We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as dining can be, it is everything plus more!”
Review of The Grill

The Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 987 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $200
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Naples
Description: Exuding sophistication, The Grill's design is a contemporary update to a classic masterpiece. Retaining the beautiful crystal chandeliers, impeccable service and exceptional menu offerings that The Grill's discerning patrons have come to expect, the design features a soft gray palette, inspired by the Gulf of Mexico after a summer rain. Providing the best culinary experience, The Grill is the perfect setting for an intimate dinner that lingers into the late hours with menu selections including dry-aged beef, fresh seafood, seasonal favorites and a collection of international award-winning wines. Reservations recommended. Dress for the evening is casual elegance. We request that attire such as shorts, t-shirts, flip-flops, and ripped jeans be reserved for another occasion. Voted Diners Choice Best Naples Restaurant by Open Table Diners.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As great as dining can be, it is everything plus more!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

One of the best dining experiences a restaurant can offer !!

The decor: Gorgeous! The chandelier lighting on dim setting, in evening, compliments the new grey walls beautifully. Very romantic feel. Tables are a very comfortable size for a large party, as ours were six people, but the table huge - leaving plenty of elbow space. The background pianist playing live and singing soft Christmas carols added so much spirit and enjoyment to the entire experience. We were all in awe, including those in the dinner party that are somewhat more difficult to impress.

The service: Remarkable! From the hostess at the front, who literally walked me to the bathroom when I asked for directions (…it was probably only 20 feet away). That is a sign of true customer service, to not point, but walk the person to. The service, on top of every refill, clearing every empty dish, and always carrying a sincere smile throughout all courses. It is nice to hear an employee praise the company he/she works for, as I've read a lot of reviews recently of fine
dining establishments with bitter, negative service pulling their rankings down.

The food: Perfect! The arugula salad was an arugula salad, nothing more. The chocolate soufflé for dessert was a textbook soufflé in structure and texture (a bit rich for my taste, as I'm not a lover of chocolate). Still great though. But the lamb chops = outstanding. Cooked perfectly, chef's choice. A truly tender six ounces of meat, and I don't mean meat overwhelmed with fat around it. Simple mint jus sauce came with, though it wasn't even needed to accompany the flavor since the dish was superb by itself. And from this time forward, future lamb dishes will be compared to this no doubt. Even the coffee came pressed table side.

The bill: Worth every penny!

The experience: the good as it can get, or very close to I imagine. It definitely makes the "best" list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrseuffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    38
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good Food but Oy Such a Bill”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

OK I know this restaurant is inside the Ritz Carlton in Naples. And I know that there is probably at least one millionaire at every table. But man, these guys are not in the least inhibited about removing some of that discretionary income. Champagne at $20 per GLASS (and it's not Dom). Dover Sole for $60 (huge but not special). Filet at $46 (with no sides, and that's the small filet BTW). Escargot at $22 (skip these, nothing special here). Asparagus $12. And on and on. Now service is top notch for sure. And it is (pardon me) very ritzy. But I'm glad the wife was on an expense account. So enjoy, especially if someone else is picking up the tab.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“underwhelmed at refreshed Grill Room”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have celebrated many an anniversary, special birthday and a graduation here. Most recently we celebrated our daughter's 18th birthday. We had friends dine there recently for a special birthday and they also were disappointed but we wanted to try it for ourselves.
The service was fine and attentive, but the room lacks the warmth it used to have. It also was very loud. We each had a steak and it was well cooked but very plain. The sides were plain. I think Capital Grill and Shula's steaks and sides are better. The restaurant lacked the special feel it used to have and we'll be looking to other Naples restaurants at which to share our celebrations. :(

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newly Remodeled”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Gone are the dark wood paneling and they have painted over with a grayish stain. The update is fresh, but sort of liked the old dark steak house feel better. The steaks and the service are still the best, and if you are a wine connoisseur, they have one of the best lists in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent American Cuisine, Luxe Setting”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I live in Naples and dine at The Grill for special occasions, maybe half a dozen times a year. It never disappoints. My most recent experience was last night, my second visit since the re-opening after renovations this summer.
Gone is the English horse and hounds motif, replaced by a cool, ice-blue contemporary look that is luxe and not at all stark. In fact, it is quite soothing and beautiful. Change is good. What hasn't changed is the menu and personable, professional staff. Excellent execution all around.
Start your evening with John at the bar. He not only knows his drinks, he knows their history in spite of his relatively young age. A throwback to a real upscale bartender (please, not a "mixologist"). I have always liked the seafood offerings even though they think of themselves as a steakhouse primarily. Call ahead to see if they are offering the bone-in filet. A great big, moist and flavorful piece of beef if ever there was one (it's usually an off-the-menu item).
Soft piano music rounds out the evening. Well, that and a choice of souffles.
Bring $. My only complaint is that they have relaxed the dress code over the years, but who hasn't?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing