We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four star food, one star ambiance and service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greek Gourmet

The Greek Gourmet
Ranked #617 of 979 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Four star food, one star ambiance and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had fallen in love with the Greek Gourmet a few years ago, after a stellar dining experience at their now closed Bonita location. Despite the more recent so-so TripAdvisor reviews of the south Naples location, we decided to give the place a try last evening. Three of us shared the saganaki appetizer, which was quite good, as was the soft, warmed (but not grilled) pita bread served with it. I made a meal of the grilled octopus appetizer and a side Greek salad, while my mother and husband both had the gyro dinner (gyro-style lamb, served with grilled onions and peppers, along with a Greek salad). The food was tasty all around, with the lamb being a particular standout. The salads were nicely done too, with super fresh greens, tomatoes, onions, Greek olives and feta cheese. The ambiance, however, was awful. We expected the place to be casual but it was downright junky...big carry-out counter in the middle, a few crappy looking tables and chairs on either side, and dirty carpeting covered with crumbs, etc. all around. Drinks were served in old plastic "Coca-Cola" glasses, salad dressing was in plastic carry-out containers, and the dishes the food came on were not much better. Our young server was friendly, but dressed in ratty jeans and a sorry-looking tank top. Throughout every course of the meal, she forgot various items and we grew tired of reminding her. Our salads finally made it to the table after our entrees, and we never did get a few side items that were supposed to come with our meals. Because of the decent food, we might - emphasis on "might" - return here again to grab a gyro or salad for lunch. But, beyond that, we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ohiotravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    13
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Greek Gourmet, Go Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

What happened to this restaurant? It used to be one of our favorite restaurants in Naples based on one thing: the food! Service was always spotty if not surly. But on our last visit, it was as if we landed someplace where they had no idea what Greek food tasted like. Burnt, crunchy rice, over-salted and peppered roasted vegetables. We sent it back to the kitchen. True, they did bring out another plate. The rice was better, but the vegetables had no taste...except bland. You've been warned. Stay away

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikial57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stumbled across this restaurant when we were trying to find a Cuban restaurant. The Cuban restaurant was closed, so we went across the street to Greek Gourmet. My husband and I were extremely impressed. The restaurant is clean, the staff is friendly, and the food is authentic. We both had gyros, and we have never had such delicious Greek food before. The price was just right for lunch. For $10 we got a gyro, salad, and drink. The salad dressing is also highly rated in the Naples newspaper. We were so impressed that we came with our families for dinner. For dinner I had the Athens chicken, and it was also delicious. My husband was equally impressed with his Greek pizza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chasity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate at the Greek Gourmet before going right across the street to visit someone at Naples Community Hospital. We were greeted by a very friendly young man (no more than 12) who was our waiter. The service provided was excellent and the food was great . The Lemon Chicken soup is a favorite of my wife's as well as the Greek salad which we both love . We shared a Greek pizza which was a first for us there and it was delicious. There used to be a Greek Gourmet in Bonita Springs that we visited many times. The menu is the same and the quality of the food was carried over to the Naples location. I highly recommended going and giving it a try. You wont be disappointed. There is also a nice size parking lot in back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Level Contributor
193 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Loved this place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wouldn't eat here for dinner, but they do a great lunch! Special for $9.99 includes a gyro wrap, soup or side dish and a soda/coffee/tea. The gyro was one of the better ones I've had -- no pre-cut gyro meat like a lot on non-Greek restaurants. Ambiance is fairly basic, which is why it's not a great dinner place, but for inexpensive Greek food for lunch it was very satisfying.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank otis1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Gourmet also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Greek Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing