like understaffing problems.

There were a number of other minor examples of little things around the edge that felt like cost saving moves that were noticeable to us as customers. Individually they would seem petty to complain about but in sum, they add up particularly given that the price of a room was over 50% higher than during our stay in a comparable time two years ago.

Overall still a nice resort, but a little disappointing this time at a much higher price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I had the most wonderful long weekend here. Everything was top notch. Even the drinks were better than most. Going on the off-season makes the place your own. It's a bit of a hike from the airport, though. The staff is lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJAub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at the Ritz Carlton in Naples Florida,, while I am not all that big on views from the room, I must say, from our room and other friends that were staying their, not a bad view from any room.. As always, the Ritz takes great pride in the total experience, we rented a car and on driving up a valet was present with a great smile, welcoming comments, and actually said :sir, please do not touch that door handle, it is my pleasure" when I offered a tip he said really, only tip me at the end of the stay and only if i treat you like this everyday..
We played several rounds of golf on our stay, each time I took my car, and it was brought down with the top down, interior cooled and bottles of water in cup holders,, when they saw two additonal guests with me golfing, they ran to grab additional waters and only asked that if I will have more than two in the car please let them know when I call down.. Felt that was over the top so the next day, he was prepared with four bottles just in case.
We ventured off the resort a few times for dinner, each time, the valet suggested the best mode and actually steered us away from a restaurant, he said over priced and not enough food, he sent us to another location just off Naples downtown, the fish was amazing, the wine was equally as good and the price, could not believe how inexpensive.
Unfortunately our conference began the next day, but we were very fortunate to have a small section reserved for those that were present before the conference,, the staff blocked this area from our guests and made sure we had plenty of drinks, ice and food..
All parts of the Ritz were exceptional, and without even telling them, I guess from my previous Ritz visit in Hawaii, they recorded my intolerance to milk and ensured that different types of milk were available.
The beach,, ,wow the beach,, we spent four glorious days on what was the best groomed beach I have ever been on.. could have been the booze but really, the entire experience... My only negative comment is that I had to leave,, and when we left, I tipped everyone that contributed to our stay,, and to the person, they appeared so genuine and thankful,, and lastly was the valet, he actually said I over tipped and try to give money back,,

When I am away and if the Rtiz is an option, and trust me, it is not overly expensive, treat yourself to a real experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent,, I guess if you had a choice, sure ocean view,, but really the court yard w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

If you are traveling with children this hotel is great. Location is awesome. Fun during holidays because there are a lot of other families. The food options for kids is very limited. That would be the only complaint. Staff extremely friendly except for one of the trainers in the fitness room. He seems to think guests are not entitled to use all of the equipment. Tennis courts are beautiful. Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 121,617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
935 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on Fifth
#3 of 59 in Naples
2,664 reviews
Park Shore
Hilton Naples
Hilton Naples
#10 of 59 in Naples
1,759 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108-2371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#4 Family Hotel in Naples
#5 Spa Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $591 - $1,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing