We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Unattractive lunches”
Review of Paris Bistro and Bakery - CLOSED

Paris Bistro and Bakery
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Small Unattractive lunches”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Looking forward to a nice lunch in a small Parisian restaurant, we were terribly disappointed. The crepe-like sandwich we shared was expensive and a brown blob of food on the stark white plate. There could have been a small tomato or strawberry or SOMETHING to add color. We even had to pay an extra $2 to split it! Our other friend had French Onion soup which was also a big disappointment. No one asked how we liked our food or even seemed interested that we had come in there to eat. We will certainly not go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taffyo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the best lunches ever.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way through. What a wonderful surprise. I had a ham egg and cheese on a croissant which was excellent. My husband had an equally delicious omelet. Bravo!!! We will be back the next time through.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I haven't tried the food at Paris Bistro and Bakery, and never will. Here's why.

It's not the food; it's the bread. Desperately searching for good bread in Naples, and after reading the reviews, I bought a baguette there today. My heart sank when I saw the pale color and the dots on the bottom, which showed that it had been baked on a perforated pan and not on a stone, The crust was barely crisp. I should have left at that point, but I felt it would be too rude, and the excessive price ($3.90) encouraged me to think there might be something redeeming. The owner told me that they sell 150 baguettes a day.

It was the worst baguette and perhaps the worst loaf I have ever (partly) eaten. Although I rebaked it at 375 for 10 minutes it never developed a proper crust. The crumb was gummy and pasty rather than chewy, as smooth and regular without holes (alveolae) and tasteless as, say, Wonder Bread. I'm sure it was made with a low-protein flour, something approaching. pastry flour, instead of a proper bread flour.

Ordinarily I wouldn't trouble to write a review, but I'm bothered by the pretence of authenticity. The bread is fraudulent, so, in my view, the restaurant is unworthy of one's trust.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurnonsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillion
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“worth seeking out”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

ate lunch here, was headed somewhere else but spotted this place just driving by. One of the owners is really French. French fare with a flare, good wine list. Very good food, nice atmosphere typical for a French bistro. Be easy on the desserts, or you'll walk out uncomfortably full. highly recommend

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was plan on making this my place to go to .”
Reviewed February 14, 2013


Loved food and atmosphere but ordered 6 escargot then asked waitress would it be possible to change to 12 and she said no problem .. Then charged us for 2 orders of 6 which was $5 more then it would of been for 1 order of 12 . If I knew I would of orders something else or wouldn't of added on. Not good business practices ... They are practicing like a McDonald's . .. So there for as a Restaurnat every night person .. Not hurrying to go back here ..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vttonaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Bistro and Bakery also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing