We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gourmet Tour”
Review of Naples Food Tours

Naples Food Tours
Ranked #10 of 13 Food & Drink in Naples
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hungry for something different to do in Naples? Get on board with Naples Food Tours for an afternoon of food and fun in the sun! Our 3 hour guided tour takes you by air-conditioned mini-bus to some of Naples' most unique restaurants and artisan food stores where you'll taste delicious samples, meet with chefs and proprietors and learn about the local culinary scene.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gourmet Tour”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

On a recent trip to Naples I joined "The Naples Food Tour" it was a fantastic way to spend the afternoon. The tour was led by the owner Elaine Osbond who has been a resident of Naples for 20 years which has given her an excellent knowledge of the local food outlets.
The tour begin with an unusual grocery/ delicatessen where we sampled cheeses and meats from Eastern Europe together with some very good wines from Argentina.
Next we visited a fine dining restaurant where the chef proprietor explained and we sampled some of his amazing dishes accompanied by some equally delicious wines.
We then moved onto a Maria's cafe, this was a same family run cafe serving fabulous food all made by Maria. Her cakes are truly delicious.
At this point everybody was feeling very full and wishing they hadn't had lunch!
Elaine then took us to a chocolatiers. The smell as the door opened was fantastic. Everything was made on the premises from the chocolate alligators to beautiful truffles.
Our final stop of the the afternoon took to a Indian grocery store which sold everything need to make your own curries as well as the ready made meals.
The tour is good if you are a visitor to find excellent place to eat. It is also good if you are a resident to help you find unusual food outlets and new places to eat. Everybody had a very enjoyable afternoon and many of the people said they would be rebooking as the tour visits different locations on different days.
I highly recommend this unusual tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fun Afternoon”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We took the tour this afternoon and had a fun time. Met some really fun people and visited some interesting places, including an "old world" market which we will definitely visit again as he had some great European foods and great prices on wine. Also visited a New Mexican restaurant where the owner made soupas for us - very tasty. The chocolate shop cannot fail to to be a great place to visit. Tour finished at Osetra on 5th Avenue where we had champagne and caviar. Will definitely do the tour again next year - the owner currently works with about 40 businesses so we are sure to visit different places.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopydog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved every minute of it!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for a fantastic food tour! I have never been on one, so cannot compare, but this was full of authenticity, uniqueness, professionalism, and integrity with every purveyor. And the variety was perfect as well. I will rave about it to all my friends!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok to do but........”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Took this tour today Feb 27, 2013. We went to 5 places....one was an India grocery store which was disappointing for the money you pay. I would suggest the owners of each place we
go to give a $5 pp certificate to intice people to come back. But "Roy's Restaurant" did give us a $20 pp certificate which we will go back and use. Samples were VERY very small in each place.
I would only go again if I went to 5/6 different places around Naples. The company needs to
advertise more too....only found out about them by just picking up a brochure in an out-of-the-way place. Should advertise more esp in "the season" here in Naples.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank czorn34110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south gulf cove fl
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great 3 hrs,except for”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The owner of the tour was a little disorganized.We were told there was bottled water in the cooler and the water was hot, also a glass of wine for everyone and no bottle opener, one more thing we didn't get the information were to meet until the day before the tour. ALL AND ALL WE ENJOYED THE TOUR VERY MUCH AND I HPOE THESE COMMENT HELP THE OWNER IMPROVE HER BUSINESS

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dotfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naples Food Tours also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Naples Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing