We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs TLC”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This could be a cute resort in a nice location but it is very rundown and desperately needs renovation. While the staff was helpful enough on the phone before we arrived I found the service definitely lacking once we arrived. The front desk was often unstaffed and when there was someone there she was a bit rude. The breakfast was pretty meager and the "fitness equipment" consisted of a very old exercise bike and treadmill. The room itself was passable with all the necessities but pretty run down. Nice setting, though, right next to the harbor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Laura T,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. All guest feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve our property and services. I will be looking into the issues you listed so that all our guests have a better experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    176
    70
    33
    41
See reviews for
112
214
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aquebogue, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a great relaxing tour. Our guide, David, was knowledgeable and engaging. We learned a lot and saw a lot... Manatees, Bald Eagles, Alligators, Wood Peckers, Osprey, and many other beautiful shore birds. Well worth the trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Lisa S,
Thank you very much for staying with us, it sounds like you had a wonderful time on your Manatee tour! The Everglades are a magical place, full of amazing wildlife and scenery. Please come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed hear b/c of it's proximity to the Everglades and also to beaches (within 30 minute drive). The weakest part of the location is that the closest restaurants are 25 minutes away on Marco Island or up towards Naples, but we didn't mind that too much. Our room overlooked the Marina and was very clean except for the carpet, which was due for a shampoo. there was a kitchenette with a two burner stove top, microwave, and small refrigerator. As has been noted, the front desk is only staffed from 8am-5pm. Our flight was extremely delayed, so I called ahead to inform them. They gave me the code to the lock box which had our keycards and room information in it. We had not problems with it. There was a complimentary breakfast bar every morning. If you are wanting a full-service hotel, this may not be for you. If you are wanting a lovely stay in a pretty location, go for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Kevin A,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Port of the Islands Resort. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time in the Everglades with us and liked your marina view room. Thank you for giving us your feedback about the carpet in your room, I will look into that and see if we can't get that looking better. Thank you again and we hope to see you again next time you're in Naples or the Everglades.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Realised we had made a big mistake when we received a 5 minute lecture from the receptionist about all the things we couldn't do and dire warnings about going out of the wrong door etc.
Firstly the reception closed at 5 pm and everything locked up. No facilities, restaurant, bar, noththing. A small shop nearby selling very few products which also closed at 5pm.
It meant at least a 30 mile round trip to find food. Walking back into reception reminded one of a morgue with some desperate guests looking for any alternative accommodation.
Breakfast started at 8.30 and to call it minimalist would be complimentary.
Overall probably the most unfriendly and unwelcoming hotel I have had the misfortune to stay in and that is someone who spends 5 months a year travelling.
My only advice don't go anywhere near it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Christopher357,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. I do apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with your experience. We are a unique property that is located in the Everglades, we are a great option for people looking to spend their time fishing, hiking, and exploring the natural surrounds. No, we are not a full service resort and do apologize if our communication on our offerings were unclear. We do have many happy guests, but do realize that our location and services aren't for everyone. Thank you again and we would like the opportunity to give you a better experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This property is located within easy driving distance of the Everglades, Marco Island, and other prime birding locations. Our room was in a building separate from the main building. It was spacious, had a small fridge, microwave, and stove; a large shower(no tub), and an adequate bedroom with king bed. The property is attractively landscaped, quiet, and located very near a marina. Breakfast is provided, but there is no restaurant or grocery in or near the hotel. The property needs to be renovated. It was clean and the bed comfortable, although more pillows would have been nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Elizabeth S,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is very unique and does put our guests close to many of the Everglades' attractions and tours. We are great place for people looking to fish the 10,000 Islands and are a prime location for birding. Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased to arrive at POI after a lovely 50 mile bicycle ride from Bonita Springs through Marco Island. The natural beauty of the marina and the well maintained gardens and pool were remarkable. We drove the ten miles to Everglades City for a dandy and delicious Friday night meal at Camelia's - live honky-tonk music, just great - and when we arrived back to the hotel, quite tired from our full day, we found that none of our keys worked. The hotel was seemingly abandoned. No one at the desk. No other guests. After much rummaging around behind the desk, we did find a number to call and eventually a master key was located for a re-entry to our rooms and our stuff. A bit odd. Cruzan.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milwauke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Milwauke,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Port of the Islands Resort. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the natural beauty of our location. We put our guests on the edge of the Everglades, the perfect spot for those looking to explore this wonderful ecosystem. I do apologize for the confusion about your room keys. We do have a system in place to help guests arriving late or if they have a problem with their key card, it's little different because we don't have a front desk attendant in the evening. Thank you again for staying with us, we do hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked this through Orbitz & it was a horror. The worst place I have Ever been to. Once Orbitz couldn't get answer on the phone, they refunded us our money. This is NOT the Port of the Isles Resort (which is around the corner on 41- aka Tamiami Trl E) it is a flea bag that looks like it once was a resort but the Marina is dried up & the pool is Green. Smells Bad here!!!! The once white room keys are yellow & the walls had patches that weren't even painted over. Don't make the mistake that we did, check the address before you book. The Port of the Isles Resort is at 25000 Tamiami Trl East in Naples NOT HERE on Union Rd. WATCH OUT!!! This is a transient hotel for the local undesirables. The other place is nice on Tamiami Trl.

Room Tip: Run away as fast as you can!!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
Moorings
Best Western Naples Inn & Suites
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#19 of 59 in Naples
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
625 reviews
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort

Property: Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
Address: 25000 Tamiami Trl E, Naples, FL 34114-9602
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Port of the Islands, we provide guests with amenities to ensure a comfortable experience. With a heated outdoor swimming pool, charcoal grills and a chickee hut for scenic picnics, an ample fitness center, a game room with poker and pool tables, and a marina, guests have the opportunity to engage in a wide range of exciting activities. The full service marina and ship store located at Port of the Islands features a boat launch ramp, live bait, fishing equipment, as well as limited snacks, drinks and sundries for a day on the water. Guests can also enjoy the food, drinks, and even karaoke at our on property restaurant, Angler's Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Of The Islands Resort And Marina Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing