We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Atmosphere, Great Food, Wonderful Service”
Review of Baleen Naples

Baleen Naples
Ranked #34 of 992 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: BALEENnaples - famously known for exquisite fine dining, is the signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts, Baleen. The numerous accolades and awards for the South Florida dining at Baleen of LaPlaya have come from such well know publications as the coveted Conde Nast Traveler Gold List and the Great Hotels ranking of Travel + Leisure. Most recently, Baleen was awarded Wine Spectators Award of Excellence - Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience. Baleen spills out through the grand doors to our breathtaking terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating's at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers. The intimate beach fire pit and Baleen Bar feature a fantastic wine-by-the-glass program, as well as extensive list of martinis and classic cocktails. If Florida seafood restaurants with beautiful waterfront dining views appeal to you, Baleen, Naples will more than fill the bill. The Baleen menu selections may also be enjoyed from the comfort of your guestroom, served to you by our excellent LaPlaya Room Service staff. For the ultimate dining experience please inquire about our over the top private dinners on the beach.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I could stop with the title and that should entice anyone to try this excellent restaurant. This was my third time at the Baleen and it just keeps getting better. My companion and I both chose the set meal ($39). We started with clam chowder that was superb. Great separation of taste - must have been made with ham hocks in the pot. It was perfect and the portion was more than adequate. The entree was grouper, again a thick, generous portion on a bed of vegetables. It was hot and had a great crisp outer texture and deliciously tender, perfectly moist fillet.

The grouper was unique, I have a hard time describing the flavors but it was really flavorful without being salty or otherwise over spiced. We ended with pumpkin cheesecake and that matched the quality of the entree and soup.

Great service, being very attentive but not interruptive.

For me, this wonderful, romantic atmosphere, great food, attentive service and best of all a beautiful and charming date made this one of my best meals in a few years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Al Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the thorough review. Our Chefs work diligently to create a $39 prefix menu that offers both value & delicious high quality food. The service team takes pride in providing excellent service without seeming intrusive. We sincerely appreciate your business and the time you took to write this wonderfully vivid review. Thanks for sharing your experience!
Thank you!

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@Laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Baleen Naples
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 823 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Baleen restaurant has a beautiful setting on the beach, excellent service and great gourmet food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Short and sweet… I love it… In response, We take a lot of pride in maintaining the cleanliness of our restaurant and surrounding property. Of course we have an initial training program for our new staff, However, we strive to discuss service techniques and critique ourselves every day during our pre-shift meeting. Chef Carlos and culinary team are doing an outstanding job, and it really inspires them when they read such terrific reviews! When our guests take the time to review our restaurant, it completely justifies and gratifies the time we take to keep the gears turning here in Baleen.

Thank you!

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@Laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had two dinners at Baleen. Both nights outside under the stars. They have many high-end outdoor heaters to make sure every table is warm. The food was excellent, as was the service. Nice wine selection by the bottle and by the glass. Notable dinner selections were; lobster bisque, tomato burrata salad, fresh ceviche, tartare, and local fish.

1  Thank MalvernDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

As crazy as it sounds, it does get cold here from time to time right!? Our local, seasonal and vacationing guests really appreciate the heaters this time of year, and we pride ourselves on being able to anticipate our guests needs… so it’s a win\win when we’re recognized for it! Thank You!
Thanks for acknowledging our commitment to outstanding food and service as well. Just as we use our “less than favorable” reviews as learning tools to help us improve upon ourselves and guest service techniques… we sit back and cherish the great ones!

Thanks for giving us all reason to celebrate today!

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@Laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This has always been one of my favorite spots in Naples. This past weekend it became the MOST favorite. My fiancé proposed on the beach at La Playa, followed by a beautiful dinner at Baleen. Our server Rob was amazing and even topped off our dinner with a dessert plate adorned with "congratulations" in chocolate. The food is always good, no exceptions. The service is spectacular and the views are unbeatable. Make a reservation, valet your car and leave all of your worries behind because this place is paradise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Wow! Thanks for the lovely comments on the quality of our food and service! I’ll be sure to share the kudos with Rob for his attention to detail, and the culinary team for continuing to raise the bar here at Baleen. From the looks of the review it sounds like you said yes! Congratulations and Thanks for letting us be a part of it. Looking forward to the opportunity to serve you as a married couple :-)

Take care,

Joe Britz | Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@Laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Glenn was a perfect host as we ate beachside our first time in Naples. His timing was great, the food preparation was terrific. We had a wonderful evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LotusFlower91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Your short & very sweet review is a true testament to our core values and our passion to succeed. Glenn, Chef Carlos and the rest of our culinary & service staff thank you for taking the time to recognize our commitment to the industry and look forward to our opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Joe Britz |Baleen Restaurant Manager
Jbritz@laplayaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baleen Naples also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baleen Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing