We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the Giraffes”

Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens
Ranked #9 of 122 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Much more than a walk-thru zoo, this historic tropical garden and nationally accredited zoo features a full day of wildlife experiences to delight guests with the natural world to inspire the conservation of our planet's remaining wild areas and their wondrous inhabitants. Discover the wonders of South America featuring a Giant anteater, Cotton-top tamarins, and more. Get wildly close to the Malayan tigers at viewing windows. Hand-feed the herd of giraffe plus enjoy your favorite animals like lions, monkeys, and bears. Naples Zoo is one of only four zoos in the nation to feature the fierce YouTube-favorites: African honey badgers. Plus discover rarely seen species including Malagasy fosas and 2 of less than 20 striped hyenas in the nation. Ask those questions you've always wondered about at the Meet the Keeper Series. Be fascinated by rare creatures during premier wildlife shows. Cruise through islands of monkeys, lemurs, and apes. Watch our professional staff hand-feed American alligators while dispelling popular myths. Snap great photos and learn the facts behind the fiction at a venomous snake talk. It's wild fun from apes to zebras. Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens is a nonprofit organization cooperating in conservation programs both in and outside the wild for endangered species. The zoo is nationally accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums, the organization that sets the highest standards for wildlife care, education, and conservation. The garden also holds accreditation by The Morton Register of Arboreta and is a member of the American Public Gardens Association.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Giraffes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is not a large zoo, and can quickly become overcrowded on a busy day. It does not handle really large crowds well. If you can come when it is not crowded it is enjoyable. There are not that many animals to see, so you have to make sure to do the shows and boat ride. The giraffe exhibit is very good, but it is behind the snack bar and you can walk by without going. Don't miss it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank drwokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,411
    937
    273
    67
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

though it seems a bit pricey we enjoyed an entire day here. animals are in a somewhat natural habitat which makes them appear comfortable. the shows and staff are excellent.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank scooter-tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A surprisingly classy attraction in the heart of Naples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I purchased low cost passes at www.floridavacationauction.com and had a wonderful day at this attraction. The quality of the wildlife shows, the alligator feeding, the boat ride around islands filled with monkeys all provided great entertainment. There is also a large playground if the little ones want a change of pace. Well worth the time and money and easy to find.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank candlesburning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo and educational shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We went to the zoo without high expectations and were pleasantly surprised by what we found. We visited on what had to be one of their busiest days of the year, and the facilities were clearly at maximum capacity. Long line to get in but they had someone there with a vulture to talk to waiting guests, and they managed to move the crowd pretty quickly through the ticket line. Once in we started with a show on predatory animals and the presenters did a terrific job. The information was easy to understand, and the animals were easy to see, particularly the hawk that flew right over the crowd! The handlers stayed around after the show concluded to answer questions and show off a few animals featured in the show.

After the show, we headed out for a walk around the zoo and giraffe feeding, which my son particularly enjoyed, but I admit so did his grandmother and father. Apparently you can never be too old to enjoy getting up close and personal with a giraffe eating lettuce out of your hand! My son also enjoyed the camel ride. The animals appeared well cared for and their enclosures were clean. They had a nice variety of animals as well, articulately for a relatively small zoo. The signage throughout the zoo was iinteresting and nformative. It was a cool December day and a few animals were not available for viewing as they had been moved to a warmer area to weather out the sub 72 degree day. The empty cages were well marked to explain the situation. We didn't get to take the boat trip due to the long lines and our own schedule limitations but we will certainly come back when we next visit the area.

The only negative of the trip: The food arrangements were a bit grim as the high volume crowds resulted in long lines at every food kiosk and our experience in the cafe near the entrance was chaotic. They were clearly overwhelmed. Bring a picnic lunch if you are coming on a busy day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dcrkbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Zoo to Visit in Naples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

THis zoo was a nice size, and could be seen in an afternoon. The park had a variety of animals in a tropical setting. Enjoyed the afternoon with my family.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank AMA2012traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing