We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gulfcoast Inn Naples
Nearby Hotels
$264
$229
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Trianon Old Naples(Naples)(Great Value!)
$139
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave(Naples)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$764
$589
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$329
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$165
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naples Grande Beach Resort(Naples)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$323
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$302
$257
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
84
156
80
41
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
156
80
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharold's placebagelspool areafun place to staygreat tiki bartile floorspoolside restaurantcoffee makercontinental breakfast isfresh fruitlaundry roomwould stay againcomfy bedmake your own waffleslocation is excellentgreat weekendflat screen
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 396 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This old and outdated hotel is in need of some serious TLC. The beds are old and boxy. The bathrooms were rusty, musty, and had the poorest water pressure ever. The door had gaps that let all the outside sounds in and the sometimes it took 7 tries to get the card reader to unlock it. Maybe this was a nice room back in 1987 but, it doesn't work anymore.

The absolute and only best part of staying here were the bars and restaurants. Harold's was busy every night and they pour nice strong drinks and the staff always remembered what you had. I had the best sushi ever at this place. The chef was meticulous and focused when he prepared each course and I left full and satisfied. I'm sure if Anthony Bourdain ever visited this place, he would agree with me about the food and booze. I say that mostly because they are always filled with the 'locals'.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olsonkmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After check in the allocated rooms were not good especially one that smelt this was changed. Both our rooms had children and they were in the near vicinity of the bar which became very noisy until just after midnight.
Then about an hour later people started returning from nights out and the noise and language were not child friendly. This went on to 3
I know people should be able to enjoy their holidays in different ways but in that case room allocation becomes important
We had booked in the GCI for 2 nights to complete our florida holiday after one.
While we were having breakfast and obtains a refund a guest came into breakfast with no shirt
Won't be going back or recommending

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcthetalc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCINAPLES, Front Office Manager at Gulfcoast Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Sorry about your experience. If you did not want to be near the pool or bar area, we would have been more than happy to move your rooms to a different location. Ask us next time. If there were other loud guest in the night, we will be more than happy to put a stop to any people causing the issues. If we are not told about the problem, there is no way for us fix it. Keep that in mind when traveling in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Front desk gave me a very dated, saggy bed, back-of-the-inn room. When I asked for another one I was told there were no others. About 1/2 hour later my brother asked for a room and was given a pool-side really nice updated room. The pool is filthy, the towels must be returned by 10 pm or else they charge you $10 (even if you're staying longer than one day!), and they have a bar/restaurant in the pool area but do not serve by the pool. WTH? The whole place is just sort of half-baked. Not luxurious by any means, just very, very basic. Granted, the price is very reasonable, but is it too much to ask for cleanliness? The breakfast is your typical horrible carb-filled white-bread-a-plenty continental breakfast with bad coffee served in shot-glass sized cups. Not to mention I have a service dog and after providing her papers two days later got a v/m from "JJ" they needed more documentation. When I called him back, he said that housekeeping "complained" they had to change the comforter because there was urine on it. My dog did not urinate in the bed. Just a very cheesy place. Sadly due to it being a holiday week there's nowhere else to go.

Room Tip: I always have a look at the room before accepting it. This hotel, even though they had additional rooms, would not change mine. I would never stay here again.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank depogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCINAPLES, Manager at Gulfcoast Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Are you Kidding me???? Really??? I don't know where to start. All the comments are completley false.
1. The room you are staying in was just remodled 6 monthes ago & looks very nice. We have not had 1 complaint from any guest in that room.
2. Yes, the towels need to be returned daily. That is our way of keeping them from dissapearing, which had been a big issue in the past, but no longer thanks to the new procedure.
3. Harold's Place is the bar & grille, which is located poolside. However they are under seperate management. They DO serve the TABLES around the pool area, but do not service all the lounge chairs, as there are several dozen around the pool area.
4. When traveling with a service dog, there are 3 peices of required service dog doucumentation that should be readily available. A doctors letter stating the need of a companion/service dog. Certification that the dog has been trained as a service dog or companion pet. The last is a veternarian's certification that the companion pet has proper shots & is in proper health as a companion pet.
You provided the the letter from doctor only. The other 2 were not provided anytime during your stay.
5. The pool is cleaned twice a day.
6. The linens did have to be replaced due to having urine on them. The assumption was made that is was the dog that was responsible.

Last but not least. You booked a 2 night reservation, but ended up staying 6 nights. If the accomadations are so terrible, Why would you stay 4 additional night??????????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was not a typical stay for us. Initially, we were surprised when we found out at the front desk that the room would only have a dorm-sized refrigerator; we usually like to buy food to eat some meals and snacks on our own. However, the staff accommodated our concern and found a room with a bit larger fridge.

When we first arrived at the room, we were shocked: the only place to sit, other than what looked like a doctor's operating chair, was an ice cream parlor-type table with high, cushioned metal seats. (We never did sit on them as they were too high!) There was a king-sized bed and an almost apartment-sized refrigerator. And there was a microwave. We thought it was weird that there was only one sink, which was not in the bathroom, but we did get used to that.

That first view of the room was actually kind of upsetting, and we didn't think we'd even stay at the place. We went to the bar/restaurant, ordered some food (which was delivered on styrofoam and plastic) and then sat by the pool to discuss options.

After talking, we decided that not all places we visit will be like condos or hotels--this one is something different. It's like a hotel where the rooms are individually owned and decorated, and some are NOT decorated well. But that's not the fault of the management.

We just learned to adapt. We stood at the table when we needed to look over our maps. And we ate in the pool area or on our bed for our snacks and lunches. We got used to the cramped little toilet/shower room.

There were tiny little ants all over the counter, but they were pretty harmless, and we made sure they were not able to get to our food.

As continental breakfasts go, this one is pretty bare-bones. There is nothing really fresh or nutritious. Usually at a CB you might find fresh fruit (even just bananas) and maybe some oatmeal bags, but this one only has bagels, cheap-o donuts, waffle mix, and for beverages, OJ, cocoa packets, apple juice, and coffee. There was no cereal, no milk, and I don't think there was even toast. One of the other couples brought their own English muffins daily to toast, and I did covet them.

The breakfast attendant said pretty regularly, "If you don't see what you want to eat here, go on to the grocery store and get it yourself," and she amused herself that way with all of the guests. I don't know why she didn't just pick up a little variety.

The front desk staff was neither friendly, nor unfriendly, just indifferent, though they were helpful. The bar/restaurant staff and cleaning staff were very friendly.

The pool was nice, and we appreciated that even on super-busy days, there were always lounge chairs available.

Overall, it was not a bad place to stay, just different. The place was not dirty, and the staff was very generous with towels and let us come down to the front desk area any time--day or night--to get plates, cups, napkins, extra coffee, forks and knives, etc. (So don't worry that the room is not stocked for eating meals there! They will make it work for you.)

The price was decent and it was only 1-1/2 miles to the beach, so it was a WONDERFUL short walk! Also, since it's right on the main road, everything is easily accessible.

Room Tip: We had Room 201---certainly nothing special. Just plan on sleeping there.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived on a friday and were pleased that the room we requested beforehand was ready. Were supposed to stay 2 nights, but had such a good time at the bar and in Naples, that we wanted to stay Sunday night also, but no rooms available.

Centrally located - easy access to all parts of Naples;
Wonderful pool, enough lounges, nice temperature;
Harolds Tiki Bar - good drinks, reasonable prices, good burgers, fun bartenders and regular customers;
Continental Breakfast was basic, but fine....Not too many places to eat inside, but can sit poolside right out the door;
Connected Japanese restaurant/sushi bar was very attractive, but didn't have a chance to dine there;
Plenty of parking, good outside lighting throughout;
Flat screen tv w/many channels and HBO
Very comfortable lounge chair
Decent internet speed - free internet
Quiet air conditioner
safe - no charge

We definitely intend to spend more weekends at the Gulfcoast in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews