We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, second rate service”
Review of O'mei

O'mei
Ranked #732 of 986 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Naples
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, second rate service”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Why must this so frequently be the case? Shouldn't I be able to go to a restaurant and expect, and get, a satisfactory experience? After all I'm paying real money here! I am happy to say however that the food at O'mei is superior - it is really good and we were not disappointed with that aspect of the meal. It was not overly expensive - less than $200 for 4 of us including drinks and service - and the ambience was pleasant, but oh! - the service! Our waiter was rushed and inattentive, disappearing half-way thru the meal to be replaced by an equally rushed waitress who clearly had other things on her mind. The owners must know that weekends during season in Naples are busy - hire some more waiters, for heavens sake, and train them! It can't be that difficult to do the thing right - it's not rocket science!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panday45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    20
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Peking Duck”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I came because of the reviews and I wasn't disappointed. The duck is amazing, I have had duck all over the country and this is up there with the best. Very crispy with delicate pancakes. We also had the vegetable spring rolls and found them to be a work of art. We also had the pork fried dumplings but were not that crazy with them. The service both times was ok, not great. It is easy to pass by stuck back in a strip mall. I give it a 4 star.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Upscale Chineses in Naples area”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our group of ten was seated at a large round table and received very good service and excellent food. Every single food item was great and we ordered over 20 different items. A little pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginiatraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
228 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great tasting food; service on the other hand is lacking. Ask for seating in the back / outdoors; very quiet and more conducive to conversation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waited 90 minutes for the soup!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This restaurant has so much potential, but on Christmas Day they were terribly understaffed and made a bad decision to allow so many people to sit and sit and wait for their food. We saw quite a few people walk out. We were trying to stay positive the entire time because it was my mother-in-laws birthday, but waiting 90 minutes for the soup and then almost 2 hours for the dinner, then having one of the meals totally wrong, along with waiting another 20 minutes for the check after telling her we wanted it, was beyond bad service. Fortunately the food was very good! Would I go back...not unless I saw at least 6 waitresses and 4 cooks in the establishment!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CSCIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'mei also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to O'mei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing