We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Exceptional"”
Review of Baleen Naples

Baleen Naples
Reserve with OpenTable
Baleen Naples is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,012 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: BALEENnaples - famously known for exquisite fine dining, is the signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts, Baleen. The numerous accolades and awards for the South Florida dining at Baleen of LaPlaya have come from such well know publications as the coveted Conde Nast Traveler Gold List and the Great Hotels ranking of Travel + Leisure. Most recently, Baleen was awarded Wine Spectators Award of Excellence - Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience. Baleen spills out through the grand doors to our breathtaking terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating's at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers. The intimate beach fire pit and Baleen Bar feature a fantastic wine-by-the-glass program, as well as extensive list of martinis and classic cocktails. If Florida seafood restaurants with beautiful waterfront dining views appeal to you, Baleen, Naples will more than fill the bill. The Baleen menu selections may also be enjoyed from the comfort of your guestroom, served to you by our excellent LaPlaya Room Service staff. For the ultimate dining experience please inquire about our over the top private dinners on the beach.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had high expectations of Baleen after reading the many reviews. Even though we had reserved a table outdoors, it was just a too windy and cool of an evening. They graciously accommodated us indoors on a very busy Sunday night.
Our waitress was a jewel, and I wish I could remember her name. For a girl who was getting married the Tuesday following, she was exceptionally focused on providing us flawless service. We both had Caesar salads which were unbelievably fresh and the anchovies some of the best I've ever tasted. The snapper filet was cooked perfectly and was served on the most amazing creamed boniato. I highly recommend giving it a try. My husband's steak was slightly underdone and I thought here we go again, eating separately. But our waitress was there to check on everything within a minute after our food was served. And then the manager was by within a minute after her returning the steak to the kitchen to offer his apology.
This attention to detail and level of service is what truly sets Baleen apart. We can not wait to return on our next trip to Naples and hopefully be able to enjoy the gorgeous outdoor terrace.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank winnipeg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Good Afternoon!

Firstly, we'd like to thank you for writing such a wonderfully detailed review, and highlighting some of the menu items you enjoyed. Chef Carlos and Chef Derek are two extremely passionate and driven individuals who pour themselves into their work, and they'll be very pleased to read about your dining experience.
We're very happy that we were able to make things right with respect to the slightly undercooked steak and even happier that you found our level of service and recovery to be exceptional. Based on your description, we believe you're talking about Brooke, who was very recently married. As one of our newer associates, we're very proud that she was able to have such a positive impact on your dining experience and we'll absolutely reward her for her efforts.
This outstanding review is extremely helpful in such a restaurant driven town and we certainly appreciate it. Please tell your friends and family about your dining experience and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of serving you and your guests again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 784 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

The outdoor seating with a view of the ocean and sunset set the stage for a wonderful special occasion meal. When I reserved the table, I made a note that it was my husband's birthday. From the moment we got there, they treated him special. They brought a long stem rose to the table and ended the meal with a "Happy Birthday" written on the dessert plate, plus a candle. In between, the crab cake appetizer was filled with crab, not breading. The grouper was cooked to perfection on the farro. The yellowtail snapper sat atop a slightly sweet mashed yucca. All in all, amazing scenery, attentive service, and delicious food. This place was recommended by friends who live in the area, and we are grateful they sent us there.

Thank groupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hi!

Thank you so much for spending your husbands Birthday with us! We couldn't be more pleased that we exceeded your expectations, and we're so grateful that you chose Baleen when you had so many options for dining in the area :D
The fact that friends recommended Baleen is a tremendous victory for our team, and we sincerely hope you'll recommend us to your friends in the future.
From all of us here in Baleen as well as La Playa Beach & Golf Resort, we wholeheartedly thank you for giving us all a reason to celebrate!

Take care!

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fantastic view of sunset over the gulf. Outstanding wine list pairs well with the food. Something for seafood lovers and non-seafood lovers as well. For a special dinner, Baleen's combination of views, service, wine, and well prepared food is hard to beat.

1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi JW,

Let me tell you... your review just warmed our hearts here in Baleen. Recognizing our commitment to great food and exceptional service in the way you did, is a wonderful reminder that we're doing a good job! Guests like you keep us all passionately inspired to remain focused and stay on point no matter how busy it gets.
We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your guests in the future.

Take care,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Valet park (free, just tell them you are dining, and tip well on your way out), walk through Baleen Restaurant, order a coconut martini at the bar, and head out the french doors to the beach fire pit area for a wonderful sunset. Drinks were expensive, but the view and ambiance are priceless!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank mangs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Good afternoon,

We're very pleased that you enjoyed yourself while you were here, but wish you'd have found more value during your visit. We do offer $5 mojitos & margaritas every day between 5pm-8pm. Our light fair menu also offers a bit more value while still providing an exceptional variety of foods to choose from. We now have four community style fire pits and offer private beach side fire pits for between $250-$350. If you need any more info, please feel free to reach out to me so we may better assist you during your next visit.

Thank you!

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have been to Baleen several times, both for lunch and dinner, and it has always been a delightful experience. What is not to like about the setting and ambience? This is one of the few places in Naples where you can savor the Gulf while dining, and the crowd is sophisticated and fun, so the people-watching is entertaining, too. Excellent service seems the standard, but the food just misses the mark. For example, I ordered snapper on our visit there last week, and it was overcooked. My husband had the same complaint about his fish. Everything else was good, but...not great, and this is especially disappointing, given the hefty prices.
Still, given the plethora of Naples restaurants with overrated food and prices, we would head back to this delightful spot time and time again. It is definitely a "must do" when you are in Naples.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi Elena,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's completely understandable that you set the bar high with respect to your expectations. We care a great deal about each and every guest, and had you brought your issues to a managers attention, we would have worked diligently to right the situation as quickly as possible. At the end of the day, we want to make sure that our guests have a memorable dining experience, but also percieve value based on our exceptional food, passionate level of service and our beautiful beach setting. Please accept our apologies regarding your comments on the food. We'll certainly share your review with Chef Carlos and take immediate steps to ensure a greater level of consistency in our product.

Take care,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baleen Naples also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baleen Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing