We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.18*
and up
Marco Island Kayak Tour with Optional Beach Landing
Ranked #18 of 122 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve represents one of the few remaining undisturbed mangrove estuaries in North America. The Environmental Learning Center is a 16,500 square-foot facility with four research laboratories, classrooms and 140-seat auditorium, and two story visitor center. The visitor center offers a variety of hands-on experiences, including 2,300-gallon aquarium and NEW interactive exhibits addressing research and stewardship efforts ongoing within the Reserve, as well as a nature store, gallery and picnic area. Guided boat and kayak tours offered seasonally provide educational experiences while enjoying this special place.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Scenic and educational. It is worth seeing if you are in the area. I enjoyed the views and would like to try the canoeing.

Visited February 2012
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank SassyCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    68
    19
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went for the snake lecture and liked it so well that I took part in the wild plant lecture later in the day.
I learned a lot from both talks and will definitely return next year

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mainer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

i thought we would see some wildlife..but we didn't our tour guide took too long talking about the trees 1hr boring!!! needs wildlife

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tropictattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The nature trail was nice but there wasn't a lot to see. the learning center was nice because we saw the unusual polka dot batfish, but otherwise wasn't that special. This is written by a nature lover but I think there are better spots to visit. The strength here is a good mission for preservation of estuaries which I support. But it's not somewhere I'd return with kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dragonbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
441 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Worthy of Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best to read about it on their website. Knowledgeable folks manning the phones, too, for information. Kayak rentals and tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ohgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rookery Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing