We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but”

Charlena's Pizza and Pastry Shop
Ranked #383 of 987 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty but”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've ordered from Charlena's twice and the food was decent. The first time I had the stromboli which was very tasty and the marinara was great but they were very stingy with the meat and cheese, it was super thin like a calzone not what I think of when I think of strombolis.

The second time I had the meatball grinder, the meatballs were yummy but the bread had a garlic spread on it that was off putting... so much so I ended up ditching the bread and just eating the meatballs.

I will try the pizza next time since I've read good things about it. Overall I think the quality is there and the food is worth trying but it may leave you wanting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I've Had In Naples”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Excellent pizza and try the Cannolis for dessert. Fast free delivery and good prices. Really great overall.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gigilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good Pizza”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have ordered pizza twice from Charlena's over the last couple of months. Not the best pizza I have eaten but very, very good. We ordered for the family so we had one pizza with Italian sausage, mushrooms, onions and the other was pepperoni, green peppers and garlic. All the toppings were fresh and delicious. Their crust is good (NY style) thin except at the edges, crispy throughout. Have yet to have anything from the bakery case but it sure looked good. Will definitely return for carry out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Here4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was a Sunday, late afternoon and my friend and I couldn't decide where to get something to eat. I always have a hard time picking a place. So he told me to follow him and he led me to Charlena's. We both were pretty hungry and he had eaten there many times before but it was my first time at this restaurant. I don't eat a lot of pizza but was in the mood for one. We couldn't compromise on what we wanted on a pizza so we both ordered our own 12 inch pizza (both of us were able to take half of it home). I had the supreme minus the onion and peppers and he had the same minus the black olives. They were both very good. They also have a small bakery and my friend had the ricotta cheesecake which he gave me a bite and it was pretty good (I'm not much into sweets but he really liked it and ended up taking half of the piece home too). Not many tables, about 5 inside and 5 outside. More for calling ahead and take out. They staff was friendly and the menu had a lot to offer. Salads, pasta, pizza, sandwiches, desserts. Overall it was a good experience and I'm sure we will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was 2 time we were ordering pizza from Charlena's, first time it was pretty good, so we decided to order the same white pizza w/ mushrooms additional. We were very disappointed when we opened the box and saw a couple mushrooms from the can ( they were fresh 1st time) and 3 time less ricotta cheese. By the way we paid $16 for medium size pizza (12")

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valeriya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlena's Pizza and Pastry Shop also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Charlena's Pizza and Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing