We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret oasis”
Review of The Escalante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Escalante
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A secret oasis”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay at if you are considering a quiet out of the way. The hotel house up to 20 units, they range from a small room to a 2 bdrm suite. The staff and facilties are great. You are walking distance to the local shops, the pier, the beautiful beach, and a host of other things to keep you entertained or busy.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the room w/o the private patio,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    43
    12
    15
    22
See reviews for
13
139
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barry's Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Escalante for 2 wonderful nights. If you are going to Naples this is a great location. You are right on 5th Ave so you can walk to all the shopping, fine dining and the beach is just a couple of blocks away. You can hear the traffic driving by outside but if you want to be close to everything that is the reality of being downtown.
The suite was beautifully decorated, bed was great and the washroom and large shower was very nice.
We really enjoyed the outside patio, with pretty flowers. It was a great place to have a drink before going for a swim. I really enjoyed that we were just a few steps to the pool and hot tub that was very nice.
The resort use to have a restaurant which was closed in November. I understand if there is not the business and there is so many restaurants within walking distance so we certainly didn’t mind going out for dinner but we were very disappointed with the breakfast. We got fresh fruit and juice but then the only choice each morning was an English muffin, bagel or croissant. The table next to us got yogurt but we were never offered that. Since there was a restaurant on site and the kitchen must still be there it would have been nice if they could have served a hot breakfast or at least every other morning.
A little attention to detail could bring this hotel back to where it obviously once was.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Great location for the beach [2 1/2 short blocks] and main restaurant/shopping areas of Old Naples. Decent pool and courtyard. The room was 2nd class at best. We had a one bedroom suite with a tiny patio. The thermostat was locked to go no lower than 70 degrees which was too warm for comfortable sleeping on hot days. The front desk's advice was to open the windows-- unfortunately they faced a busy street and the morning sun. The lighting was very poor- 2 lamps had dim low lumen CFL bulbs, the 3-way lamps had small single wattage bulbs. The 2 televisions were ancient poor quality tube models with very limited channel selections [no cable onscreen guide and no printed channel list either]. We had the same experience as another reviewer with our bar glasses- theywere not replaced with clean ones by the maid. Maid service is available only in the morning. The free internet wi-fi worked only in a small outside area next to the pool, not in the room. The room rates should have declined to the same degree that the room quality has.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carcajou301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

My wife had stayed here with our daughters a number of times when they visited Naples five to ten years ago, and loved the place. She wanted to show it to me when we headed that direction for a long weekend earlier this month. I guess they have "condominiumized" most of the rooms and obviously aren't investing in the 10 rooms or so which are left as a "hotel." Our room needed...refreshed? The restaurant is closed, and the office is closed from 10 PM until 8 AM. We were given two glasses and the maid never gave us clean ones, even though we had red wine the first night. The wifi only worked in the office, not the rooms, and there was no ethernet hook-up. This for...$375 a night. And, when I checked out, there was a $52 "luxury resort fee" per night! When I asked what this was, thinking it was a tax imposed by the City of Naples or something, she said it was for the breakfast and daily newspaper. The "breakfast" each morning consisted of one small cup of fruit and a bagel, and there were two newspapers in the little eating area for all guests to "share." For $52?!! When I signed up for Trip Advisor, I said I would only write good reviews to help drive folks to nice places. There's enough negativity out there without adding to it. Sorry, but the Escalante made me change my mind. $50 per night!! Don't go there....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband booked this hotel for us, because we knew it was in a great location, just a few steps from the beach and 5th St.
We originally booked for 6 nights @ $265 per night. We were hoping for a little luxury but found very little.
The room was small and cramped with a view of a brick wall in what they call "your own private patio" The pool was cold and the jacuzzi not working.
The continental breakfasts, served by a very nice lady left a lot to be desired - plain old bagel and cream cheese !
There were no facilities in the room for tea/coffee and as the reception closed at 11pm, you could not get a drink after this time until 8am the following morning.
We only managed to stay for 2 nights, checked out and got a room at the Inn on Fifth for the other 4 nights - much better.
For the price we paid - we felt totally ripped off .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My Fiancee book our reservation online and paid in advance. When we arrived a couple of hours before our check in time we asked if we could use the pool while we waited for our room. We were told we could not use it before check in time and that it was for hotel guests only. We were given an "upgrade" to a suite because we were told the room we booked online was not available. Unbeknownst to us, the "upgrade" was charged to our credit card. There was also a hidden resort fee which we were charged in addition. When my fiancee called to complain, the staff was rude and arrogant. I have no tolerence for this kind of dishonesty in pricing. Had I known they were going to charge for the "upgrade" I would of refused. It just an example of a desparate place trying to scam a few extra dollars out of a couple of naive travellers. I would never go back to this place and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pathdocfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My companion thought I was Mr. Insider because she had traveled to Naples many times but had never heard of this hotel. I simply found it on line! I booked the room for one night before thinking to check the Trip Advisor review. After reading them I though " oh no!" But the place was perfect. The room, water pressure, features, staff were all excellent in spite of reports to the contrary. The place is quiet, the pool is perfect, the continental breakfast just average (but a great pool side setting) and the location terrific. I am in the hotel business,. at the mid price range, so I purposely looked for the issues that others had problems with. I couldn't find any. It's romantic, quiet, sexy, and a two block walk to the beach or several great restaurants and lots of shops. We had 1 bedroom suite, with private garden, next to the pool, for under $200 per night and would have stayed longer if we could have. The place was just what we were hoping for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenflashbb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#19 of 59 in Naples
736 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
861 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#4 of 59 in Naples
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#15 of 59 in Naples
714 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,439 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escalante

Property: The Escalante
Address: 290 5th Ave S, Naples, FL 34102-6522
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Escalante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Escalante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing