We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night”
Review of Baleen Naples

Baleen Naples
Reserve with OpenTable
Baleen Naples is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 987 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: BALEENnaples - famously known for exquisite fine dining, is the signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts, Baleen. The numerous accolades and awards for the South Florida dining at Baleen of LaPlaya have come from such well know publications as the coveted Conde Nast Traveler Gold List and the Great Hotels ranking of Travel + Leisure. Most recently, Baleen was awarded Wine Spectators Award of Excellence - Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience. Baleen spills out through the grand doors to our breathtaking terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating's at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers. The intimate beach fire pit and Baleen Bar feature a fantastic wine-by-the-glass program, as well as extensive list of martinis and classic cocktails. If Florida seafood restaurants with beautiful waterfront dining views appeal to you, Baleen, Naples will more than fill the bill. The Baleen menu selections may also be enjoyed from the comfort of your guestroom, served to you by our excellent LaPlaya Room Service staff. For the ultimate dining experience please inquire about our over the top private dinners on the beach.
Murfreesboro
2 reviews
“Perfect night”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our second visit. First time the restaurant was slower ( off season) service and attention was excellent. So for a special occasion we picked Baleen again. Dinner at sunset was beautiful all the food was delicious even the valet were attentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Candi

What a sweet review! Thank you so much for choosing to dine with us again! It’s a wonderful feeling when our guests enjoy themselves so much, they come back with friends and family. We’re tremendously honored by your review and extremely gracious that you took the time to write it! We’re looking forward to the opportunity to serve you and your guests again.

Take care,

Joe Britz | Baleen restaurant manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    244
    111
    56
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Worst food in Naples”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We just came back from a dinner for 2. We had the most disappointing dinner we've had in a very long time. We chose the fixed menu for $39. The ratatouille appetizer was so unflavourful that we had to send it back. We were able to have it replaced with a Cesar salad and tomato soup. They were both awful, but we didn't feel like sending them back again. We asked the flank steak medium rare and received it rare. It was extremely chewy. The dessert was also a joke: some fruits on a sugar cookie. We ended up paying $150 and felt completely ripped off. You pay for the location and definitely not for the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NutellaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good evening,

Firstly, I’d like to thank you for your review. Although your evaluation isn’t typical of what our guest’s experience, we’ll certainly look into the specifics of your assessment and take steps to ensure our food is exceptionally consistent and remains in line with our guest’s high expectations. We want you to know (as well as the rest of our Trip Advisor community) that whether you’ve reviewed a thousand restaurants or only one… we take all of our guest’s criticism very seriously, and we’ll do our best to impress you, should you decide to join us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joe Britz | Baleen restaurant manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Lousy Food Service”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had dinner reservations this past Saturday evening. When we arrived were told that we would need to wait for 30 minutes. This was not a big deal. However, we were then told that a table would not be available on the veranda and were then led to what appeared to be a card table on the front lawn. Even worse, the wind was gusting to 15-20 miles per hour causing things to fly off the table. This should never have happened. After about 20 minutes we asked to be moved inside. We were amazed that an upscale dining facility (and expensive at that) would put us in this position. I might add that one other couple adjacent to us on the lawn also asked to move. One would expect more from a what is purported to be a professionally run organization. I'm sure this might be an exception to general rules but it made for a lousy evening after spending $400 on dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H6727ZMRobert_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Robert,

Let me start by apologizing for what seemed to be a somewhat unpleasant night. We understand that your expectations were obviously very high and it sounds like the weather really turned on us. I wish you would have brought your frustrations to a manager’s attention before things got out of hand. We would have done our very best to ensure you were satisfied with your accommodations. Once again, please accept our apologies for not recognizing your frustrations and anticipating your needs more effectively.

Take care.

Joe Britz | Baleen restaurant manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing view and service”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Baleen in the exclusive La Playa private club. They do offer social memberships for a whopping $60k a year. They are, however, presently sold out of social memberships.
It's pretty ridiculously amazing. The restaurant, private club, bar, and fire pit areas are all overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The view is worth the price.
$28 for a gin martini and cosmo at the bar. Dinner was around about $200 for two.
We had the lamb stand with lentils and sea scallops with chorizo polenta. Both were exquisite.
The only bad thing is that if you are not a club member, or someone know to the bartenders, good luck getting a drink. We waited 15 minutes, while they 2 bartenders waited on every single person who came up around, or even behind us. If the food wasn't so good, I don't think I would go back. I have been there previously with members, and the staff absolutely fawns over you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tristam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Tristan,

Thank you very much for taking some time to review our restaurant. The Baleen team was very happy that you and your guests enjoyed your overall dining experience; however, we were extremely concerned with your experience at the bar. Although I understand the perception of members getting better service, we sincerely strive to give all our guests the same exceptional service and we’ll certainly be investigating the incident. Please accept our apologies and give us another try. I’m sure we’ll do a better job.

Sincerely,

Joe Britz | Baleen restaurant manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Exceptional"”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had high expectations of Baleen after reading the many reviews. Even though we had reserved a table outdoors, it was just a too windy and cool of an evening. They graciously accommodated us indoors on a very busy Sunday night.
Our waitress was a jewel, and I wish I could remember her name. For a girl who was getting married the Tuesday following, she was exceptionally focused on providing us flawless service. We both had Caesar salads which were unbelievably fresh and the anchovies some of the best I've ever tasted. The snapper filet was cooked perfectly and was served on the most amazing creamed boniato. I highly recommend giving it a try. My husband's steak was slightly underdone and I thought here we go again, eating separately. But our waitress was there to check on everything within a minute after our food was served. And then the manager was by within a minute after her returning the steak to the kitchen to offer his apology.
This attention to detail and level of service is what truly sets Baleen apart. We can not wait to return on our next trip to Naples and hopefully be able to enjoy the gorgeous outdoor terrace.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winnipeg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Good Afternoon!

Firstly, we'd like to thank you for writing such a wonderfully detailed review, and highlighting some of the menu items you enjoyed. Chef Carlos and Chef Derek are two extremely passionate and driven individuals who pour themselves into their work, and they'll be very pleased to read about your dining experience.
We're very happy that we were able to make things right with respect to the slightly undercooked steak and even happier that you found our level of service and recovery to be exceptional. Based on your description, we believe you're talking about Brooke, who was very recently married. As one of our newer associates, we're very proud that she was able to have such a positive impact on your dining experience and we'll absolutely reward her for her efforts.
This outstanding review is extremely helpful in such a restaurant driven town and we certainly appreciate it. Please tell your friends and family about your dining experience and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of serving you and your guests again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baleen Naples also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baleen Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing