We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, quaint , secluded 10 room hotel around the corner from the main drag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Escalante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Escalante
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, quaint , secluded 10 room hotel around the corner from the main drag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

My wife and & I stayed at the Hotel Escalante for 5 days. It is a 10 room suite hotel with a lanai outside the backdoor of your room and a swimming pool & jacuzzi just past the lanai. It serves a continetal breakfast & the restauarnt is open for dinner on Thursday-Saturday. The rooms are large & the beds are very comfortable. It is located around the corner from one of the main street in Naples and yet it is secluded and quiet. You can walk to a number of fine restaurants as well as stores for shopping. You can also walk to the beach which is 2 blocks away. The hotel personnel are very helpful and cater to your needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    40
    11
    15
    22
See reviews for
12
128
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

this place is a joke nothing about it was appealing , no one speaks english the pool is filthy and unsafe

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disgusted055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

All the reviews we had read gave this hotel a promising write up. It looks lovely and all the rooms lead out to the swimming pool. Quite stunning. The situation is excellent, just around the corner from the main street and walkable to the other shopping area. It is also 2 blocks from a lovely beach.
However the room was very disappointing. This is an expensive boutique hotel and we did not expect to have a hanging rail for a wardrobe. Hangers were generous, but an open rail in the bedroom. Please! Not at these prices. When we mentioned it the receptionist did agree but we could not change rooms as the hotel was full. The light was also poor in the room so it was quite dim.
We were happy to stay by the pool for the day but at lunchtime there was no service and not food or drink was available. We were directed to the closest restaurant.
All in all I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

My boyfriend and I just came home to SC from Hotel Escalante! We had an excellent stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the shower is wonderful!! We didn't run into any problems why staying at this hotel and I was a little worried after reading the other reviews on this website. Everything worked fine and the issues with the blinds was not a big deal. If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room then this is not the hotel for you. The area around the pool is beautiful and we had a private sitting area right outside are room that was nice. There is plenty of things to do in the area and downtown is a walk a way with nice restaurants and shopping. Downtown Naples can get pricey, but there were plenty of affordable shops and restaurants down 41 North. I rarely drove my car during my stay because the hotel is located in walking distance of the beach and downtown!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrbsmk247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We booked a 2 night stay based on the website and a favorable review in the Frommer's guidebook. We expected beautiful garden and a library to relax in as our room was small. The hotel seems to consist of a courtyard around the pool only with some kind of renovation going on in that area. There are no common areas otherwise. The restaurant was closed and the continental breakfast was small--fruit salad and bread/pastries only. Staff was pleasant but facilities were just limited. We were there during a cold week in January so these deficiencies might not be a problem at other times in the year. Location is great--can walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Still, being there was just a little depressing as we expected a more upscale experience and better value for what we paid.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yidabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

Over the past year, my wife and I stayed at the Hotel Escalante 4 times. The first time the shower in our room did not work. The second time the hot tub was not working ( and was not fixed for over 6 months). The third time the HVAC in our room was not working. Nor was the toilet in our childrens room. And since we did not yet learn our lesson, we went back again. Again the shower did not work. One the second day, the handy man came to try to fix it. He couldn't, and we spent another night without a shower. On checkout, no apology, no offer of refund, no nothing. We'll NEVER go back! The sad fact is, they just don't care, and don't put any money into the upkeep of the units...too bad since it's a cute place. Beware...there's ALWAYS something wrong at the Hotel Escalante. Always.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SorrentoNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

WE WERE SO DISAPPOINTED - Having booked 4 nights we managed to escape the second day but were still charged the full rate for 2 nights. All ground floor rooms right next to a busy road - no privacy -so blinds down all the time Air Con not working - they said just broken down but I don't believe them. Toilet backed up and overflowed first morning all over carpet - I think they have had this before because well-prepared for it. Light in cloakroom has not worked for age as all taped up Measly continental breakfast - waiting staff could not speak English. Management completely disinterested - THIS IS A MONEY-MAKING OPERATION FOR THE PROPRIETORS -

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerfectionistUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Inn on Fifth
#5 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#20 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#14 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escalante

Property: The Escalante
Address: 290 5th Ave S, Naples, FL 34102-6522
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Escalante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Escalante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing