We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sets a new high bar for Naples' restaurants”
Review of Osteria Tulia

Osteria Tulia
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Tulia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 988 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Osteria Tulia is Naples, Florida's first osteria, serving exquisitely prepared Italian peasant cuisine in the ambiance of a lovingly restored Italian farmhouse. Osteria Tulia is the vision of Sicilian-born Chef/Partner Vincenzo Betulia, a long-time Old Naples chef whose flavorful dishes have earned top culinary accolades and a passionate international following.
Naples, Fla.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sets a new high bar for Naples' restaurants”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Blown away. Sophisticated and rustic with hip, professional energy and staff. The "peasant cuisine" of the chef Vincenzo Betulia is fresh and contemporary. They make their own cheese, sausage, pasta. The quality of flavor and genius combinations of ingredients will spoil you forever!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heartoflightness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    199
    76
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coral springs
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superbly fresh prepared dishes”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Honest value on the 5th in naples
Excellent fresh prepared appetizers at 4pm and genuine honest food for dinner at 8pm.
Rustic romantic atmosphere, great service and very friendly staff incl. the gm who came to our table after dinner. Just a great experience, will definitely go back at our next Naples visit.
Outstanding... Best experience in naples with all the restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsch33071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It was Poor and Great...”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I wish Trip Advisor had half & 3/4 stars!! I would probably go 3 if it were left to our dinner experience, but lunch was a 5, so going middle of the road on this.

We went twice oddly enough while staying in Naples. The couple we went with had a great lunch experience prior to us getting there and so we went with them for dinner. It was not memorable- only the $450 check was memorable in a regretable way. We all had different dishes. The pastas were poor to average and the Waiter, who was very good, raved about them- complete oversell. I had the ravioli with poached lobster and it was poor at best. The lobster was cut up and tasted like rubber band balls. The pasta was over salted, oily and bad. The meatballs: meh. The only stand out were the rice balls for an ap. Everything else was a pass for me as well as the others including the raved about brussle sprouts that I make much better at home. They were really greasy and mushy and the sausage was mushy. No texture at all. The wines are overpriced. We ordered the same wines at Nemo the following night for 35% less. ugh.

Our friends were determined that we were going to have their experience so they talked us in to going back for lunch. SO GLAD we did!! The waitress, Southern and awesome told us that the Butter Burger was the best burger ever, and it was! I had the rustic pizza, very good; anything with a sunny side up egg gets my vote. The other stand out was the Burata salad with fresh peach- utter YUM! The lunch was also pricey but well worth it.

I would say this is a rustic kitchen trying to be a gourmet, high end restaurant with prices to match when they should just own the fact that they are a great rustic kitchen and lower the prices and the oversell by the waiters for things they really don't do well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, not great!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would put this restaurant in the middle of Naples area Italian restaurants in terms of food quality/preparation. Service was just okay with the table setup causing one member of our party to continually having her chair bumped, without any recognition by the staff of the inconvenience. Food selection was as generally expected for a " rustic" Italian restaurant. The veal parm was the least popular dish, while the others seemed to be good. Wine selection was ok, but they were out of two of our selections.
Overall decent but Naples area has better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sauce Picky”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As an Italian, I normally tend to stay away from Italian restaurants because no one can make sauce like Mom and Grandma can. It takes a lot of love, care and the right ingredients to do it right and most places just don't have the time or the knowledge.

I was pleasantly surprised when the gnocchi I ordered came out with a thick, rich meat sauce that was done really a joy for the senses! It's one of those plates that you would love to leave a little to take home, but your mouth won't allow it! That, along with the personality of our server and the beautiful location on 5th Ave. will have us coming back for more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paluztv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Tulia also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Osteria Tulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing