We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most wonderful walk through the sanctuary”

Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.95*
and up
Private Half-Day Lake Trafford Fishing Trip near Naples
Ranked #5 of 124 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary is a 13,000 acre Preserve. The Sanctuary is open daily from 7-5:30 with last admission at 4:30 pm. Visitors will find a gentle, pristine wilderness that dates back more than 500 years. A 2.25 mile boardwalk meanders through pine flatwoods, wet prairie, around a marsh and finally into the largest old growth Bald Cypress forest in North America. These impressive trees, relatives of the redwood, tower 130 feet into the sky and have a girth of 25 feet. Their massive branches are draped with mosses, lichens, bromeliads and ferns. The forest is also home to alligators, otters, white-tailed deer and red-bellied turtles. A wide variety of wading birds, songbirds, raptors and the fabulous Painted Bunting can be seen throughout the year. Photo opportunities are available at every turn of the boardwalk trail.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A most wonderful walk through the sanctuary”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The accessibility of the walk and the easy to traverse boardwalk made this a great walk -- not that we needed it at this point, but that we know many elderly could easily take advantage of the sights and sounds. We would call this more a botanical walk than a wild life walk. But the descriptive signs are excellent -- except for the very few that are sun faded. If it's a warm to hot day, be sure to bring water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachwalkerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,719
    567
    157
    41
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close by and Intersting”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For northerners who never venture into the swamp, this was a pleasant diversion for the children and the walkways are easily accesible.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeightsKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uniquely Florida”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Again it is unique to this area We are the only people that have a corkscrew. The birds, the folliage, the swamp it is all so beautiful Its peaseful nut in some ways exciting. I don't go often but when I do I cant wait to go back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank buitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing time”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Visited in Oct so water level was high. Very relaxing walk at your own pace on a nice boardwalk. Can choose between a mile or two and half mile stroll thru tropical and beautiful ancient cypress trees. Due to water level saw little wildlife, however, I truly feel that crocodiles, many bird varieties, butterflies, snakes and other critters reside in this area of over 13,000 acres. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Tons of parking, strollers and wheelchairs available if needed. Cost is $12 for adults and children are less. Reasonable annual pass is available if multiple visits are anticipated. If you enjoy natural beauty and do not require fast paced adventure, this stop is recommended, probably more than once, as I suspect the experience varies on each visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank FRmboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoemakersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Boring"”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were not impressed. It was very hot and all we saw were a lot of bugs. We didn't need to pay $48.00 to do that. The girl at the desk told me the time of day we were there was a bad time to see the wildlife. If that is the case, they should not be open in the afternoon. We are sorry we wasted the afternoon. I'd like my money back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing