We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50's Shabby Chic!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naples
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gondolier Apartments & Inn
Ranked #49 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“50's Shabby Chic!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Location is the winner. We parked the Car on Day 1 and didn't really need it for the 3 days that we stayed. Walking distance to the stunning Naples beaches. The owner had a trove of beach related items, Chairs, Lilo's etc. that he was more than happy to lend to us. knowledgeable and friendly owners that are very accommodating. The rooms could do with an update but they are clean. We are visiting Florida again in 2013 and The Gondolier is on the list of places to re-visit.

Room Tip: Room choices are minimal but all are equally good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UrbanFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
11
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

It's all about location at The Gondolier, and about old Florida tradition. The Gondolier is reminiscent of the 50's, slightly faded and appealing, set among the mansions of an upscale neighborhood.
Henry Harer, the proprietor, is hands-on, happy to supply everything from beach chairs and towels to glimpses of Naples history. The property is well-maintained and within a five to ten minute walk to the beach, Fifth Avenue, and Third Street. Unbeatable.
The eight units range in size from efficiency to one-bedroom apartments and are equipped with galley kitchens and (surprise!) ours had a pink tile bath. Loved it!

Room Tip: #8 is an end unit with more privacy. Parking spaces are assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Clean, functional, quiet, great location. We got avocadoes from the owner as a gift, and got to stay past checkout time because no new occupant expected. Lots of maps and brochures available, as well as beach towels and chairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99SusanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Life in the slow lane. I love it more than the big 5 Star places. This is the place that I go to unwind - I keep going back year after year to the place that brings a smile to my face every time. It's the best - I love it.

Room Tip: Well kept, clean and perfect every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geezegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

No Ritz-Carlton for me! If you want the best location in town, 3 short blocks from the beach, clean, comfortable rooms with kitchens and all the amenities you will ever need, consider staying at the Gondolier Inn. We were delighted to stay in this cozy, independently owned and reasonably priced motel in early May, 2010. We couldn’t have been more pleased! The Inn even offers beach chairs, umbrellas, and coolers that can be taken to the beautiful white sand beach. If you want to fish, it’s just a short walk to the famous Naples Pier, and the friendly proprietor will loan you a fishing pole. Convenient to the lovely Old Naples shopping area, this is the place for me and my family. We wil be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have different layouts to suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank captran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Very nice; not fancy. Quiet! Excellent bargain. Really great for a pleasant relaxed getaway. Not luxurious, but has far more than appears at first glance. If you can handle just a little walking, the beach is most accessible. I was not "vacationing" on my stay, but would like to do so in future, and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drjacksbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

How could being 3 blocks from the beach be so affordable?
How could being in Old Naples be so affordable?

A step back in time which today would mean peace and quiet in the most
charming ways. No phone in room, just your own.

Down home charm that I think Old Florida would have offered ,- you can still
find a piece of this old charm here at The Gondolier.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EQUALSUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Old Naples
The Escalante
The Escalante
#29 of 59 in Naples
220 reviews
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#19 of 59 in Naples
735 reviews
Old Naples
Charter Club Resort of Naples Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#15 of 59 in Naples
713 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#5 of 59 in Naples
2,335 reviews
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave
#31 of 59 in Naples
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondolier Apartments & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondolier Apartments & Inn

Property: Gondolier Apartments & Inn
Address: 407 8th Ave S, Old Naples, Naples, FL 34102-6866
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Gondolier Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing