We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Wait For Good Food”
Review of O'mei

O'mei
Ranked #730 of 988 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Naples
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Long Wait For Good Food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A friend recommended O'mei and since we were yet to find a good chinese "sit down restaurant" in this area, we decided to give it a try. After a 45 minute wait, food began to arrive. Two of us had soup. My friend raved about his "hot and sour" soup". My Wonton soup was not good. The beef filling within the wontons was very tough to outright hard and not at all pleasant. Then came the entrees and since a previous reviewer at Trip Adviser had raved about the" Mango Shrimp", we all ordered this. There were six or seven very large perfectly cooked shrimp in a delicious spicey/sweet sauce. We had brown rice and thoroughly enjoyed our delicious repast!!

In summary: Long wait, bad Wonton soup delicious entree. Perhaps if we had come at 5:30 and not 6:30, the service might have been better

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    20
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Top notch Asian restaurant”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Honestly, some of the best Asian food ever! Loved the Spicy chicken wontons, the Wonton soup--a delicate version of it, the soup potstickers, the green beans, the Vivian chicken--unusual, the Mongolian beef, and their fried rice. All of it was excellent. Just wish there was one nearby!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank skm4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a success this time”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I visited and reviewed two years ago when we had some problems. Returned last week for really top notch food and service. The mango shrimp was spectacular.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MbKJerseyShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food only fair-service poor”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I have been to many asian restaurants. I have eaten at dumps that were great, food- and service-wise. I have also eaten at gorgeous places that had food that was their equal. O-Mei didn't fit into either, as it is a very nicely furnished with excellent ambiance, and a very impressive menu, but that is about the extent of the positives. My dish, the chilean Sea bass, was nicely prepared and presented, tasted very nicely, but was very skimpy in size. My wife had a veggie tofu curry dish, in which the tofu was soft and mushy, and the few veggies were drowned in the curry sauce. She had requested no oil and was told that can't be done. It was a busy night, but that is no excuse for denying a request made by the customer, where the menu says "If you have a food allergy or special dietary restrictions,
please notify a manager or chef and we will try to accommodate you."

While I would characterize the food as passable, the service was short of that. Our server seemed to be preoccupied with other tables, his boss, the weather-not sure what. We had to ask other employees to bring us straws, drink refills, etc, because our waiter was difficult to find. The hostess seemed ticked off that I had to ask her to bring us straws. Not sure why?
Reading some of the reviews leads me to believe that there is a management problem beneath all the glitsches. I think it is a bad sign that there is only 1 excellent rating, and 3-4 terrible ratings over the last 3-4 months.


Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pwrfdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent chinese food...worth the wait”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went to the restaurant with a group of ten...some had been here before. Reading the reviews prior to eating here...and then reading through the lines...I got it. The chef is very good but does not prepare the food quickly like most people have experienced when going for Asian food...but it was definitely worth the wait.

The wait staff was also challenged at times...but in the end came through...face it you're not paying big bucks for really good food. We all had a great variety of dishes that included beef (succulent), chicken (moist but cooked and flavorful), salmon, shrimp...soups and salads. The hoisan sauce with my Mu Shu pork was distinctive and very rich. All the group voiced their good fortune (oh, no cookies though).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tastyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'mei also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to O'mei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing