We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable and Delish”
Review of French American Bistro - CLOSED

French American Bistro
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North Naples
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Adorable and Delish”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Took my dad for lunch as he loves this place and wondered why I always forget to come more often. It's cute and quaint for a strip mall shop and they almost make you feel like you are somewhere other than Florida if only for a few minutes. Lots of variety and reasonable prices for French food. The quiche is always good but now that I am eating gluten free I thought I would have to forgo that but they surprised me with a crustless quiche that was outstanding. The French onion soup is truly spectacular and presented how it should be bubbling hot crispy brown on top. Seafood crapes are very yummy and the state cup was a very generous portion for the price very well presented and cooked perfectly. Let's be honest Naples is full of overinflated ego trips pretending to be restaurants or lots of chains and franchises that are just so depressing to give your money to. come here you won't regret it -it's wonderful

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great little place!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

sometimes it s the smaller places that have the best chefs and this certainly is one of them. We stopped in for lunch yesterday, our first visit.
Sit where ever you want were the servers instructions. Hmmm, I'm not sure I like that.

Finding a table for two, our server placed a board with the days specials for us to read, a nice move as remembering what someone rattle off can be hard, especially for me.

Linda opted for the french onion soup and the quiche of the day. I had the lentil soup and the chicken and mushroom crepes.

What a great treat, everything and I mean everything was SO GOOD!! Portions were of a good size for lunch and every bite a pleasure.

Get thee to this little bistro!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrumpyChef_SWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooked 'French/American' Food...”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Dropped in again to the French American Café for dinner after a good lunch at the same place a week earlier.
Located in a small strip mall on the north side intersection of Immokalee Road and Airport Road this small café/restaurant is great for a leisurely, casual lunch or dinner.
The food is as you’d expect a nice blend of French and American with a European feel thrown into the mix. We found the quality of the food served to be perfectly suited to our taste and the French Onion soup is to die for.
However, if you’re looking for real fancy dining then I’m afraid this is probably not the place for you but if you want great home cooked food at a reasonable price served up in a warm, friendly atmosphere then give the place a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small place, good french american food”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Good service, light lunch or hearty dinner and good prices !

Tables near each others, no frills, terrace in front and easily accessible on Immokalee road.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paule d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
446 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Potential”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

With the opportunity to make a hit, this turned into simply average. Menu could use a few tweaks to improve selections. Wines were very average with only a few options from France.
While service was friendly the good rates only average. For me the gold standard in a French restaurant is the steak frites. Very ordinary and very blah. Can't really recommend this one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French American Bistro also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing