We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, excellent service”
Review of Chops City Grill

Chops City Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Chops City Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 989 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill, American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Description: When you want dry-aged steak and fresh fish that's all about quality with a creative twist at a great value, Chops City Grill is your place. We're upscale without being fussy. We aim to create relaxed and fun dinners. It's honest, fresh, from-scratch food that's innovative too. Simple as that. At Chops City Grill, we are proud to offer you more choices, better quality, and more value than traditional steak houses. Sip on wines from our award-winning 500-bottle wine list and collection of small-batch spirits along with the best service in town right in the heart of downtown Naples on beautiful Fifth Avenue South!
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Nice food, excellent service”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate our Chops during our week long holiday in Naples. It was a Sunday evening so fairly quiet long 5th Avenue but Chops was quite busy when we arrived. There are tables outside, which would have been lovely had the evening been warmer. We sat inside at a table quite near the bar. Our server was friendly and attentive. I ordered the salmon with teriyaki sauce and my partner had filet steak. Both were cooked to perfection. The bad service came with butter and a garlic and basil infused oil for dipping - beautiful! All in all a lovely meal, though nothing about it was memorable or special enough to make me want to go back a second time, hence 4 stars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    193
    97
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best filet mignon ever”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Yesterday we had dinner at Chops. It was incredible. For starters we had the seared scallops and the mussles with lobster tail in pangang curry ( they were the specials). Our entrees:steak and tomatoes, bone in strip and the king cut filet. For deserts we had the creme brule three ways. We drank to bottles of Saratoga springs mineral water. We were so impressed and delighted. It was gladly worth the $ 199 check. Thank you Chops!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, Great Britain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chops. May need a review.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Chops has been my favourite steak restaurant for a long time and a first choice venue whenever we travel to Naples. However, I have to say that our most recent visit was not a total success. The food was of an adequate quality but the service was not good. One of the dishes was dropped onto the table, we had to ask twice for butter and it was all rather slow and laboured.
It may have simply been an off night at Chops and we'll certainly go back again but a second mediocre experience at Chops will be our last.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and nice food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Chops City Grill was recommended to us by several people so we decided to check it out. It was a Friday evening so the restaurant was very busy. The staff, however, made sure that they found us a nice table overlooking 5th Avenue South and provided us with a enjoyable dining experience.
The staff were knowledgeable and clearly knew the menu well. There was lots to choose from and an extensive wine list.
The food was excellent and very tasty. The portion sizes were good - both my husband and I were completely full and couldn't manage desert.
There is a bar there too in case you just want to stop for a drink - we were told that they had the best cocktails in town!
Overall, a nice and friendly dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Overpriced”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Food was indifferent and did not justify the high price asked. Wine prices outlandish starting at $40 a bottle and up to the 100s. Service was friendly but slow. Stayed a week in Naples and did not go back. Restaurant was too packed for any romantic occasions

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chops City Grill also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chops City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing