We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

LaPlaya Golf Course
Ranked #40 of 178 Outdoor Activities in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Private Golf Club with Resort access features an 18-hole, par 72, 6,907-yard championship layout with driving range, practice area and beautiful views of the course from the clubhouse veranda & patio areas.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Although the course was not in tip top condition with the greens being aerated whilst we were there, I couldn't fault the friendliness and warm welcome offered by all the staff. We received a friendly greeting from the cart staff, the pro shop staff were very helpful but a special mention should be given to Anne and Debbie in the bar/restaurant.
They made us feel at home as soon as we arrived and the food was of a very high standard. Our trip was not just about the golf and the 19th hole is certainly one we would recommend. We even made a point to stop off on our way to the airport on our last day for lunch and a friendly farewell.
This was our second visit in two years and when we come back to Naples we will definitely return to LaPlaya.
Jeff and Julie Grimes plus Trevor

Thank cobwebHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Jeff, Julie & Trevor,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit and review of your August 2013 golf experience.
We are delighted to hear about your time spent here; the positive sense of welcome, and for naming Anne & Debbie to the All-Star Hospitality team! I will glad to pass along your kind comments to the entire team.
We look forward to your return visit soon, in the meantime wishing you great golfing for the reminder of the year.

Kindest regards,
Alan F.
G.M. Golf Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Every aspect of my experience with this course could not have been more perfect. From booking, to bag drop off, to pro shop greeting, and naturally...THE GOLF COURSE! I've never been so eager to get home to a computer and leave a review then I have after playing La Playa. I live in South Florida and golf once a week at countless courses from rinky-dink exec courses all the way to the Blue Monster and I can honestly say that La Playa is the best course I've ever played.

Amazing service. Beautiful course(even during aeration!!!). Oh, and I played pretty well too :)

Thanks La Playa!!!

-Dave M.

Thank HostwTheMost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Dave,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit & review.
Delighted to hear about your time spent here; and you shot well too, always a bonus!
We look forward to your return visit soon, in the meantime wishing you great golfing for the rest of the year.
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and 2 sons golfed here the morning after we arrived. The hotel concierge had booked tee time in advance for us.
"A beautiful course to play" said by all 3 of them. I drove the golf cart for one son and enjoyed the lovely scenery.
Sons spotted a baby turtle during their round

Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Fiona,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit, review & chauffeured 'buggie' duties!
Delighted to hear about the family time spent enjoying the outdoors here, and you managed to drive on the 'right side' of the golf course too!
We look forward to your return visit to Naples soon; in the meantime wishing you and family safe travels back to Edinburgh, (Hibs or Hearts?) and great golfing for the rest of the year.
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently played the course and was paired up with a couple of very nice members. I'm a 14 handicap and I found the course to be challenging but very fair. Lots of water, so course mamangement is a must. I'd say 1/3 of the greens had areas that were marked off as unplayable. The members told me they lost them due to heavy rain. That probably explains why the greens were sooooo slow -- easily the slowest greens I've ever played on. I wish the hotel would have told me about the conditions of the greens because I would have never booked the golf package. I only played one round because the thought of putting up with those greens again wasn't worth the aggravation.

Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear CWimer62,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit and review of your golf experience in April 2013.
Yes, the issues you observed with sections of some of the putting surfaces are being aggressively addressed this summer, and we are confident of their full recovery. Also the advance notification to all our resort guests about course conditions we continue to review and adapt when required, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We look forward to your return visit, when the putting surfaces will again be at their brilliant best.
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
G.M. Golf Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The variety of different holes and their design make it a thinkers golf course. You need to think about shot placement and balance risk with reward. It is scenically good with not too many intrusive houses around.

It is a course that demands respect, otherwise it bites you. The river running through was part of the original course and the hole that runs alongside it is one of the best. It is a tough but fair challenge of golf and offers sport to a wide range of abilities.

I have played it many times over the years and think it is up there with the best in Naples.

Much like theEstuary in terms of challenge

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of LaPlaya Golf course! I would certainly agree with your assessment of our course - it's tough but overall fair! There is no doubt that when golfing at LaPlaya you should take an extra second or two before committing to a shot!

Thank you for also noting the overall feel of the course in terms of quality and scenic views, the golf team takes great pride in providing a unique course experience for our guests and members!

We hope you will choose LaPlaya golf again in the future,

Jason K. Moll
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaPlaya Golf Course also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to LaPlaya Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing