We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Growth Cypress Forest and orchids!”

Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.95*
and up
Private Half-Day Lake Trafford Fishing Trip near Naples
Ranked #4 of 122 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary is a 13,000 acre Preserve. The Sanctuary is open daily from 7-5:30 with last admission at 4:30 pm. Visitors will find a gentle, pristine wilderness that dates back more than 500 years. A 2.25 mile boardwalk meanders through pine flatwoods, wet prairie, around a marsh and finally into the largest old growth Bald Cypress forest in North America. These impressive trees, relatives of the redwood, tower 130 feet into the sky and have a girth of 25 feet. Their massive branches are draped with mosses, lichens, bromeliads and ferns. The forest is also home to alligators, otters, white-tailed deer and red-bellied turtles. A wide variety of wading birds, songbirds, raptors and the fabulous Painted Bunting can be seen throughout the year. Photo opportunities are available at every turn of the boardwalk trail.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old Growth Cypress Forest and orchids!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Anyone visiting the Naples area should reserve a half-day for a visit to the Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary. We are regular visitors, but we took our 8-year-old grandson, Jack, for his first visit and he pronounced it 'AWESOME'! We walked the 2 1/4 mile boardwalk trail where we learned how to walk quietly like Indians and listen for animals. We saw a Pine Woods snake on the handrail as he slowly rose up to grasp a low branch and wind his way up onto it. We saw 2 ghost orchid blossoms before something ate them for lunch. We identified scat (very cool for an 8-year-old boy,) and we saw deer in the meadow. Lots of beautiful butterflies. The big trees were very special. We bent waaaay back to try to see the tops of those trees and imagine climbing up there. The visitors center is great, the gift shop is good. Bring a can of insect spray, umbrellas, binoculars and a camera.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackandjill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,704
    563
    155
    40
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet day at Corkscrew”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Did not get to see a lot of wildlife, but enjoyed our walk through Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary. According to one of the guides, what you see depends a lot on time of day, rainfall and season. We did see some alligators, egrets, storks and an owl. Pleasant experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty So-So for a Couple of Kansans”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I hate to rain on the parade, but this was rather disappointing for us. My wife and I went on a Friday morning on our way back to the Ft. Meyers airport from a week spent vacationing on Marco Island. The main building was deserted, other than the lady that took our money, and we saw only one mom, dad, and daughter on the entire 2.25 mile boardwalk. A little creepy in a way, but then again, the quiet and solitude were welcome. Except for the guy mowing the grass at the entrance...

First, take their assurances of a mosquito-free experience with a huge grain of salt--we were assualted from about a quarter-mile in to within a quarter mile of the exit. That much of the boardwalk is shaded, and that's where the little devils swarmed all over us. Really strange, too, as they always eat me alive and leave my wife alone. We had no insect repellant with us anyway, so we took turns knocking the big blood suckers off each other. Not an enjoyable experience.

Second, as is our luck, we saw nothing in the way of advertised wildlife. A few birds, but absolutely NOTHING in the swamp itself. No snakes, no gators, no frogs, no fish, no nothing. 24 bucks to get in, and not a thing. Not the sanctuary's fault, of course, it's not like they can command the animals to magically appear every time someone walks by, but still...I guess having a ranger along for the trip might have helped, but we wanted to go our own pace such as not to arrive too late for our flight. The only rangers we saw were three Audubon bird watchers coming back in just as we entered, and two others at the end of the boardwalk who were leading student groups the opposite direction.

Lesson learned. If we ever go back to SW Florida, we'll explore some of the many other Everglades areas first before we return here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KSUBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real Nature”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you like the real experience of rough & wild environment, this is the place to go. Experience the edges of Florida Everglades. Bring some bug protection & wear comfortable outdoor attire.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Favorite stop in the Naples area”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

As nature lovers we make sure we visit Corkscrew Sawmp Sanctuary on every visit to the area. We love the quiet solitude the sanctuary affords us on the boardwalk. It is such a calming place. We have seen birds, and animals everytime we have visited. Always come away from CSS with a feeling of contentment and appreciation for our animal neighbors.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudiG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing