We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent morning trip”

Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.18*
and up
Marco Island Kayak Tour with Optional Beach Landing
Ranked #18 of 122 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve represents one of the few remaining undisturbed mangrove estuaries in North America. The Environmental Learning Center is a 16,500 square-foot facility with four research laboratories, classrooms and 140-seat auditorium, and two story visitor center. The visitor center offers a variety of hands-on experiences, including 2,300-gallon aquarium and NEW interactive exhibits addressing research and stewardship efforts ongoing within the Reserve, as well as a nature store, gallery and picnic area. Guided boat and kayak tours offered seasonally provide educational experiences while enjoying this special place.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent morning trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Tom the guide on our half mile walk was brilliant with a vast knowledge of Florida flora and fauna.
This place should be advertised better as it is important to ensure that all the good work done here is maintained.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayNailsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    68
    19
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hans-on Marine Life Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place has something for everyone. The touch tank is a favorite for the children. Great place to get in touch with our marine life in South West Florida.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank naflkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“canoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to learn about the surrounding waters and Ten thousand islands. you can rent canoes for a day, and see Southwest Florida wildlife, birds, fish, dolphin, and maybe even a Manatee1

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Timing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

After reviewing the estuary website, we took the kids here while on vacation at Marco Island in late June. It looked like a great place to get some hands-on fun and visit some nature trails among others. We arrived and paid the entrance fee and were told to start at the movie. We watched the movie anxiously awaiting what laid ahead. Downhill from there. The place was quiet with no workers around except the front desk. The touch tank had a sign that said its inhabitants were sleeping. No problem, we'll look at the other exhibits and come back. We asked about the nature hike. Can't do that... too many mosquitos. When was a good time......? We were then told "November". We asked about the touch tank.... only on Thursdays. Long story short, we must have been out of season. No problem, the issue is that this should clearly be stated on their website or told to us when I paid our entrance fee. When we asked for a refund since we couldn't actually do anything, we were told that we watched the (~10 minute) movie so no refund. So just be aware, I am sure it is a lovely place at the correct time of the year. Otherwise, you're just providing a donation to the estuary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBNERR, Guest Relations Manager at Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We deeply apologize that your experience at Rookery Bay Reserve wasn't everything you had hoped for. We try to do everything possible to ensure a quality experience is provided to every visitor, but sometimes we fall short. The Rookery Bay ELC is open five days a week, with 6,500 square feet of exhibits, an art gallery, nature store, films, and more. Despite declining budgets and the seasonal shortfall of volunteers we still provide naturalist-led educational programs daily at 11 am and 2 pm, and jam-packed Friday programming all summer (FREE for kids under 12 in June and July). There are not a lot things to do (anywhere) for only $5: our cost of admission has remained the same since opening in 2004. We also apologize for the misinformation that was provided to you regarding the trail. The observation bridge and nature trail are always open during business hours to enjoy, although sometimes guests don't appreciate the insects present due to the weather and climate. We again apologize that your visit here wasn't what you has hoped for and we are making changes based on your review. We appreciate the feedback and encourage you to visit us again to see how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty: What Southwest Florida Is All About”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a great place to visit with the kids. The building is small but the exhibits are all very engaging and adults will learn alongside children about the estuaries and all of the species of animals and plants that make this ecosystem their home. We loved the observation bridge and saw lots of wild life including two baby bull sharks and a moon jellyfish swimming in the river's brackish water. We walked on the trails and enjoyed the butterfly garden. This was a lot of fun and a great value for just $5 per person and during summer kids are free on Fridays! My kid's favorite part was the touch tank, but make sure to check their schedule as they don't have this every day. If you are going in summer do not hit the trails without putting bug spray on.
The staff where super friendly and knowledgeable and the gift store had so many great gifts and some super affordable books and educational toys for the kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing