We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great views, not so great food, pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The best part of our stay was the service--the staff is very well trained, helpful, and proactive. The lobby is unimpressive, but the back of the hotel opens onto the beach. Our room was in the gulf tower, with a sensational veranda and view of the ocean. The room has been updated--marble bathroom, jetted tub (only 2 jets worked well) with view of beach, comfortable bed, in room safe. Door opens onto an open walkway. The restaurant has both outdoor and indoor seating, and almost everyone eats outside if the weather permits. The outdoor area of the bar for evening cocktails is small, with few seats for all the people who want to enjoy the sunset there. The resort fee covers the lounges, chairs, and umbrellas at the beach, which you need in the heat. Getting there early or making a reservation does not assure you a front row seat. The beach was busy (3 rows deep) on Friday and Saturday, and not crowded the other days. The ocean is unique in front of the property, as there is a sand bar a little ways out, so you can actually walk quite a way into the ocean and not have to swim. Several manatees swam by the hotel in the morning. There are also 3 pools from which to choose. We ate at Baleens, the restaurant, for breakfast and a few dinners. For such an upscale hotel, we were disappointed in the quality of the food and thought it was overpriced for what you received. We did enjoy the lunches at the Tiki Bar. Our favorite server, Alis, was sensational. Her smile lights up the whole area. Even when we weren't sitting in her area, she remembered us and came by to check on us. We did a couples massage, which was wonderful. We golfed at their course (10 minutes away from resort by car or taxi), but the concierge didn't tell us the greens had just been seeded. We were startled by the 16 foot alligator in a pond on the back 9, but he stayed put and we played quickly--actually rather exciting! Overall, a nice hotel, great service, but have dinner downtown.

Room Tip: Ocean view--the gulf towers.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeT418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your recent visit to Naples! We’re pleased that you had an enjoyable time at our resort, and we appreciate your detailed review of your visit -- including the new sand bar that came to us courtesy of a tropical storm last season. Also nice to see that you encountered some wildlife both on the beach and at the golf course (and yes, I would have stayed well away from that alligator too!).

Our entire team takes great pride in the service that they offer to our guests each and every day here at LaPlaya. It’s a pleasure to read about the friendly, attentive service you experienced during your visit. In particular, we’ll be sure to share your comments with Alis at the Tiki Bar. I’m sure it will make that smile on her face even bigger, if that’s even possible!

Our chef offers his apologies that your restaurant experiences fell short of your expectations. We really want your entire visit to be perfect, and your comments are important in this endeavor as we continuously strive to improve the product we offer. Food quality is very important to our culinary team, and they are committed to make sure your dining experience is just as memorable as those wonderful views.

Thank you again for your visit and for sharing your experience. And thank you for the great pictures too! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Naples.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
There are newer reviews for LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Overall, I had a good visit.
Pros: beautiful property, perfect location, friendly and responsive staff, the service of cold face towels in the afternoon at the beach was a great touch
Cons: required and costly valet ( seemed out of place for Naples), mini fridge is packed with very overpriced items, if you want these items removed, the resort charges $25 dollars. We had to find space to squeeze in our drinks and dinner leftovers in with this stash, it was almost impossible. The AC unit kicks on and off, there is no fan mode, nor any fans in the unit. The air would get stagnant/ stuffy at times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Btysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your recent visit to Naples! We’re glad to read that you overall enjoyed your visit, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Whether positive or constructive, we value all our guest feedback as we want to continue to do all that we can to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

While our location does not allow for a self parking option, we do offer several packages that include our valet parking fee and resort fee. Our Stay & Play package is a popular summer option – and it also includes valuable resort credits. It’s a great choice for that summer beach vacation! We do also have several room types that do have interior ceiling fans – so that may be beneficial to help create that extra breeze between the air conditioning cycles.

Again, thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience. We understand that there are many accommodation options in our area, and we want you to be able to count on LaPlaya as a solid choice for your next visit. If I may be of any assistance in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
cgrossman@laplayaresort.com
239.597.3123 Ext. 5916

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just returned from a stay at La Playa and already started looking at dates for our next trip back! We have done a lot of traveling throughout the Carribean when we realized we'd never given a US beach a chance. What were we thinking?!

Our trip began on a bit of a rough note-- our luggage did not make it to us and we checked in very late at night. The front desk staff was more than accomodating and greeted us with very friendly faces (exactly what we needed at the end of a long and frustrating day). They assured us that when we awoke the next morning, we could call down and our luggage would be delivered immediately. Sure enough, the next morning, about 5 minutes after we called, our luggage was at our door. Thank you to the night staff that made our arrival and check in so easy!

We stayed across the street in the Bay Tower and had a view of the resort. We wouldn't have had it any other way! The room was immaculate and updated, the views were gorgeous, and it was so peaceful and quiet. We talked on our way home from the trip that when we book our next trip, we will definitely want to be in the Bay Tower again. The maids were so friendly--they always took the time to ask us about our vacation and greeted us with such a huge smile every morning.

We were creatures of habit during our stay. We went down to the beach about 10:30am and stayed there until about 4:00pm. As for service on the beach, Daniel was exceptional! He was there our first day and had the next 2 days off-- we were bummed we couldn't have his service everyday. He was so prompt and down to earth and appeared to genuinely enjoy his job. We ate at the Tiki Bar each day for lunch. The drinks were wonderful, the food was good, and Chris is the bartender you want to have at every bar you are ever at. He, too, was down to earth, and mixed a fine margarita. I asked for a cheese quesadilla, which seems weird to many, but Chris laughed, ordered me up some "cheesy bread" as he called it and remembered my exact order the next day. Had it not been for Chris, I'm sure we would have ventured out and found different options for lunch, but he brightened our day and made lunch such an enjoyable experience.

We each received facials and massages at Spa Terre and they were fabulous. Michael (massage) and Robelyn (facial) were great and you should request them if you are booking either of these services.

Finally, the valet guys did a great job. They were prompt (we never waited more than 3 minutes for our car) and were also down to earth. Everyone's attitudes and friendliness made the trip so enjoyable and we'll be back. On the trip home, we rated this overall vacation against all the Carribean vacations we've taken and we both agreed that this was at the top. Thank you La Playa for such a wonderful week!!

Room Tip: The Bay Tower is just across the street from the beach but it was such an easy walk and the rooms we...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKenzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of LaPlaya! The title of your review really means a lot to us – it’s what we aim to do each and every day. We understand that our guests often come to us with an abundance of travel experience, as well as varied expectations. We are fortunate to have a truly dedicated team of hospitality professionals who understand the basic fundamentals of providing a high level of service. It’s great to read that they once again rose to the occasion to make your visit a memorable one! We’ll be sure to provide some extra special recognition to Chris at the Tiki, as well as Michael and Robelyn at the Spa.

Great choice on the Bay Tower. Those rooms are a favorite of many guests – and we appreciate your positive comments. We have spent the past few years making quite a few changes to improve our guest experience, so it’s wonderful to receive positive feedback on our choices.

It was our pleasure hosting you for your weeklong vacation, and we are truly grateful for your review and support. We hope to welcome you back as a repeat guest someday soon!

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I decided to split our vacation between the Waldorf Astoria Naples (Naples Grande) and La Playa. We had been to the Waldorf before so we knew what to expect and I'd really wanted to see what the deal was at La Playa, being rated so highly on tripadvisor. After coming from the very modern Waldorf, I was feeling regret about moving to La Playa when we arrived at the older, smaller lobby and then saw the seaweed-strewn beach at La Playa. But as the days went by, I felt more comfortable at La Playa and came to appreciate the old charm of the resort. The resort is very clean, and the employees really are friendly. Our beachfront room in the Gulf Tower (9th floor) had an awesome view. The room itself is not huge but it was fine for the four of us. It had a king bed and sofa sleeper. The bathroom was nice enough. The only odd thing is that the hallway is open air, so it's hot the second you step out of the room. Also my kids wondered if the room would start flooding if it rained long enough. Still, we really liked the room. We ate breakfast at Baleen; the food was very good and I loved sitting outdoors. Great ambiance, but I agree that the prices are pretty high. We ate dinner there the night before we left. Thank goodness our 11 year old decided he would rather order from the kids' menu because the entrees in the main menu were mostly in the high $20's into the $40's. We had our fill and the food again was good but still, our bill was more than $100 for the four of us (no wine or alcohol) -- my husband and I plus our 2 kids. Love being a few steps away from the beach. Liked the pool area a lot, too. We rented a cabana at the pool and that was nice, too; there's not much of a breeze there, though, so it was really hot! Beach was not crowded; service was good. And I didn't see the seaweed again after that first day. (I booked our stay through a third-party vacation booking site at a lower rate than offered on the La Playa site.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxfamilyoffourxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for including LaPlaya as part of your visit to Naples! It’s great to read that you had a wonderful time, and we appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers. We’re pleased that you found your time at LaPlaya enjoyable – including that awesome view from your 9th floor room! Great choice on the cabana at the pool area as well – ideal for having your own little private area. Next time we can have our housekeeping team bring by a fan that can help on those non-breezy days!

I’ll be sure to share your feedback on your dining experiences with our restaurant team. It’s great to see that the ambiance and quality of food were both enjoyable, but I am sorry for the lack of value which resulted from the pricing. We do continuously monitor our price points in order to remain competitive, yet also strive to balance this with the quality that we know our guests seek out. We value your comments and will continue to work to ensure that your entire experience is as memorable as those wonderful views!

Thank you again for your visit and support of LaPlaya. We understand that there are many choices for guests visiting Naples, and our entire team is committed to making sure you can count on LaPlaya as a great choice! If I can be of any assistance now, or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
cgrossman@laplayaresort.com
239.597.3123 Ext. 5916

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We came here for a rest after 10 action filled days in Orlando. On check in we found out that our standard room had been upgraded free of the charge to the gulf tower. We were blown away by the room and sea view from the huge balcony. The service was fantastic both on the beach but around the pool and restaurant. Make sure you take the lift to the 15th floor of the gulf towers for some amazing views.
We preferred the Tiki bar food to the Baleen which was a bit pretentious for us. The valet parking was great and again we were expecting to pay a resort fee for that and use of the fitness centre but this had been covered by Virgin so bonus!
The main drag of Naples is a good 20 minute drive away and is a very posh resort with lots of waterways and exclusive homes. We picked up the trolley bus from the hotel which gave us a good overview. Naples pier is a must!
Our last bit of good luck was when we checked out and found that we had a $100 credit against our bill. So thank you very much to Virgin and the LaPlaya Golf.

Room Tip: Gulf tower with a sea view room- amazing view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for including LaPlaya as part of your Florida vacation! Many guests traveling around Florida often do make us the last stop, usually after all the hustle and bustle of being in Orlando for several days. Fortunately, our resort does indeed offer all the essentials for a truly relaxing visit. It’s a pleasure to read about the enjoyment you found during your time at LaPlaya – including those wonderful views of the Gulf of Mexico!

We hope that you ended up heading home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated! It was our pleasure being of service – and we hope to see you again on a future trip to Florida.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here about a week ago. We stayed at the Vanderbelt Tower which is across the street from the main hotel. The hotel is great - the rooms are very comfortable with spacious patios. The bathrooms are wonderful with a nice shower and plenty of room. Each room has a mini fridge, sofa/ seating area and a big closet with a safe. The cleaning crew, the beach guys and everyone you run into are exceptionally friendly and helpful! I know some folks are annoyed by the resort fee ($20 per day) and the high parking fee ($25 per day) but the place is clean, welcoming and just a really nice place to relax. My only complaint is the fact there are a lot of people staying there and the beach is a little more crowded than I would prefer but I guess it shows that people love the place! We did not eat in the restaurant as there are so many great restaurants in Naples and wanted to get away in the evenings. We got a great price and I strongly urge you to watch for specials to make the stay reasonable. No complaints!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timetorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your recent visit to Naples! It’s great to read that you had such a great stay, and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

In particular, thank you for your comments regarding the comfort of your guestroom in the Bay Tower. They do indeed offer 600 square feet of relaxation – with a nicely sized balcony too! My apologies if the beach was a bit crowded during your visit. Often the combo of having both a lagoon style pool area and our expansive beach creates a well balanced experience, yet sometimes one area can prove more popular than the other.

Thank you again for your visit and support of our entire LaPlaya team! If we have your email on file, keep an eye on your inbox for special offers and packages throughout the year. All of us here at LaPlaya look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Naples.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

LaPlaya sets a new standard for perfection. We could not have had a better stay - everything was exceptional from the moment we stepped out of the car. I have not experienced better customer service ever, and I compare everything to the "Disney standard." LaPlaya's extraordinary staff exceeded our expectations time and again, and with the breathtaking views and property, it felt like paradise. We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of LaPlaya! It’s a pleasure to receive such kind comments regarding the service of our staff. They really do strive to make each part of your visit as perfect as possible. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated team of true service professionals on our staff. They understand we have a great location, so they know the importance of making sure the rest of your visit is as enjoyable as those memorable views!

Thank you again for your visit and support. We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon!

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
902 reviews
North Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on Fifth
#2 of 59 in Naples
2,597 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort

Address: 9891 Gulf Shore Drive, Naples, FL 34108-2019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Spa Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $285 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step onto the beach from your private oceanfront guestroom at one of the best Naples, Florida beach resorts. Be greeted by cloudless skies, sparkling turquoise waters and white sandy beaches every morning at our Florida beach resort. As a guest of LaPlaya Beach and Golf Resort, this image of paradise is your daily reality. One of Florida's finest resort hotels, LaPlaya rests between the Gulf of Mexico and picturesque Vanderbilt Bay, offering guests a rare chance to experience South Florida's tropical beauty from front-row seats. Compared to most luxury Florida resorts, LaPlaya Beach and Golf Resort reflects the contemporary lifestyle and easygoing attitude of South Florida. LaPlaya Beach Resort is a place where guests can truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Beach Hotel
La Playa Naples Florida
Naples La Playa Beach
Naples La Playa Resort
Playa Beach Hotel
La Playa Beach Resort Naples
La Playa Resort Naples
Laplaya Beach And Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing