We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaplane Tour of 10,000 Islands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Air Expeditions - CLOSED

Air Expeditions
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Air Expeditions! We are SW Floridaʼs premier seaplane tour operator offering exciting seaplane rides from many seaside resorts and waterfront locations in the Port Charlotte, Captiva, Sanibel, Fort Myers and Naples area. We are an FAA authorized Air Tour Operator and can pick you up from your seaside resort, boat, river or waterfront home We offer an exciting excursion for any occasion or personal interest. Our flights are conducted within a 25 statute mile radius of the departure-arrival point (there are no intermediate stops) and can be custom tailored to meet your personal expedition requirements.
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Seaplane Tour of 10,000 Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We received a voucher to take this tour, but after experiencing it, we would have gladly paid for it. My friend was visiting for the weekend, and this tour was an excellent activity for us both to do. After a brief safety orientation, we boarded and got to see parts of Naples, Marco Island, and the 10,000 Islands. Robert mentioned it was a bit windy, but the flight was smooth and we had a blast. I'd highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary and this seaplane ride was the highlight of our trip. We enjoyed it immensely and would recommend this activity to all who visit this area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 71291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience - recommended and worth the money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We debated about whether to take this trip as it is an expensive experience but we think well worth the money and would do it again. We opted for the hour tour and think this was best as the time (like the seaplane) did fly! The take-off is right behind a Bar Grill for the Peace river tour, so when you turn up go to the left of this building and follow the boardwalk right round and you’ll see the plane (we didn’t do this!). Robert the pilot was a very friendly guy and had good local knowledge and his nephew was on hand to help in the launch. If there are only 2 of you I would suggest the photo taker sits in the back as you have a bit more room as up front is cosy. It was nice to see the places we had visited from the air and the sky was clear. Sadly only one gator seen but that’s wildlife for you! The take-off was very quick and smooth despite the urge to want to hold something! I was expecting a small plane to be a bumpy ride but it was fairly smooth, as we had only ever flown in plane to and from our holiday destination. The landing was very good too and we were back at the dock after an hour but would happily have stayed up longer. During the flight you wear headphones so that you can hear and talk to all in the plane. Next time we might try the alternative to the Peace river option. A very nice thing to do during our vacation. I think if I went up again I would ask more about the controls as never being in such a plane it would be nice to know what everything does.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CROSSWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a boat! It's a plane! It's a great exerience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Robert gave us a great experience. He was courteous, friendly and knowledgable of the area. He arrived on-time and gave us a brief but important safety orientation. After we boarded, we positioned ourselves for a memorable takeoff into the wild blue yonder (about 2,00 feet) and saw more than we ever expected. The tarpon tournament boats and North Captiva homes were fantastic. The views were great and he piloted the plane with remarkable skill. We would recommend this to everyone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FlowersBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
“great seaplane ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

great ride even though the weather was windy. surprized my wife with the trip thanks Robert...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank hexatll7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Expeditions also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing