We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, Good Service, Needs Occupancy”
Review of Naples Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Naples Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a K suite in the main marina building for 3 nights for an anniversary getaway. This resort is a top notch beautiful facility. We like the marina feel, watching and hearing the boats come in and out. The rooms were lovely with large baths and a nice balcony with outdoor seating.

The resort is a healthy walk to the 5th avenue restaurants and shops (1 mile), and a long walk to the beach (est. 1.5 or 2 miles). It's a short walk to Tin City which is a hodgepodge of touristy boardwalk-style shops and seafood restaurants as well as to the upscale Bayfront Place complex with several nice restaurants.

I would caution visitors with the following:
Know the resort before you get there. At check-in, no one told us about the access to bikes (we found them in the garage on the last day), parking options, how to access the shuttle to downtown/ beach or how to best make reservations at the very busy restaurant on site. Having said that, every staff person we encountered was very gracious, pleasant and courteous. The concierge is very useful - I highly recommend a sit down with her to discuss dining and activities.

Know that due to the November closing of Olio, there is no room service or hot breakfast options. The morning continental breakfast bar is very slim in offerings, but much appreciated all the same. Once they can remedy that problem and fill that space with a cafe or restaurant, that will resolve this issue.

Know that the resort is in the landing path of the nearby airport. Though this isn't a noise issue from your rooms, and the airport isn't extremely busy (1 plane an hour), it is a bit disconcerting as you laze at the marina pool and a plane's engine suddenly roars overhead.

Know that the resort is under-utilized given the empty condos on the opposite side of the marina and the empty shop spaces on the first floor. I personally thought it was a delight to be there now when you have the place all to yourself. However my husband felt it was more of a "ghost-town" experience and a reminder of our struggling economy. I wonder what it would be like with double the amount of people and double the amount of convenient shops and services. We both agreed that there is great potential for this resort once long-term occupancy improves.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannemag2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBR_Manager, Front Office Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Dear Famlyplanner,

We were very pleased to read that you thought our hotel is a top notch beautiful facilty and that our staff was gracious, pleasant and courteous. The word is definitely getting out about our exceptional property. Thank you for helping with your review. We are aggressively perusing a new restaurant option and have upgraded our continental breakfast. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed at the NBR for a week on February 23 for 6 nights with our two teenage daughters. From the minute we arrived, the service was fantastic. We stayed in a 2 bedroom - 2 bathroom cottage down by the pool area. The accommodations were luxurious. The kitchen was fully equipped, we had a spacious living area, a screened balcony. The beds in the bedrooms were very comfortable. There were 3 flat screen televisions and we could really spread out and enjoy the space. My teenage daughters really enjoyed the pool area - a large pool with a waterfall, a lazy river, an adult lap pool and two jacuzzis - all which were kept very warm. The food at the pool side bar was delicious for lunch. Salads and sandwiches ranging from $7 - $15. The pool area was very clean. We were there for school break and never had a problem finding lounge chairs. We had to take a short walk up to the main hotel for the complimentary breakfast which was included in our nightly rate - bagels, fresh fruit, pastries and coffee. The front staff was very friendly and always made us feel welcome. The complimentary shuttle to the beach was also a plus - about a 2 mile drive down the road. They supplied us with beach chairs and towels. The shops and restaurants on 5th avenue are just a short 10 minute walk from the resort. There is no reason to rent a car. We dined at the Bone Fish Grill two nights which is on the resort property. The food is fantastic and reasonably priced with outside dining offering a beautiful review of the bay. A few mornings we went to the the fitness center which is located next to the pools. It was great - large, clean and with updated equipment for everyone to use. I would highly recommend the Naples Bay Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccershorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBR_Manager, Front Office Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Dear Soccershorty,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. We were delighted to read you thought our hotel was fantastic and your accommodations were luxurious. We appreciate the positive comments on the cleanliness of the property, the friendliness of the Front Desk staff and that the food at our Bluewater Cafe was delicious. We thank you for your high recommendation and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Naples Bay Resort on2/15-16 and ended up staying an extra night. Our room was a Superior King in te main building, it was beautiful! The bathroom was amazing. It had a large walk in shower with Italiam tile, a tub, granite countertop sink and a pivate area with toilet. The room aso had a refigertor with an icemaker, coffee pot and a wet sink. The balcony overlook the harbor and was nice to watch the boat come in & out. Now, the best part was the pool! We had to walk a little distance to get to the large pool, lazy rier & hot tub. But that was no big deal. The pool area is gorgeous, it was clean as well as the grounds in & around the property. Laying at the pool was like being in paradise! Naples Bay Resort is close to plenty of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. We never used our vehicle...We would walk everyday to Tin City and have lunch or dinner. More shopping & restaurants accross the highway at Bay Harbor Resort, to get there you walk under the brige to cross over. We found a great Tavern....great food. Downside....there were many storefromts in the resort that was closed, they did however, have Bone Fish Restaurant, hair stylist, and a few other stores. Wth the economy that is expected. Continental BF was supplied everymoring. They could add additional seating, since the room was more like a living room. Other than that, we truly enjoryed our stay and the staff was great. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJBeach04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBR_Manager, Front Office Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2011

Dear Wyers,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We were very pleased to hear you thought our resort was paradise. We were delighted to hear you loved our large pool, lazy river and hot tub. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We just returned from this resort with mixed feelings. Upon arrival we were greeted by rudeness from the front desk. The young lady shoved a map in our hands and we were left to find our own room toting our luggage. The place is huge so, of course, we got lost. We phoned the front desk with our cell phone and received verbal directions but at this point I think someone should have shown us the way. The 2 bedroom condo was beautiful, spacious and luxurous. The housekeeping staff were fabulous. There are several pools. There is one at the main hotel but the water was cold and no towels were provided. There isn't any staff to help you. That part of the resort is practically deserted, The Olio restaraunt is defunct as well as most of the shops are vancant. One feels like they are in a deserted town. I would suggest they use the vacated space for an entertainment on site area. It would have been great to listen to live music such as 50's/60's music or Dosco. Top 40 or country, dancing or not. Perhaps a comedy show and a few shows for family. It doesnt have to be headliners, just local talent. Fill a shop with convienence items such as over the counter meds(I couldnt even get tylenol!) sunscreen, diapers, tissues, toothpate (whatever people forgot!) Some snacks would be nice as well as milk, juice, and bread. A souvenier shop would have been nice filled with naples bay resort items. I would have purchased them there. An Icecream shop would be most welcomed.It could be frozen yogurt or the like. I realize that this is an uppercrust place but these things can be done with class. There is shuttle service for going to the cottages where the other pool are as well as to downtown and the beach. Unfortunatly we were told to take a taxi many times as the porters were too busy to take us. We walked, most of the time, That was ok for us but it wouldn;t be if my mother were with us. The resort fee includes shuttle service and I expect it, even if we have to wait awhile for it. Pierre was wonderful when we could get the shuttle. He was friendly and very polite.The pools at the cottages were nice but the hot tub was broken our entire stay. We reported it but it remained broken. There is a place for lunch by the pool Best hamburgers in town The wait staff are fabulous especially our African American waiter. I apologize that I forgot his name, but I have not forgotton him. He was great. Marilyn, arranged our activities and airport transportation. She was the friendliess person there,If not for her, Pierre and our pool waiter we would not have felt cared for at all. The bonefish resaraunt is nice and that is the only restaraunt this place needs. We went to the pier and to the beach via shuttle. You can get lunch up on the peir and fish as well. The resort provided towels, chairs and a broken beach umbrella for our beach trips, there were not enough umbrellas to go around ,only 2 for the entire complex. That is ridiculous. The resort is short staffed but that leads to poor service. Will we go back again? Yes, but now we know what to expect. We liked the condo, the cottage pools and the location. If you want top notch service but without all the amenities go to the Bellasera, We went there 2 years ago. You can't beat the personalized service. That is what the Naples Bay Resort LACKS. Ballasera, if going as a couple, Naples Bay Resort if travelling with a faamily because of the pool complex and the large condos.(We did like the washer and dryer in the condo and the fully stocked gourmet kitchen)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margie756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBR_Manager, Front Office Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear Margie756,

Thank you for your thoughtfully prepared comments about the service issues you encountered and for your resort amenity suggestions.We sincerely appreciate you feedback. We apologize for the problems you encountered with our resort. You can rest assured that your comments will be discussed with our staff. We were very pleased to read that Pierre at the Bell Desk and Marilyn at the Concierge provided you with excellent service and that Housekeeping and the Pool staff were fabulous. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I traveled to Naples Bay Resort with my teeanage daughter, her friend, and my mother for a Presidents' week vacation, and booked NBR on the strength of the reviews here on TA. Since we wanted room to spread out I chose one of the 3-bedroom "cottages" just down Rt. 41 from the main hotel.

Pros: The cottage was lavishly furnished, bedding was comfortable, and the unit was impressively soundproofed. We never heard people walking outside, even though we were on the ground floor. It was located just a short walk from the pool area and health club, which were both outstanding. The health club was large and well-appointed, and the pool complex had sections for both families and adults only. I was especially impressed by the lap pool and the cleanliness of the water. And the staff at the Club were very attentive.

Cons: It was clear to me that the resort was understaffed and that housekeeping is slap-dash. For example, although we had rented the "cottage" for a week, we were provided with a minimum of bathroom amenities, towels, and toilet paper. It took me 3 phone calls to the front desk and 4 hours to finally receive more. They should have been provided from the beginning of our stay. Although the resort bills the cottage kitchens as "gourmet", ours was lacking dishcloths, towels, and a tea kettle. We were provided with flimsy kitchen garbage bags, one of which broke when I tried to take out the trash. Finally, I was told to contact the front desk upon check out, but they never answered the phone, so I just left our keys in our unit.

In conclusion, if you consider the size of the units and the wonderful pool and health club, this is a 4-star property. However, the lack of service brings the hotel's overall rating far below 4-star.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBR_Manager, Front Office Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear BandLady,

We were delighted to hear that you thought our rooms are lavishly furnished and that our Spa and Club, particularly our lap pool was to you liking. Please accept our apologizes for not meeting your expectations regarding our responsiveness to your bathroom and kitchen requests. We regularly review all our operations and constantly strive to make improvements in each area. Thank you for your constructive feedback and sincerely hope you will return to our beautiful property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at the Naples Bay Resort for two nights as a "layover" to our ultimate destination, Key West. Because of the superb accommodations, what was supposed to be a good, middle stopping ground for our Key West trip, turned out to be a highlight of our vacation.

The property and room were gorgeous. We stayed in a marina view King Superior. We had initially booked the canal view, but changed our minds based on a previous review (turned out the canal view was not so bad, although it would be noisier). The room was perfect and the bathroom was very spacious and beautiful. We did take advantage of the resorts lazy river and pool area. It is a bit of a walk (5 or so minutes), but it is not your basic hotel pool. It's very large with several different swimming areas (kids pool, adult pool, lazy river, etc). We were also offered drinks while lounging by the pool, which is always a great touch.

I cannot forget to mention the valet/ bellman. I didn't catch his name but he went above and beyond impeccable service. We tried to catch the 6 pm bus to the beach in order to be a little closer to downtown. And even though the service was not being offered, he gave us a ride downtown despite being busy with peak check-in time. He is a very kind man. After we received the ride downtown, we realized it wasn't too far and we ended up walking back to the hotel. Some may find it a distance, but it was only about a mile or so.

Overall, I would rate this hotel up among the best I have stayed in with the only downfall being the traffic noise and the small distance to the downtown area and beach. It was a beautiful property with a restaurant on sight (Bonefish Grill - make sure to try the Bang Bang shrimp), gorgeous views from the room, great pool area, superb service, continental breakfast and all in the great city of Naples. I am hopeful to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBR_Manager, Front Office Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2011

Dear mjbeckett,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It was nice to hear you thought the room accommodations were perfect. We also were delighted to read that Naples Bay Resort was the highlight of your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed at the Naples Bay Resort from January 31st until February 15th 2011.We picked the hotel after careful research to suit our needs for winter sun and good location in the Naples area of Florida.
We are just retired and young 60 year olds so looked for a quieter part of Florida and a hotel with superior facilities.We stayed in a top floor (of 3 ) suites style apartment with kitchen lounge master bedroom bathroom shower room and laundry.Our balcony overlooked the Marina with the full flood of early morning sun.
We used the Club facilities,pool hot tub etc in great setting with attentive poolside bar and lunch spot.
All services are excellent,great staff,fabulous rooms clean and very well equipped suite.
Great covered secure parking garage and valet service,if you needed it.
Very very attentive and friendly concierge-Marilyn,for whom nothing was too much trouble right down to securing a Valentines day lunch booking at the best restaurant in Naples.
Only downside was having to come home.
Very pleased with the discounts secured for booking our suite early-4 months ago gained a massive saving by paying early.
We recommend without reservation the resort,when we revisit Naples we would probably take friends stay a month and take one of the great 2 bedroom cottages at the Club.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBR_Manager, Front Office Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear philrobon,

Thank you for your kind, kind comments. Your detailed positive description of our property was fabulous. It was wonderful to read that you liked our location, our friendly and attentive staff, and you found the facilities to be clean and well equipped. Your "recommendation with out reservation" was delightful to hear. You do know that you can combat the downside of going home by coming back. Many of our repeat guests do in fact return year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
941 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,491 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#3 of 59 in Naples
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Park Shore
Hilton Naples
Hilton Naples
#10 of 59 in Naples
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naples Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naples Bay Resort

Address: 1500 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102-3492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#7 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $191 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naples Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of Florida's most exclusive beach city destinations on the Southwest coast, this AAA FOUR DIAMOND Tuscany-styled tropical luxury resort is like no other.Nestled in a waterfront setting on Naples Bay, Florida at the gateway to energy and excitement of Naples' famed Fifth Avenue South, white sand beaches and to the Florida Everglades, Naples Bay Resort is a hotel that features an amenity-rich environment that includes chic waterfront shopping, Euro-style spa, an expansive activity center with four crystal-blue resort pools, meandering lazy river, state-of-the-art fitness and tennis facilities, along with a complete Captain's Lounge and 97 slip marina.Come experience why "Life is Different Here" at Naples Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Naples Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naples Bay Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing