We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime favorite”
Review of Cafe Normandie

Cafe Normandie
Ranked #201 of 986 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Park Shore
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lunchtime favorite”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

'Season' is almost upon us, which means the only way we will soon be able to enjoy our lunchtime favorite boite is by showing up at 11:30 a.m. or 1:15 p.m., but sometimes my craving for a pate sandwich is so intense that I brave the wait. The baguette is sliced, generously buttered, and layered with country pate and cornichons--delicious! My pal says the cheese sandwich is much greater than the sum of its parts. The ham on baguette is what a ham sandwich should be. The friande is divine! The onion soup is very good on a chilly day, and deft, as opposed to the glop that all-too-often passes for onion soup. Lunchtime service is fast and friendly. Husband and I went for dinner one time and it was very good; we will go back. Even with a plethora of good locally owned restaurants in Naples, Cafe Normandie is one we return to time and again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tangoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    47
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
609 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Delectable!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This small, authentic French dining venue sits in a small, nondescript plaza right on Tamiami Trail that is easy to miss without directions. We ate here at lunch and the menu includes delicious onion soup that is not too salty, full of onions and rich broth, and delicious croutons and cheese served by they cup or bowl. Other starters include quiche and tomato tarte. I enjoyed a new-to-me dish called a friand. This is a light and crusty flake pastry baked to a perfect crisp and filled with your choice of meat and cheese. I ordered it with chicken, mushrooms, and Brie cheese. Oh my, it was delectable!! My husband ordered one also with ham, eggs, and swiss and was equally pleased and sated with his choice. We ordered a nice bottle of French chardonnay and had a filing and delicious lunch. Other entrees at lunch include several croissant sandwiches, salads, croque monseiur, baguette sandwiches, pates, and a special or two. Desserts are inviting, but we were too full to indulge...maybe next time.
Note: dinners are totally different with mussels, foie gras, roast duck, beef bourguignon, and other selections more substantial. When we go back to Naples, we will definitely try this for dinner. Due to the small size of the restaurant, reservations are definitely recommended. (If you go in September, check to see if they are open as many places close for vacation in September).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL, SMALL, TRULY FRENCH RESTAURANT”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

WONDERFUL, SMALL, TRULY FRENCH RESTAURANT

The charming little restaurant became a favorite of ours the first time we visited. Every time we return we love it more. A delightful menu prepared by a gifted chef paired with fine service. One of (if not THE) best steaks I have EVER eaten was here. A tiny Filet Mignon you could cut with a fork… delicious. Duck, fish and seafood, you cannot go wrong with anything you choose to order.
Don’t forget lunch too. We’ve had lunch there several times and look forward to the next time.
After several visits on our own we introduced it to some friends and they are now as enthusiastic about it as we are.
I highly recommend it.
(Join their email list and they’ll email buy on get one free coupons to you.)
They have an assortment of very good wines too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good First Experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We dined at Cafe Normandie tonite for the first time and, in all, it was a pleasant experience. The food was good and the service was adequate. This is a small place so reservations are recommended. The Boeuf Bourguignon was especially good and so were the escargots. The special, veal filet mignon medallions over pasta with a mushroom cream sauce, was nothing memorable for the price (over $25). We'd probably dine there again but won't hurry back anytime soon and it probably won't be added to our list of favorite Naples dining establishments either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMoorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little bistrot”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have been to Naples several times and have been to Cafe Normandie at least 3 times. Usually for lunch. The sandwiches and salads are great and the Tarte Tatin wonderful. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChinaAquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Normandie also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing