We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food Service and Location”
Review of Baleen Naples

Baleen Naples
Reserve with OpenTable
Baleen Naples is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 986 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: BALEENnaples - famously known for exquisite fine dining, is the signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts, Baleen. The numerous accolades and awards for the South Florida dining at Baleen of LaPlaya have come from such well know publications as the coveted Conde Nast Traveler Gold List and the Great Hotels ranking of Travel + Leisure. Most recently, Baleen was awarded Wine Spectators Award of Excellence - Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience. Baleen spills out through the grand doors to our breathtaking terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating's at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers. The intimate beach fire pit and Baleen Bar feature a fantastic wine-by-the-glass program, as well as extensive list of martinis and classic cocktails. If Florida seafood restaurants with beautiful waterfront dining views appeal to you, Baleen, Naples will more than fill the bill. The Baleen menu selections may also be enjoyed from the comfort of your guestroom, served to you by our excellent LaPlaya Room Service staff. For the ultimate dining experience please inquire about our over the top private dinners on the beach.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Service and Location”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Covered this in my review of the LaPlaya Hotel. We loved every aspect but would like the ability to reserve outside seating. Great place for breakfast lunch or dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony0146484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi Tony,

Firstly, taking the time to review both the resort, and the restaurant is truly appreciated and we're extremely grateful. With respect to our outside seating policy, we will reserve a table on the beach for our guests if you're willing to eat from a set menu. We offer two tiers of set menus for our "beach dinners" and I’d be happy to email you the information at your request. Please reach out to me personally if you're ever back in town and would like to dine on the beach with us.

Take care,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    243
    110
    56
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant and experience! Meat eaters must try the filet- it melts in your mouth. The seafood is fresh and the presentation of all entrees was exquisite. The cookie jar dessert with edible sand was a great treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi Karlilynn,

Thank you for the wonderful review! The title "fantastic food, excellent service" means the world to us and we really couldn't be more grateful. Just as we take the occasional negative review to heart and use it as an opportunity to learn from our shortcomings, we celebrate each 5 star review as a tremendous victory. You're words have a remarkable impact on our spirit and keep our energy and passion running strong.

Thank you!

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere & Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The view and atmosphere were great. We enjoyed beautiful sunsets here while we dined on well prepared and delicious food. The service was great. When we became chilled, beautiful heaters were turned on to keep us warm while enjoying the beautiful ocean.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Verbin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Good afternoon,

We just wanted to reach out and thank you for the wonderful review! Enjoying our world class sunsets while dining on the beach is a big part of the Naples culture and we're extremely pleased that you and your guests enjoyed themselves! Thanks again for sharing your experience with us and Trip Advisor community. We sincerely appreciate your business!

Take care,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The good and the not so good”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The good was our server,Danielle ,who was very helpful explaining some of the dishes and helping with the wine list.although I wanted white Zinfindel and non were on the list.My appetizer was a recommendation from Danielle and it was superb ( the goat cheese) My husband opted for the soup ( a tomato vegetable ) Just so so.We both ordered the flank steak medium for our entree and it was good and nicely presented but no steak knife was provided.I ordered the upside down pineapple cake for dessert and my husband ordered the strawberry cheesecake .We were not enamored with either one.
A rose was presented to me and a picture taken as it was our 50 th anniversary.Although the picture did not come out great it was a lovely touch that we appreciated.

Now for the bad---We were staying at the hotel for a few days and stopped at the restaurant upon arriving to make a reservation for the following evening which was the date of our 50 th anniversary. I requested
A time of 7-7:45 pm with a PREFERENCE to be seated outside but since the weather was to be iffy I said we would take inside for that same timeframe.I was told all that was available was 5:30 or 8:30pm.I explained the special occasion and suddenly was told they had a 6:30 which I reluctantly agreed to.I called again 3 times to see if anything had opened up for our desired time only to be told no. We arrived at 6:30 to be seated indoors and we were the only couple inside until about 7:00 when 2 or 3 more couples arrived.For the rest of the evening there were empty tables indoors.
Why were we not offered the time slot we wanted I will never know but unfortunately we cannot take back our 50 th anniversary dinner and although we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel I doubt we would eat here again.

We did have buffet breakfast here both days of our stay and it was ok but surpringly no Mimosa or
Bloody Mary was included considering this was a $50 for 2 breakfast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Good evening Harriette,

We were very happy to hear you spend your 50th anniversary with us, but ultimately, it seems like we didn't fully meet your expectations. When it comes to special occasions of such incredible significance, we understand that our guests want everything to go perfectly, and I couldn't empathize with you more. Our hearts go out to you and your husband for achieving what so many of us aspire to live up to in this short life, and frankly, I’m very concerned with how our hostesses handled the situation. We’ve already addressed the entire staff with respect to your review and we'll do our very best, moving forward, to ensure our staff goes above and beyond at all costs. From my understanding, it looks like you live in Fort Lauderdale and probably don't get to come this way very often. However, if you do decide to join us again, I would ask that you contact me directly so our team has an opportunity to make things right.

Thank you

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
606 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Beachfront Breakfast”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

After an early morning walk on the beach, we stopped by Baleen at the LaPlaya Resort for breakfast. Open seating was available so we chose an outdoor table with a magnificent water view. Nice breezes, manicured grounds, and soft music in the background made for a pleasant start to our day.

I chose the brioche French toast with coconut butter and roasted pineapple. It was sweet but filling. My spouse had a pulled pork and ham Benedict minus the egg and a tall glass of orange juice and enjoyed it so much that he said he would order it again.

Our service was just right...not too overbearing yet attentive. A nice choice for seaside dining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Good afternoon my local friends,

Life is good, isn't it!? Our locals are some of the friendliest and most wonderful people we have the pleasure of serving. We wouldn't be who we are without all the outstanding local support, and we can't thank you enough for the great review. A leisurely morning stroll on the beach, the refreshing sun kissed breeze coupled with the peaceful resonance of the ocean waves breaking and an order of French toast brioche is enough to brighten up most anyone’s day right!? Thanks again for strolling on up to our little restaurant on the beach.

Take care,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baleen Naples also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baleen Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing