We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and roll the dice on the room you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location and roll the dice on the room you get.”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location with easy access to nice restaurants, marina,Naples shopping, and beaches. We looked at three rooms on check in and they were all very dated. We settled on a comfy bed in a poorly maintained room with a great view and paper thin walls. Pray you don't have screaming kids next door in an adjoining room.
What bothers me most about the Cove Inn is that on two occasions I overheard front desk staff telling guests that the owners (these are individually owned units), especially second generation owners, are trying to milk the place for all they can get. Minimal maintenance, highest income. It is a pity because the place has great potential.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XinguNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    244
    55
    16
    7
See reviews for
118
442
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Just completed our sixth stay. Read our previous reviews for more details. What has changed?

They keep improving the overall facility. New outside hall carpets, new outside paint job. Parking for guests seems to be easier to get. Internet service is AMAZING! It is the best we have ever measured at a hotel anywhere....25-30 MBPS. Consistently. Most hotels sit in the 2-4 MBPS range, if you are lucky. Very impressive. They also updated the TV service. It is very good. And all HD.

The staff continues to be great. They are the same people we see every year. The place is spit and polish clean. And the price, for being on Naples bay and right in the heart of Old Naples, is right too. It is certainly not cheap. But it is competitive. You can easily walk to everywhere worth walking to.

I would give the Cove a perfect score except for......

A minor quibble.....if you stay here and see a room that you would like to reserve for next year, the staff will take your request but do not expect to get it. Each unit has an owner and the owner has the right to bump any reservation (understandably) if they decide to stay in their own unit during the time you reserved. If you reserve a specific room type, like a bayside efficiency unit, you will get it. Just don't expect to get the exact room number you requested earlier. You will get whatever room that staff chooses for you. Since every room is so different, and so dependant on the owners tastes and attention, the room that staff selects may not be something you like. The Cove is not like a Hampton Inn where every room is the same.

Some of the rooms are updated by the owners more often than others. Some owners live in other continents and seldom if ever visit or update their rooms. Bottom line is that whatever room you get, it will be the "type" of room you requested, and it will be clean. But it might not be the exact room number you contemplated. And the decor may be vastly different from what you envisioned. This is part of the adventure of booking a condo-hotel, I guess.

Bottom line......there are nicer hotel rooms available in Naples. They are more expensive, and require you to always get in your car for every journey. At the Cove, park your car for several days and just get out there and walk around. Enjoy the Old Florida vibe. All the good stuff, including several amazing restaurants, is minutes away by foot. And the bay, the waterfront activity, the pelicans and the dock activity are all right there at your doorstep.

We are reserved for 2015. Thanks to the staff at the Cove for a great snowbird retreat for us this year, escaping one of the worst winters in history for us in Ontario Canada.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mkelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights recently on the first floor. It appears that each of the rooms is privately owned so your experience may vary. Overall the room was very dated with the bath, kitchenette and furniture needing an overhaul. The room was very clean and the location is great, so overall we enjoyed our stay in the area. Would probably look for another location for a future trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second stay at The Cove Inn and I've fallen even more in love with this darling place. I simply can not find one thing wrong to write, so if you're looking for some negatives, I'm not sure you'll find any with me.

We stayed in Mid February, the weather could not have been better. We stayed in what they call a Hotel Room overlooking the Bay. Our room was on the second floor that was just a bit north of the ChickaDee bar. This darling little outdoor bar has a thatched roof, that sits next to the pool on one side and next to the boat slips on the other side. The hotel room had a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge, with a glorious balcony over-looking the bay, the boats, the City Dock, and the calming water.

Watching the sun come up in the mornings, sitting on the balcony, is possibly one of the most relaxing things I've ever done. Watching the colors of the sun take shape down on the water, and watching the sun's glow shine on the boats while the sea birds make their sounds as the fishermen at the dock across the bay, head out for the day on the sea.

The hotel lobby comes alive in the morning as the breakfast diner opens and starts to fill up. People wait for their name to be called while sitting at the outdoor tables and chairs on the dock and the calmness of the moving water relaxes you until you are like jelly.

One day hubby and I spent the entire day by the pool. You have the chickadee bar within steps, the pool water was heated, and could not have been more perfect, and every once in awhile you will hear the sea birds across the bay, as the fishermen were coming back with their daily catch.

The evening is just as relaxing, because the lights of the boats shine on the water, and the little chickadee bar has soft lights under the thatched roof, that adds to the ambiance.

There are two fabulous restaurants at either end of Cove Inn within steps from the Inn. One is the Dock Restaurant and one is the Boat House. Both have fabulous food, with outdoor seating and open air walls.

Around 4pm, when the fishermen come back from their day trips, you can walk over to Naples City Dock and watch them clean their catch (the walk is literally less than 5 minutes to walk to the city dock entrance). The Pelicans are all lined up, hoping for a snack. And the gulls are making their sounds, and it's utter magic!

While I was lounging in the wonderful pool, I was visiting with a lady who comes to the Cove Inn every year with her husband and they stay for 3 weeks at a time. How blessed they are to be able to do that. The first time we stayed at Cove Inn, I fell in love instantly. This time, I don't know how this is possible, but I am in love with this darling place even MORE.

Husband and I walked down 12th Ave to Naples City Pier and watched the sunset one evening, then we walked over to Handsome Harry's for dinner and dined outside. We walked leisurely back to Cove Inn and talked about what it would be like to live there. The night was a dream.
One other evening we drove a short 10 minutes away to Naples Beach Hotel and watched the sunset from their beach bar. Again, another fabulous evening.

I hope the photos I have uploaded will speak for their self, and that you will soon see why we fell in love with Cove Inn. We plan on going back again next year, and I can hardly wait.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Motel-like layout. Wonderful location near the water. Each room has a balcony - overlooking the town wharf and marina. Long walk to Fifth Ave (high end stores and restaurants) but possible. (Suggest making Open Table reservations if you know where you want to land for dinner.) Rooms are traditional wicker and such, but comfortable. Fridge and microwave in room is handy. Nice breakfast diner with lots of choices and quick, friendly service off the lobby..

Room Tip: I'd get off the first floor - balconies appear nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelersTwoPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely place over viewing the harbour. Property was clean with all required information. Although not a full hotel it is a great place to relax. Friendly and helpful staff. Restaurants in the area are great.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tineke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Cove Inn is in the best location in Naples. Old Naples is my favorite place to stay. We just love to walk in the early mornings. The Cove offers "home like" atmosphere. Not hotel like. It's clean and comfortable. The diner has great breakfast too.

Room Tip: We stayed in an efficiency room, but never used the stove, so didn't need to spend the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igmooshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,562 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#4 of 59 in Naples
2,355 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,439 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
861 reviews
Moorings
Best Western Naples Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Inn on Naples Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Inn on Naples Bay

Property: Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Address: 900 Broad Ave S, Naples, FL 34102-7319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#17 Family Hotel in Naples
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Inn on Naples Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Inn on Naples Bay is perfectly positioned to offer a truly unique waterfront hotel experience for guests seeking everything, from stunning bay views and a warm service, to authentic Florida charm and affordable luxury. Watch dolphins frolic in Naples Bay as you live life on island time in this laid back area of Naples which is just eight blocks from the beach and Naples Pier. Do everything or nothing at all with an array of nearby activities, just walking distance from the Cove Inn. Rated as Naples' best value hotel, the Cove Inn is located right on the water in beautiful Old Naples overlooking the delightful Crayton Cove. Famous for its Dock Restaurant and independent shops, Crayton Cove brings together the best boutiques, delicious dining and seafaring adventures, all clustered around City Dock and Naples Bay... Just steps from the Cove Inn. From the moment you check in to your spacious room, you will feel a million miles from home as you soak up the spectacular views of nautical life at its best across the bay. As a condo hotel, every room is individually designed and decorated, and there are different room types to suit the needs of our guests, with bayside views or more economical city views. Our "Hotel Rooms" offer the best rates while our "Efficiency Rooms" include a small yet well-equipped kitchen. Or, kick back in our one-bedroom apartments as well as a two-bedroom "Penthouse" which boast beautiful bayside views. Each room includes a refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV with free movie channels, and a Keurig coffee-maker with complimentary coffee. There is also free Wi-Fi in-room and throughout the hotel. In addition to our popular Dock Restaurant where you will find the best local seafood and a laid back atmosphere, you can also enjoy the Boathouse restaurant. The Boathouse is right on Naples Bay with amazing water views, perfect for sipping a cold island drink with friends, or indulging in a tropical seafood menu. Watch a majestic sunrise and then escape the relaxing haven of your room to find our popular Coffee Shoppe at the Cove Inn, renowned for serving some of the best breakfasts in the area. The warm, friendly service and legendary pancakes will see you coming back for more as you start each day in the tropical Florida sunshine. Some of the best onsite places to relax in the sun include our bayside swimming pool where you can lounge out with a good book from our library before taking a refreshing dip. When you're in search of a thirst quencher, you'll soon find your favorite drink at our poolside Chickee Bar which enjoys balmy breezes right off the bay. Our back deck and sun-drenched lobby also create perfect backdrops for a laid-back catch up with family and friends. Right on the doorstep of the Cove Inn is an endless variety of activities, including shopping in Old Naples on 5th Avenue South where there are sidewalk cafes, unique stores, galleries and fine dining along palm-lined streets. Take your camera along 3rd Avenue and feast your eyes on the beautiful artwork, sculptures and fountains that surround you. Watersports-lovers and sun-worshippers will be in their element when visiting the impressive beaches in the area, including Naples Beach, Lowdermilk Beach Park and Keewaydin Island. Charter boat fishing is available at the Naples City Dock, and golfers can take time out at a range of excellent clubs such as Eagle Lakes Golf Club and The Links of Naples, all just a short drive away. There are fantastic day trips to enjoy from the Cove Inn with many attractions showcasing the best of Florida's natural habitat. Guests love visiting The Conservancy of Southwest Florida which is home to a nature center and also offers boat tours. The Naples Botanical Garden is also rated highly, as is of course our state treasure, Everglades National Park. The best way to end a memorable day in Naples is to celebrate the stunning sunsets from our 1,000-foot long historic fishing pier before exploring Old Naples to sample the best cuisine in one of the many local restaurants close to Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cove Inn on Naples Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Inn On Naples Bay Hotel Naples
Cove Hotel On Naples Bay
Cove Inn Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing