We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average for 5th Ave” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chops City Grill

Chops City Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Chops City Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 980 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill, American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Description: When you want dry-aged steak and fresh fish that's all about quality with a creative twist at a great value, Chops City Grill is your place. We're upscale without being fussy. We aim to create relaxed and fun dinners. It's honest, fresh, from-scratch food that's innovative too. Simple as that. At Chops City Grill, we are proud to offer you more choices, better quality, and more value than traditional steak houses. Sip on wines from our award-winning 500-bottle wine list and collection of small-batch spirits along with the best service in town right in the heart of downtown Naples on beautiful Fifth Avenue South!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just average for 5th Ave”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everyone knows that you will pay top dollar to dine on Naples 5th Ave. so your expectations are tempered a bit however there is still a matter of service and quality of food. Regarding the quality of food, I would say Chops is barely above average and the service is ok at best however the overall value has come to a point where I think this was my last trip to Chops.

We asked for a couple of slight modifications to the menu and the answer was no…”I am not going to even ask the kitchen because I know the answer is no.” Is this service? NO! Is this the kind of response that you get from a place that charges an automatic 20% gratuity on a table of five? YES!

I was amazed to find out that Chop’s policy is “20% Gratuity Will Automatically Be Added To Parties of 5 or More.” Five of more give me a break. What the management of some restaurants in Naples does not understand is that their customers expect good service. An automatic gratuity on a table of 5 does nothing to promote good service in fact I believe it continues to reinforce this hand-out mentality becoming so common place in our society.

There are better values on Steak where the service is far better on 5th Ave. Good Bye Chops.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Here4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    189
    97
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This restaurant is a gem! The food, staff and service were fantastic. My partner and I were both so pleased with the meal and the atmosphere was classy and relaxing. Their aged steaks are perfect and the service is over the top. Try Chops in Naples and you won't be disappointed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJSJupiter_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culinary_Concepts, Public Relations Manager at Chops City Grill, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear TJSJupiter_Florida,

Thank you for your compliments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our dry aged beef. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite on Fifth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Best enjoyed in a booth because it is always bustling. Reliably excellent from steak to seafood, with interesting but not bizarre food. Habit makes me choose the oysters "chopafeller" and the steak, with a Vitamin T to start, and a nice wine from a good list. My daughter prefers Yabba's, down the street and part of this group, because it is more "fun" but I enjoy this experience more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Discriminant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culinary_Concepts, Public Relations Manager at Chops City Grill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Favorite on Fifth,
Thank you for the wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Chops City Grill in 5th Ave. down town Naples is the most consistent restaurant that I know. It's always fun to go to.They have wonderful drinks like their Cosmopolitan or they have a Margarita called Vitamin T which is amazing. They have woonderful steaks, my favourite is Porterhouse with a side of Corn Creme Brulee'. Absolutely yummy....They do great Snapper also. The wait staff are always usually very good and pleasant. I actually like the atmosphere because even if it is very busy and it usually is, it is never too noisy like some places. It has a fun Bar atmosphere also. It is definately worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank punch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culinary_Concepts, Public Relations Manager at Chops City Grill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Fun Dining Experience,
Thank you for your kind words. We want our customers to continue to come back and have the same great experience each time and it sounds like we are doing just that. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and I’ll be sure to tell Kendra (our Bar Manager) that they are making great cocktails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This was our Number One!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved it. Went twice in one week it was that good. The food was really, really tasty and service was excellent. Well looked after and the Margherita's were the best i've ever had. Don't have too many though as pretty potent. A must eatery if you stay in Naples!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culinary_Concepts, Public Relations Manager at Chops City Grill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear This was our Number One,
So glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us and to know you called us “number one” is music to our ears. Thank you! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chops City Grill also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chops City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing