We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, delightful, cheery, delicious? YES, YES, YES, AND YES!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips

Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips
Ranked #21 of 979 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Small, delightful, cheery, delicious? YES, YES, YES, AND YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Have dinner here tonight. Really. Do it. Too late for dinner? Then go have lunch here tomorrow. Kelly and Natalie were working the dining area, keeping us entertained. Eating here is like sitting in a friend's kitchen, and you may soon find yourself laughing and talking with the tables near you. You won't mind that it's small, unless there's a wait, which there's been in the past. Easier to get into now that June has rolled around, but when it's full of snowbirds here, forget it.
You cannot go wrong with the crabcake or shrimp, but if you're eating here, you'd better try the grouper!!
It's always an excellent cut, and you can get as few as one piece or keep going.
They also make a heavenly garlic bread that is better than some of the Italian restaurants around here!
If you go with Natalie and Kelly working, I'd also be surprised if you ever had to ask for a drink refill.
One of our favorite places.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoWheelsOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    126
    40
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach
Level Contributor
358 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Small but mighty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I dropped by for lunch based on a recommendation from the folks at the Naples airport. It's small but bright and cherry. Looks like a "locals" kind of place. Located in a strip center that you could easily miss (we almost did!). The food is delicious accompanied by excellent service. Not much room so expect a little frantic activity as the server rushes from table to table but this is not the kind of place to linger during the busy lunch hour. Just go for the fresh fish. Non of that frozen fishy taste. The frying was crispy and not over breaded. Good cole slaw too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ultrapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family favorite in Naples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have been eating at this restaurant for over 17 years when we visit. It is a hole-in-the-wall, but don't let the appearance fool you. Their grouper baskets and linguine with blackened grouper or mahi with vegetables are fantastic! There is very little seating, so go early are on a weeknight. We even like to get take out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cgrubbs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great grouper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Food and service was excellent. My husband had grouper fish tacos. I had the grouper platter which consisted of one piece fried and one piece blackened with linguine. Everything was wonderful. We will be back. Best piece of grouper we have had in Florida in 9 years.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Down home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you are looking for fresh fish done your way, and you enjoy a good meal with no frills, try this! Inside is tiny with only 6 or 7 tables. Outside there area few tables that face a fairly busy street, so we Won't give high grades for ambiance, but the food is notable. Plastic baskets for plates, but real utensils!
We had grouper Cajun style, grilled and shrimp. Fries were good and grouper was nicely done, although I would order the larger choice next time.
We just went in May, and imagine during "the season" the place is packed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing