We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as it used to be...”
Review of Mangrove Cafe

Mangrove Cafe
Ranked #115 of 990 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Description: Mangrove Cafe is the longest existing restaurant on Naples' famed 5th Ave South. The discriminating restaurant is known for its quality fresh local seafood, especially their signature dish sweet and Sour Snapper and creative Global Comfort Cuisine. Mangrove's motto, Think Global, Eat Local, is uniquely presented on its menu and Wine Spectator Award-winning wine list. You'll appreciate the flawless service and recognize your server; they've been there for years. Check out our website for our current menu and pricing. Like us on Facebook for news, updates and upgrade dinner specials
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as it used to be...”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I remember back ten years ago when the Mangrove Cafe was a delight. The food was wonderful, the wait staff friendly, and the wine list long and interesting. Oh my. Now it is incredibly crowded and they offer these dinner specials that is taking a toll on the quality of the food overall. I ordered a pasta dish that was advertised as coming with meat and it had so little meat that I forgot what it was supposed to be. I ended up taking the rigatoni home and upgrading it myself. My husband ordered a veal dish, which similarly had only two pieces of veal. Really disappointing. The wait staff was so busy that they could barely even smile. Even the bartender was unfriendly. It used to be the highlight of our visit to Naples to visit this restaurant. Won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarianaWhitmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    153
    56
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cold food.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here three times. The food is just okay, but service is usually good. We both got different dishes served and both were cold. They were sent went back to heat and when returned the plates were so hot, it actually burned my finger. The waiter said it was hot, but...way too hot to serve to a person! Their early bird dinner is sparse and the wine just passable. I don't think we will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boardwalk250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and deal”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is difficult to beat Mangrove Cafe's dinner deal for 2. Your choice are the entire menu. Nice atmosphere, but can be a bit noisy. Outdoor dining is an option. Food is excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner, dined outside - great people watching. Awesome snapper dinner, my husband and I got two great dinners and a bottle of wine with their special for a great value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank miablue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“ondayLovely food and great value”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

You really need to be aware in N America - portions are huge, so sharing is order of the day for us Europeans. The food wastage is massive in USA (Which is an issue) However food & service brilliant on this 5th Ave restaurant + not a rip off. Go for the special (closed Mondays)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Cafe also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mangrove Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing