We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Noisy, Dirty, bland food”

Cafe and Bar Lurcat
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe and Bar Lurcat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 984 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Cross street: Fifth Street
Transit: Naples Trolley Services
Description: Cafe and Bar Lurcat Naples is located in Old Naples on the very hip and urban Fifth Avenue South. The space includes 140 seat bar and lounge, 160 seat restaurant, outdoor patio with seating, and a private dining room. Cafe Lurcat has a menu that reflects the New American food movement. Our Chef reinterprets classics and creates fresh, honest preparations from seasonal, artisanal ingredients. Bar Lurcat offers an a la carte "small plates" menu available for dinner and late night dining where Guests can relax, socialize and enjoy serious wine and great food. Stop in and experience our new Voyage menu through March featuring the highlights from SouthEast Asia.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Noisy, Dirty, bland food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The place is known for their home-made cinnamon donuts...which are delicious, but you're better off going to Dunkin' Donuts than visiting this over-priced, noisy, underwhelming restaurant. We went early on a weeknight and could barely hear ourselves talk over the noise in the place. The service is ridiculously slow and, while we were waiting, we couldn't help noticing that the seats, which are covered with white, fitted sheets, were filthy. It's an appetite killer, that's for sure. Which is probably a good thing, because you don't want to spend too much on the over-priced food, which is bland. My steak was tough and flavorless, my wife's seafood was gamey and bland. The French fries were good, and the donuts were excellent. So if that's what you're into, save your money and get a large order of fries at McDonald and stop by Dunkin' Donuts for a hot dozen.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    172
    62
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Rude waitress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I made our fourth visit to Cafe Lurcat on 29th April 2013. On past visits we have enjoyed good food, good atmosphere, an good service.
Unfortunately this time we only got so far as the service and left.
We had been seated at our table and the server came to introduce herself and the specials for the evening and pointed out that we had drinks from the bar in a slightly uncomfortable tone. After a few minutes we needed the drinks replenishing and twice tried to catch her attention then on the third occasion managed to get some attention only to find it wasn't our server but another whom looked similar.....she immediately made us smile with her bubbly disposition and said she would pass our order onto our server.
Oh dear this is where it all went wrong as the original server came with the drinks and was obviously disgruntled by the fact that we had spoken to another server! I mentioned that it looked like we had upset her and that we had made this mistake as there was a resemblance between her and the other server, to which she replied that they didn't look alike. It was the most uncomfortable experience ever so we left and went to Camiello on third street where we enjoyed a relaxed evening with a happy smiling waiter.....it's not much to ask for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out for a special occasion couldn't have felt less special”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

30-40 min wait for order to be taken, after 30 mins wait for the starter the waiter told me my starter was just being cooked and should he bring out my husbands order now or wait. Finally stater arrived another 10 mins, a further 25 min wait for main and the side dishes took nearly 10 mins. We saws other tables come and go highlighted our discontent pre the starter arriving and where just told the waiter was rushed off his feet even though there was only 1/4 of the tables occupied. Not mantra dee was around, only tipped 5 bucks and that was too much. Never again. The meal came too 160 bucks and not drink or apologies offered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Sophisticated Take on Comfort Food...and Donuts Too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband Mike and I ended up at a sidewalk-side table at Cafe Lurcat, which is located on 5th Avenue in downtown Naples, on a lovely warm evening in December 2012. We took advantage of the restaurant’s early dining special, a three-course dinner for $24.95.

I started with the apple, cheese and chive salad; I was amazed at the beautiful matchstick sized medley that arrived. Mike, figuring he’d stick to something familiar, ordered a bacon, lettuce and tomato salad with blue cheese-buttermilk dressing. When his salad arrived we both admired the architecture of it all.

For our entrees I ordered the pork tenderloin with serrano-cheese grits and a a side of sauteed brussel sprouts. The savory pork loin was perfectly matched with the mild heat of the grits.
Mike ordered the brick chicken with yogurt, cucumber and marinated tomatoes;he said the chicken was incredibly moist and tender.

Dessert was easy since Cafe Lurcat is know for its warm cinnamon-sugar donuts; we got those. Warm, fragrant and oh-so-tasty, we inhaled the donuts!

If you'd like to see additional photos and information about our dining experience, please visit my blog at http://adventuresofamiddleagemom.com

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarleneMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic early meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful two story restaurant with out door area is located on 5th Ave S. a bit further west.
When our out of town guests booked a table, I thought we would blow our monthly budget. Fortunately, they and an early dinner special which included an entree and salad for about $25 each, no wine included.
Somehow we all ordered the salmon dinner. We are salmon experts and this was one of the best prepared fish we have eaten. The service was top shelf. There was no rushing to get you out. So, with a bottle of Sav. Blanc and coffee, tax and tip we spent $88. You will spend a lot more for a later diner which Ibam sure would be incredible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DCdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe and Bar Lurcat also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe and Bar Lurcat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing