We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse experience in Naples -”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Agave

Agave
Reserve with OpenTable
Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 984 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Airport Pulling Road
Transit: Route 1C- Stops directly on Airport Pulling Road
Description: AGAVE is a vibrant neighborhood kitchen celebrating the traditional cookery of Mexico, focusing on local, organic and sustainable fresh ingredients. Savor our Latin-American inspired dishes and experience the delight of tableside preparation of our Signature guacamole. AGAVE features a premium bar that serves stellar margaritas, exclusive barrel aged tequila and handcrafted cocktails. AGAVE offers an unpretentious and unique wine list emphasizing natural and bio dynamic South American producers and a plentiful selection of craft, bottled and draft beers. AGAVE invites you into an energetic, festive space that serves as a comfortable gathering spot to meet up with old friends or make new ones. Please enjoy complimentary premium live entertainment while our service staff delivers hospitality that strives to exceed your expectations. Open for lunch and dinner, AGAVE is located on the southwest corner of Airport and Vanderbilt roads next to Alamo. Private rooms with state-of-the-art audio / video capabilities are available for your next special event.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worse experience in Naples -”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our group of six reserved a table for 745 PM and we're seated by a door. We asked to be moved but the management said no one would use the door and let the cool air in.....it was like a parade of servers. We asked again and still no help. Our waiter as friendly enough but lacked experience. It took a hour to be told that our food was on the way...food that should have taken 10 minutes. When served it was all cold. The manager at first thought we did not have a valid complaint but after reviewing the time stamp on the orders apologized and offered us free appetizers. We tried to eat the dinners but couldn't. The check came and that was also a mess. Finally the manager removed the bull and said the dinner, that we never really got was free. The manager tried but the system is in need of overhaul.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JIm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Agave, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear JIm V,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for taking the time to reach out with your valuable feedback. We strive to maintain the highest standards in the industry and occasionally we fall short of that mark. We are glad to hear that the issue was handled at the restaurant and be assured that your feedback will be passed along to management and addressed internally. Feel free to reach out directly to: marie@epicfoodconcepts.com with any additional feedback.

We hope that you allow us the opportunity to earn back your business.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Agave Bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    108
    55
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better menu, but bad food”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Good:
My first experience back since the new chef was fantastic. I had the Cioppino and my wife had the Sauteed Black Grouper. Combined they were tip top, in fact, I even called the chef out to complement him on how much we enjoyed the food.

Experience overview 1-5:
Service - 4
Food - 4.5
atmosphere - 4

The Bad:
We decided to try Agave again for Valentine's Day with another couple. Since we enjoyed the above menu items the first time, we decided to try them again. Although they tasted about the same as our previous visit, the after effects haunted me for two days... Yes, I received food poisoning which is a horrible experience. For those that don't know what is in Cioppino from Agave, it is a combination of seafood (Shrimp, Clams, Scallops, Fish and Chorizo, in a Saffron Fennel), a seafood stew if you will in a light tomato broth.

Experience overview 1-5:
Service - 4
Food - 1 (tasted good, but after effects is why the score is low)
atmosphere - 4

The ugly:
I called and spoke to the manager, Here is what he asked, "Did you go the hospital, what did you eat before the coming to Agave and when did it start?" He also stated that he had no other complaints and that the issue could not be from them. Really? I answered his questions and he said he would call a list of people that ate the Cioppino that night and see if this was an issue and get back to me either way on his learnings. Once again, really? How would he figure that out... total BS. Well it has been 14 days, and guess what, nothing back... Surprised? Well you should not be. From my understanding this is a common trend at Agave, where multiple people have also received food poisoning and they blow it off.

Experience overview 1-5:
Service - 1 (due to lack of management response)
Food - 1
atmosphere - 4

Final thoughts:
I am only writing this because they handled this so wrong. I was not looking for anything other than some compassion. I would never recommend anyone to go to this place to eat unless you are looking for a chance to get some bad food and be sick for a few days afterwords.

With that being said, I love local restaurants and in fact prefer them over the chains, however this is unacceptable. I can only hope they get better!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skeeter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Agave, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Skeeter71,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear about your recent experience at Agave. Please send us an email at: marie@epicfoodconcepts.com with contact information so that someone can reach out regarding this information. We hope that you allow us the opportunity to earn back your business. Agave is truly committed to quality, we will pass your feedback along and address it internally.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Agave bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still a nice happy hour”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After reading some negative reviews regarding the new format, we had decided to not return to one of our past favorites..But a cold and wet afternoon provided an incentive to reconsider...We arrived mid afternoon, sat at a rather empty bar and ordered margaritas at half price..Still delicious..not the wide selection from the past, but excellent...we tried most of the bar menu and did enjoy all items..We had read criticism of the guacamole, but ordered anyway..Waitress asked how we wanted it made..full choice of ingredients as in the past..Was actually better than when made at the table side..highly recommend...We did not eat in the main dinning room but, will definitely return for a full trial....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wljenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Agave, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear wljenks,

Thank you for your business and for taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear the positive feedback on your experience and look forward to hosting you and your guests again.

Regards,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Agave Bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This used to be my favorite restaurant in Naples”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We visited Agave Bar and Grill for the first time since the transition. We liked it much better as a southwestern restaurant. It's unfortunate that they discontinued some of the tequilas and the margarita flavors - particularly the Monte Alban tequila and the Kiwi Cilantro margaritas. The food was ok - but miss the southwestern menu. The service was great - but we miss the old Agave Southwestern Bar and Grill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Agave, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Nancygfl,

Thanks for your business and for taking the time to provide your feedback about your time with us at Agave. We are sorry to hear that it was not quite what you expected. We assure you that we are still committed to quality, innovative foods and top notch service. We hope that you allow us the opportunity to earn back your business.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Agave Bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good times at Agave”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit to the new Bar & Grill concept. Ashley was our server and was awesome in every way. Everything was top notch, atmosphere, service food, drink and friends. We enjoyed our food, bone in ribeye and a shrimp enchiladas , Don Julio tequila flights, toasted coconut margaritas and cold fat tire beer. We had a wonderful time to remember.

Helpful?
Thank re04182014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Agave, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear GulfLife442,

Thanks for your business and for taking the time to provide feedback on your time at Agave Bar & Grill. We strive to maintain the highest standards in the industry and it is always great to hear when we hit that mark. We look forward to hosting you and your guests again soon.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Agave Bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing