We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Local's Perspective”

Collier County Museums
Ranked #35 of 122 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nestled on five acres of native Florida landscaping, our flagship museum at the County Government center in Naples offers newly created exhibits and galleries that capture the full panorama of local history. Pack a picnic and linger a while in the museum's shady backyard. Then do a little exploring on your own in our native gardens, restored Naples cottages, the archaeology lab, Seminole village or Calusa Indian camp. Enlarged twice, the museum's main gallery offers over 10,000 square feet of new displays, plus a traveling exhibit room, lecture hall, and gift shop.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Local's Perspective”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Small museum within the courthouse compound - interesting but shouldn't take more than an hour or two, maybe less, depending on whether you read every little thing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustMe34116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    41
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and history for the whole family!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great exhibits and the tour guides are so friendly and knowledgeable.
A must see while visiting Naples, FL.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small but lots of FL history”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Right when we walked in there were two volunteers to greet us and answer any questions we may have. They offered assistance on where things were located. We went here to view the Clyde Butcher photo exhibit of Cuba. The exhibit was small but very informative and of course had beautiful photographs taken by him. The exhibits change regularly so make sure you check out what is being featured at the time you visit. We also decided to just peek at the rest of the museum. We enjoyed the Florida history room just as you walked in to the right. Lots of neat artifacts and information. We explored the outside a little bit but were short on time so did not see all there was to offer. This would be a fun place to take people to learn about Collier County and FL history. Best of all it was all FREE!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunsetwinewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must go and see”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Located in a beautiful park this museum tells the story of Florida in a very pleasant and ludic manner - don't miss the FLorida Days as it is a must go

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Raise that IQ”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hit this museum to learn the basics of the counties history or take your time and pick up some fun more detailed info. The museum offers great special programs monthly in season and also puts together a fun and education Old Florida Days Festival. This is a little gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collier County Museums also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Collier County Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing