We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.95*
and up
Private Half-Day Lake Trafford Fishing Trip near Naples
Ranked #4 of 122 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary is a 13,000 acre Preserve. The Sanctuary is open daily from 7-5:30 with last admission at 4:30 pm. Visitors will find a gentle, pristine wilderness that dates back more than 500 years. A 2.25 mile boardwalk meanders through pine flatwoods, wet prairie, around a marsh and finally into the largest old growth Bald Cypress forest in North America. These impressive trees, relatives of the redwood, tower 130 feet into the sky and have a girth of 25 feet. Their massive branches are draped with mosses, lichens, bromeliads and ferns. The forest is also home to alligators, otters, white-tailed deer and red-bellied turtles. A wide variety of wading birds, songbirds, raptors and the fabulous Painted Bunting can be seen throughout the year. Photo opportunities are available at every turn of the boardwalk trail.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The boardwalk is terrific. The volunteer naturalists are there to help you see more than you would find on your own. Love this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,710
    563
    155
    40
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love love love”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family loves nature walks and this is one of our favorite spots. This was our 3rd visit here and each time we find something new. We've seen owls, many other birds, gators, bugs - all things my boys love to see. Last visit we saw the cutest baby gators, we didnt realize how small they can be. The staff is wonderful and very knowledgeable, its great when we see them out on our walk to learn more about our surroundings. In the summers it can be quite hot but with the cape from the tree's its enjoyable in the early morning hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank soflachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Audubon, Corkscrew Sanctuary”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This preserve is a beautiful way to see what the interior of Florida was like before all the golf courses and malls were built. It is a well maintained boardwalk that takes you through a bald cypress forest that is habitat to many animals and bird species, and spotting them is a treat. This is not a zoo, however, so you are not guaranteed a minimum number of sightings. If you enjoy a natural setting, and appreciate a good walk, it is a welcome temporary escape from the usual Florida activities. Animals and birds are most active in the early morning and late afternoon/evening. During the summer months, these are also the times when it will suit most human visitors, due to midday heat. In the winter months, it's beautiful all day, and less rain!
The welcome center is state of the art, lots of interpretive information and helpful guides to answer your questions. Not to mention, an oasis of air conditioning, in case your walk takes place in the warmer months.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The sanctuary is a hidden jewel of nature. It preserves many features of natural Florida including wetlands, wood hammocks and the animal life dependent on these features. Although marked by highway signs, there is very little promotion of this hidden jewel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is well laid out and very interesting if you are into viewing Birds, Snakes, and other types of small wildlife. It only a 15 to 20 minute drive out East on Immoaklee Road to Sanctuary Road.

You can have a guided tour or walk it at your own pace and enjoy all the more.
The cost is also reasonable. You won't be aorry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank araba169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing