We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy place!”
Review of Roy's - Downtown Naples - CLOSED

Roy's - Downtown Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Goodlette-Frank Road
Description: Located downtown in the quaint Bayfront Place, Roy's Naples is waiting to welcome you. Come in for inspired bites and enticing cocktails during Aloha Hour in the open-air bar and for sensational meals in the vibrant dining room that features our signature exhibition kitchen and an exquisite outdoor patio. Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Lake City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very classy place!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is very classy with excellent food and staff. I went for a small wedding reception so I didn't see the prices for the meals but, If you are looking for a place for a special occasion this is it. Everything here is top notch. I had an excellent fillet and the seafood dinners that others ordered were just as great. I didn't a single complaint from anyone in our group of around 25 people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    113
    63
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
428 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“5 Stars all the way!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It doesn’t get any nicer than Roys. This is where us average middle Americans come once in a lifetime for a meal. This is where I had my small wedding reception at and we all had a wonderful meal. The Kajici was recommended to me (never heard of it) as it is a rare deliciously and it was very good! Everything was amazing from the spring rolls to the salad and even down to the upside down pineapple desert. Service was also very good and everyone was very pleased with their meal. Thanks to Roys for making my big day a success!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhatPatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Aloha Hour at Roy's”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went to Roy's on a Sunday evening with friends for Aloha Hour (Happy Hour). While the food was good, we can't say that about the cocktails or service. Seven of us ordered various cocktails and not everyone was pleased with the drinks, most drinks were poorly made and sat on the bar longer than necessary for our waitress to serve them to us. Our waitress was overly absorbed in serving patrons on the outside dining areas. Several times we had to ask another server to get us what we needed. There was a line of people at the front door waiting to be seated and no host or hostess was available. We may have been at Roy's on a bad night, but when out for Sunday cocktails, you expect good service, good food and refreshing cocktails. We felt there just wasn't any management around to oversee the restaurant. We all did enjoy our food. The sushi was delicious, the lobster potstickers were great and the sliders were fantastic. No complaints with the food, but it will be a while before we go back in the hope that the restaurant is better managed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECW122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's - Downtown Naples, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for joining us for Aloha hour and we're so sorry for the experience you had with service and the cocktails. Inattentive service is not acceptable and we are truly sorry for this.

Do you have time for a conversation on the phone? Our goal at Roy's is to create relationships that are supportive of all our guests and we are sorry that we fell short this time. My email address is jlee@roysrestaurant.com.

I look forward to hearing from you soon and mahalo for reaching out about your experience.

Best wishes,

Jeannie Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a nice place to go”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a great family dinner at Roy's. Been to a couple of locations in California, always a great spot. Great service and fresh food. Beautiful location! When in the area, will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant or just romantic”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We love this restaurant- probably our favourite in Naples. It has wonderful service and food- and the fixed price menu makes it even more affordable. They are great with families and children, and you also see many couples, in fact we saw someone get proposed to in our last visit. You have a great view of the streets of Naples, the harbour and private jets overhead when sitting outside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Y W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Downtown Naples also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing