We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special.”
Review of Real Macaw

Real Macaw
Reserve with OpenTable
Real Macaw is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 988 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We sat outside and ordered off the bar menu to avoid the $20-$30 per person inside restaurant menu. After a very very very long wait our food finally arrived. They are big on presentation, but the food was only avg. I had the kobe beef burger and had to pay another $4 just to get french fries. My wife and i agree we wont be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iabeachlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    52
    21
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food with a "Key West" atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

You got to try the food here, as everything we have had here, the two times we dined have been great. They really have the best chowder in town. The chef really knows how to cook fish properly. I had a great salad at lunch of goat cheese, craisins, field greens. I felt I could really have healthy choices here. You get a nice old Florida feel when I are here. Stop brand give it a try!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun,quality food and service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant feels like you are in the Keys. Great colorful decor and a fun outside patio/porch bar area with live entertainment . The meal was great . We had the mahi and the duck. The bread and strawberry whipped butter was a real treat.
Give this place a try and you will have a smile on your face the entire time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreFahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I visited here twice in March. Food was excellent in both times. I think I could live one month eating only "Trinidadian" Crab Cakes and "Island Hopping" Seafood Chowder, also Down Island Chicken was delicious. Service was very friendly, and although we did not have reservation they managed to arrange a table for us. And the appetiser, it is something unique.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viitaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is my second review of the Real Macaw. My first was close to a rave, but a recent experience was disappointing for two reasons. First, although my food was pretty good, several others in our party of 12 said their choice was poor at best. Most of these ordered the chicken quesadilla, which was puny, dry, and tasteless, according to what they all said. The second thing was the restaurant's refusal to give us separate checks. As anyone knows, women do not like to evenly split a big check. We also do not like to do all the math necessary to figure out our individual shares. In fact, this group, which eats out every week, will not go to a restaurant that won't give us separate checks. We have eaten at the Real Macaw once in the past and had no problems getting individual checks. Alas for this restaurant, it is now off our list of places we'll return to. Oh yes, WHEN will they learn that we tip better if we get separate checks?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Macaw also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing