We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Dolphin Watch” cruise on-board the M/V Double Sunshine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pure Florida

Pure Florida
Ranked #9 of 131 Tours in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We start early at 10am for a nice charter through the waterways and around the coast, explaining the many sites and homes along the way. Relax and unwind with our open bar as the Captain narrates the tour. You may request a fishing charter ahead of time, and if you would like to go diving, or have any particular activity in mind other than sight seeing, please indicate so.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
““Dolphin Watch” cruise on-board the M/V Double Sunshine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This cruise advertises “Dolphin Watch” cruise on-board the M/V Double Sunshine in Naples Bay and the inner Gulf of Mexico. We only saw the back fins of 2 dolphins so I did not feel this was a dolphin watch cruise. The captain did a great job giving us the prices and owners of the many mansions we passed but the dolphins and wildlife were a side note. I asked the name of several birds that we passed and the captain was very informative.
This 1.5 hour cruise included sightings of views of magnificent mansions and the interesting history of Naples Bay, Gordon Pass and the Gulf of Mexico.
It was a very cold day on the water and the boat, thankfully, offered everyone wool blankets.

We had a wonderful time but I think the advertising is incorrect.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bosredsoxfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    158
    35
    12
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best Sunset Tour-Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We took the Sunset Crise in February and it was simply perfect. Tip- get there 30 mins before departure & go Upper Deck. You will enjoy a knowledgeable & informative narrative of the jaw dropping properties on the waterfront, together with history & nature information of the area.
Whilst we were lucky with the perfect evening, the boat then goes out into the gulf of Mexico, for the sunset. Simply the best! A bar & rest room facillities are available on board.
A must do visit if in Naples.

Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice boat trip to see the dolphins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went out on 10 AM dolphin watching trip. There were many dolphin sighting both in the very beginning and end of the trip. In between there was one (partial) manatee sighting and an infomative tour of the Naples waterways. Although there were only ten people on the boat they did not cancel nor shorten the trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTripTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful relaxing boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Double Sunshine boat cruise from Pure Naples is really delightful. There is shaded seating on the lower level of the boat and under a canopy on the upper level as well as open sun seating. (The Naples Pricess, while lovely, is enclosed and we preferred an open boat and the breezes.) The boat cruises through the canals near Naples as well as in a small section of the Gulf of Mexico where the water is calm and lovely. The captain provided a very interesting commentary on the development of the Naples estates, the owners of the properties, and the establishment of Naples as a luxury location - with a minimum of endorsements for local restaurants. The captain also made sure to point out the varius types of birds along the way as well as watching for the very social dolphins who loved swimming in the wake of the boat. It was a delightful, relaxing way to spend an hour and a half and see the beautiful scenery and wildlife in southwest Florida. (P.S. The cruise is $34, but sign in to the Groupon site for Naples and watch for half price coupons!!)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbara1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sightseeing Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I took the Double Sunshine Cruise. It was great! They have a little cash bar on board with wine, beer and soft drinks. They narrate the tour and tell you about all the luxury homes and estates, who owns them and so forth. You cruise all along the back bays and into Port Royal and finish in the gulf, the whole time dolphins are swimming in the wakes. Really a nice ride 1.5 hours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mpirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Florida also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pure Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing