We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens

Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #9 of 120 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Much more than a walk-thru zoo, this historic tropical garden and nationally accredited zoo features a full day of wildlife experiences to delight guests with the natural world to inspire the conservation of our planet's remaining wild areas and their wondrous inhabitants. Discover the wonders of South America featuring a Giant anteater, Cotton-top tamarins, and more. Get wildly close to the Malayan tigers at viewing windows. Hand-feed the herd of giraffe plus enjoy your favorite animals like lions, monkeys, and bears. Naples Zoo is one of only four zoos in the nation to feature the fierce YouTube-favorites: African honey badgers. Plus discover rarely seen species including Malagasy fosas and 2 of less than 20 striped hyenas in the nation. Ask those questions you've always wondered about at the Meet the Keeper Series. Be fascinated by rare creatures during premier wildlife shows. Cruise through islands of monkeys, lemurs, and apes. Watch our professional staff hand-feed American alligators while dispelling popular myths. Snap great photos and learn the facts behind the fiction at a venomous snake talk. It's wild fun from apes to zebras. Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens is a nonprofit organization cooperating in conservation programs both in and outside the wild for endangered species. The zoo is nationally accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums, the organization that sets the highest standards for wildlife care, education, and conservation. The garden also holds accreditation by The Morton Register of Arboreta and is a member of the American Public Gardens Association.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This zoo was the best I've ever been to! It's beautifully landscaped with lots of lush palms and very exotic greens and flowers. They have a primate boat cruise, feeding the giraffes, opportunities to see animals VERY close up...it was amazing. The black panther they had was a great site as well as a ferocious Indian Tiger we got to be about 5 feet from. Feeding the giraffe with romaine lettuce can't be missed!! I loved it here, wish it was twice as big so we could spend more time there

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Me515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,379
    919
    267
    67
    47
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Small Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The best thing about Naples Zoo is that their animals are not purchased from the wild, they are culled from other zoos. This is a small zoo, but it is also relatively inexpensive and it has some excellent features. First is the zoo educational programs. The trainers and keepers are very knowledgeable and willing to share that knowledge with guests. I recommend you attend the educational programs offered, especially the Meet the Keeper series. Second are the primate exhibits. All primates are kept on islands in a small lake, and visitors can take a pontoon boat ride to see them. Go early in the day, when the primates are most active. The tour is fun and very educational, and if the primates are active, you'll get to see them grooming, feeding, and playing on the equipment. Third are the Feed the Animal opportunities. The giraffes are the best - feeding them is fun and interesting, and most people will enjoy this $5 treat. We visit the Naples Zoo whenever we are in the area, and we always learn something new.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FPepoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's clean, the animals are well taken care of and beautiful. We liked the fact that the vegetation has signs so non-native Floridians know what it is. There are benches everywhere with lots of shade so even on a hot day, you can relax and enjoy your surroundings. Our grandchildren (13 & 14) love it as they can get pictures of the animals from a much closer vantage point than the zoo in MN. A MUST SEE if you are in the area.......with or without children!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent day of fun in the sun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went to visit family in Naples Florida.We were unsure of what to do with a young child.I had been checking out zoo's before we left and came across theres.It was exciting and educational.You could get close with some of the animals,the boat ride to see the monkey's was my favorite. We got to see them feed them and got some great pictures.The park was clean had a friendly staff.The giraffe feeding was fun also for only 5 bucks more.And when we got wore out they had 2 playgrounds for the kids to keep going while we relaxed in the shade.Def a must see kinds place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank brandanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Naples Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I were on vacation in Naples and spent an entire day at the zoo. The Meet the Zookeeper shows were excellent, so informative and a great way to see the animals more up close. The two animal shows & primate expedition cruise were also educational and enjoyable. All in all, this zoo, although not very large, is a great attraction and my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We stayed all day and got to see and do everything scheduled for that day. I highly recommend the Naples Zoo.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing