We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the money”
Review of French American Bistro - CLOSED

French American Bistro
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Naples
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you go before 6:30 the 2 course meal with wine is a good deal. Food is okay but not great. Service was fine. For a French restaurant it would have been good if they served French house wine instead of California house wine. Otherwise a pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
“North Naples hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came in by chance and ordered two of the lunch specials and appetizers. Everything was superb, we we're very impressed. The bread is baked in house and you can tell. The quiche is perfect so light and custard-y. Chocolate mousse was to die for!!! Not overly rich and sweet, just perfectly balanced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCIBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“more American than French”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our dinner had a good beginning and a nice ending but what was in between lacked taste.

We started out sharing a salad topped with baguette with melted cheese and honeyed walnuts. This was a wonderful start to our meal. Accompanying our dinner we ordered Chablis at $9.50 a glass, it did not have a pleasant odor nor taste.

Next came our entrees: veal blanquette and a steak with fries. Both had no taste at all. The veal was in a white sauce with pearl onions and carrots - no taste except for vegetables. My wife had a steak with fries which were very good. The steak on the other hand with some kind of sauce on top had no taste.

Dessert was creme brûlée which was good.

Final decision we will never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A little hard to find in a strip mall. The food was very good and the concept of 2 courses with glass of wine for $21.95 or $26.95 depending on arrival time was an excellent value. We'll be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merrill55435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Took my out of town family there and was pleasantly pleased with the service and food I would recommend this place to anyone

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mik616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French American Bistro also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing