We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best diner in town”
Review of Mel's Diner

Mel's Diner
Ranked #52 of 989 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Park Shore
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Best diner in town”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The diner is very cute with black and white pictures decorating the walls. You get a warming welcoming as soon as you step at the diner. My family and I were sitting in one of the booths in the corner. The restaurant was busy but the food came out very quickly. All of us enjoyed the homestyle and fresh cooking. It beats a lot of places we have been in the past. We have finally found a gem and we are definely going to return and make this place our best place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serafin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    243
    87
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
“STAY AWAY”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

we had occasion to visit Sun. NOV 23, 2013 AT 1PM. It was a special outing for MOTHER IN LAW. She was so looking forward to liver and onions. when we were seated, party of 5, only partial silverware was present and we had to ask for a complete set and napkins. When the food arrived, the liver looked like the bottom of a worn shoe. bott We also ordered mile high corned beef which arrived cold on stale bread.. My personal pizza arrived 20 min after everyone elses meal. the waitress had a poor attitude when asked for mustard, she replied Iam doing the best I can. The staff seemed to be more interested in an arrival of t-shirts than their patrons! When we brought this to the attention of the day mgr, she took off 2 meals from the bill still focusing on the t-shirt arrival. We will NEVER recommend this diner to anyone. Horrible food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abby y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratekau, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a nice little diner! This is a diner in the old fashioned style, like it was in the sixties. Great homestyle food. We come here since 1996 and we still enjoy the friendly warm atmosphere. Try the half pound shrimps and the surf and turf, and don't forget to eat a full rack of baby back ribs on another visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Incredibly Priced”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited our younger daughter in Naples and we wanted to try a diner (always looking for a great one, we miss them - we are originally from New York). We ate there two days in a row. The food is great and the prices are amazing.

You get a ton of food: for example, I had a "Godfather Chicken Sandwich" which includes two juicy chicken breasts, thick sliced mozzarella cheese, lettuce, sun-dried tomatoes, french fries, delicious cole slaw and pickle for $6.99 or $7.99, some unreal price.

They have a great selection of food, desserts and three-course meals for around $8.99. For dessert I had a HUGE slice of key lime pie which was more like two slices in one - it cost $2.99 I believe - It was something else, usually you can expect a dessert to run you 5 to 8 dollars alone and get half the amount they give. The pie was delicious, very fresh and more than enough.

The staff was friendly and fun - we had a great time - they loved our little grandson Jack. We wish they were here in St. Augustine. Wonderful food, nice people, great deals. We will definitely see them again when we visit in the future.

Thanks for the great food and fun - it was nice to meet all of you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pivy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Cut Above Most Diners!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Mel's Diner in N. Naples is a diner, no getting around that. But they do have those creature comfort foods that many diners seem to offer and they do a nice job at presenting them. The menu is varied, the atmosphere is good (a true diner) and the staff all seemed friendly and were attentive to their jobs. Specials were good and reasonably priced and there's almost something for everyone on their extensive menu. We'd go there again on our visit to N. Naples

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing