We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STEAK”

Preston's Steakhouse
Ranked #366 of 986 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North Naples
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT STEAK”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Expensive (figure $100 per person not including drinks), but great steak, service, atmosphere. We've been going here for almost 15 years, once or twice a year. If you love steak and are looking for a great one off restaurant, I highly recommend Preston's.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoatakGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    10
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a ripoff!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would like to say that I am not a fan of high end steakhouses and I did not choose this restaurant. The service was good and the quality of the food was very good. But that's all you get. The is no cuisine. No creativity or real cooking skill demonstrated in their offerings. . I sampled three cuts of steak, two different NY strips and a filet. The NY strip from the menu was very good. A nice crust and quite flavorful. Not quite melt in your mouth, but very good. The slices of the special bone in strip and filet I sampled were decent but really not that great. The crab appetizers went over well as did the beet salad, which was quite small and the French onion soup. I ordered the crab cakes because I refuse to pay such ridiculous prices for a piece of steak. The crab on the cakes was good, but there was no creativity in their creation. They were incredibly bland. No seasoning at all. The fact that the owner and his wife do the cooking in back is supposed to be cute, but I would rather have chefs that know how to cook. The sides were tasty but tiny, not to be shared. The cakes were homemade by the wife, and they were good, if you were eating at their home, but they were not pastry chef quality. The key lime pie was probably from Publix. Overall I was disgusted by the prices they charge for the items on the menu. I don't understand how people justify paying $60 plus for a piece of steak. As one other reviewer posted, where's the cuisine? There is no real cooking skill demonstrated here. As long as they don't over cook the steak, because the cuts are so high quality, they will taste good. This restaurant is seriously, actually ridiculously overpriced. Please do not waste your money on food like this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Zgcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Too pricey for what you get.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I sometimes share a steak (and still have some left over) because it is more than ample after bread, salads, drinks and along with a side dish...it is simply enough (or sometimes too much)! This place charges TEN DOLLARS for a 'splitting charge' (an empty plate!) and when you are paying $59 for a strip steak...I think that is too much! Everything was a la carte as in most restaurants of this quality...I chose to order a minimal priced entree ($19.95 for FIVE shrimp...which even though tasty and presented nicely...stillllllll) because of the plate charge...but I won't be going back because of this. Morton's doesn't gouge you like that! The steak was excellent, (no sauces offered whatsoever...and I am fond of bernaise as well as some other chef offerings to go with beef) but the order of potatoes, while tasty, was plain ...could have come from a restaurant like a Shoneys! Salad dressings very good...'secret recipe'....bread came in a small loaf that was hard to tear or cut delicately. Nice (not elegant)....but not for the overall price and policies.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank golfingirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great steaks but where is the cuisine?”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Yes it is a steakhouse - and they deliver expensive and very well cooked but tasty steaks- but I am sure Michel Roux would be asking what on earth does the chef do all day? Everything was boringly simple, they couldn't even heat up the "loaf" of bread... but this is the USA...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TShYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Time!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

First time was a positive experience. At first a little put off by a $10 dollar split charge, but I can understand why some restaurants might feel the need. The steak was excellent one of the best I've ever had. Greg the waiter was wonderful ask for him if you remember. We'll go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfhunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preston's Steakhouse also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Preston's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing