We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, Great Food”
Review of Bistro 821

Bistro 821
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 821 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 987 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: 2016 Is Bistro 821's 22nd year in business. All these years we have prided ourselves as being the Small Locally Owned Bistro on 5th Ave South. Friendly service, excellent food and a great atmosphere are our specialties. Don't Miss the Miso Saki Sea Bass or Thai Spiced Snapper if you Like Fish, or The Ribeye Steak or Pot Roast for the Meat and Potato lovers.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good service, Great Food”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have eaten here many times as it is a family favorite. When we have differing ideas for dinner, we usually go to Bistro 821 as they have a great menu offering a variety of pasta, seafood and beef/pork/foul dishes. The appetizers are also great, we had the Hot and Bubbly Crab Dip…yum! The Crispy Calamari or Crispy Ahi Roll are also outstanding. At my last visit I ordered the Seafood Risotto it was hot, bountiful and very tasty. My wife had the Day Boat Scallops off the daily special menu and enjoyed it very much.

Service is always good. Management does their best to accommodate your needs and always greets us with a smile. If you want an enjoyable meal on 5th Ave, you cannot go wrong with Bistro 821.
We have eaten here many times as it is a family favorite

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Here4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    322
    93
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Everything was very good”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went for the summer special, around $32 for two, along with a bottle of wine. If you don't want the wine that is included any other bottle of wine is 1/2 off. The food was very good. We had fish, and a great bottle of wine half off. Service was excellent, the restaurant is clean and cute. Will go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Place on Fifth Avenue”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been to Bistro 821 a two times, once for its early wine and dine dinner and another for a dinner where we ordered off the menu. All times the food and service was exceptional. Two us had the coconut, ginger snapper which was delicious. Other times I have had the miso roasted sea bass and the Filet Mignon--all great! Our server was excellent (don't remember his name but he is the one who serves at the front of the restaurant) and very entertaining--I have had him all times we've been there. It is a very popular spot so you need to make reservations (even in the summer which speaks highly to how well regarded it is). It can be wonderful to sit outside and people watch along 5th. Would highly recommend this place--you will not be disappointed>

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jvb1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“excellent meal spoiled by the cooking!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This highly recommended place partly lived up to expectation.
This was our first evening meal. It is on Fifth Street South. We joined at starters of calamari and gorgonzola and pear salad – this was incredible although there was too much calamari. Mrs Lyon had a divine dish – stir fry prawns – lots of prawns and very tasty. Mine was a disappointment– seafood risotto (poor despite the mounds of seafood) the rice was overcooked and I eventually left it. Mrs Lyon had also been served a portion of overcooked rice. For such a well recommended restaurant they need to learn how to cook rice, but I appreciate we may have been unlucky and this may have been a ‘one off’. The cost including wine came to $115.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevelyonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Owner at Bistro 821, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience. I will have a meeting with the management on duty to find out why they did not
Fix any of your kitchen issues. Certainly we make errors like anyone else. It's not often we can't make the dish correctly for you,
When we do make mistakes, my service staff should make things right. Very disappointed that we didn't catch this problem.
My apologies.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“So good we ate here both nights”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The staff and food were both excellent. There is a very good specials menu which is excellent value. Good food great wine both nights.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank glimpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 821 also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bistro 821? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing