We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach with good amenities”
Review of Lowdermilk Beach

Lowdermilk Beach
Ranked #6 of 122 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach with good amenities”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Powder sand and excellent facilities. We were there with our two girls and they had a blast as the shell collecting is really good too. Like others have posted parking can be a challenge so try and get a pass. Its a great spot to spend the day with the family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CE2JD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    520
    61
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Sand is so soft here. Great beach to walk on. Washroom facilities & showers to rinse off. Looks like they serve some food as well. Parking can be a challenge unless you have parking pass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank annonymous46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful park, beach, amenities on Gulf Shore Dr”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

There's lots to offer here from snack bar, restrooms, grassy greens, chairs/cabanas to rent....although you have to pay to park, it's a lovely beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why do you think so many Europeans come to Naples?”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I read one person's review who said the Naples' beaches "were boring." I wonder if s/he has ever visited the stony beaches of the Mediterranean Riviera, where the Mistral winds often blow cold or the Sirocco winds bring stinging sand from North Africa ? Perhaps s/he is referring to something other than the sandy beaches?

In any case Naples' beaches are kept up with an attention to grooming that matches the best ski slopes. The reliability of the sun (and its legendary sunsets) is another asset that regularly brings a cosmopolitan international crowd to our beaches. One can choose to sit amidst many others, as Europeans seem to be wont to do, or spread your towel in a more isolated spot. We are grateful for the influence of these world travelers and It's fun to hear the various accents as one walks the beach. We're glad to "share the beach" with these visitors.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank E3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“beautiful and pristine”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We liked this beach as it was clean and pretty. They have decent parking and a concession stand that serves the BEST italian ice which is really italian ice mixed with flavored frozen custard. I am still salivating over it. i had coconut if you care to try. There is a duck/goose that visits the beach from a close by pond...he's looking for food and will come up to you while on the beach. its funny, but they dont want you to feed him because of the habit its created... but i think its too late lol. I think his name is GUS. water isnt as shallow for as long as naples pier beach but its very pretty. I am from New England (MA) and the one thing i could not get over is the amount of fish in the gulf. Its spooky; those suckers are everywhere! If you float a little be careful when you put your feet back down as likely you will step on or "graze" a fish over and over again... becuase we arent used to that from Massachusetts beaches, it was freaking us out! I just kept looking around, and seeing that it wasnt bothering anyone else, so i went with it but it would take some getting used to...i am planning another trip in Feb 2014 and i probably wont be used to it my second time here! This beach also has a playground area... i think i remember seeing it on our way out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julsofthenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowdermilk Beach also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lowdermilk Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing